Customer Reviews for

Waiting for Morning (Forever Faithful Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!!!

    I love all the Karen Kingsbury books. She is a very good author. Puts the love of God into every book she writes. Makes us realize that he is in charge of our lives. She keeps you thinking about your own life in every book she writes, you or I can crawl in the book and be the characters she is writing about. I would recommend this book and all of her books to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    i love karen kingsbury

    As i said i love kingsbury she is such a good writer i have read all three books in this searies i will forever love them and they will forever be my favorite books karen kingsbury will forever be my favorite author thanx keep making more awsome books karen :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Awesome Amazing and Somewhat sad...

    Being a teenager, i really liked reading from Jennys perspective. They were both struggling with thier loss but hannah couldve paid more attention to jenny. It was an amazing book! Sad too though, i cried at some parts.
    -izzy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Awesome

    This book was so inspiring and written so well, Recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Waiting For Morning

    This was a really good beginning of a great trilogy by a fantastic author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Wonderful book! I could not put it down! I found it very inspira

    Wonderful book! I could not put it down! I found it very inspirational and remembered the lessons held in it later on when I went through loss in my own family. I believe the Lord finds many paths to teach us what we need to know to prepare us for what lies ahead in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forgiveness??

    Hannah has a loving Husband and two beautiful talented daughter's! Her Husband has taken Alicia and Jenny for their annual end of Summer fishing trip. As her day progress Hannah becomes more and more uneasy.
    As Tom and the girls are finally headed home after their wonderful trip, they are hit by a drunk driver. Brian, was driving drunk, had just lost his job, and ended up running a red light. Next thing he new a young girl was lying dead and her Dad was in horrible pain and dying.
    This is the story of harboring hate...wonder how I would react under such circumstances? Hannah has even giving up God, she blames him for taking her loved ones. She becomes obsessed with making Brian pay for killing her family, to the point of neglecting the daughter she has left.
    Deputy District Attorney Matthew J Bronzan has been assigned the case against Brian Wesley. He has decided to make a point and proceeds to go after a conviction of First Degree Murder. Hannah Ryan is more than willing to do all that she can to make Brian go to jail and rot in Hell.
    This is so very very hard, and even those these are just characters in a book, you know that this happens. Hannah is so filled with Hate, you wonder through all of this if she will ever find her way back?
    The book is a very fast mind effecting read. I do recommend this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Kingsbury Delivers!

    Karen Kingsbury is one of my favorite authors, and I was thrilled to see a book available by her! Waiting for Morning was an amazingly written story about the power of forgiveness and God's mercy and grace.
    Tom Ryan and his two daughters, Alicia and Jenny are on their way home from a camping trip when they are hit by a drunk driver. Tom and Alicia are killed almost instantly, leaving Jenny and her mom, Hannah Ryan left to face the consequences of the drunk driver. Kingsbury delivers a powerful message throughout this story and writes with such passion that you feel you are part of the lives of the Ryan family. While Hannah struggles with her anger over the situation and her hatred for Bryan Wesley, her daughter struggles with the fact that she is left with a mom who just doesn't seem to care for her anymore.
    I recommend this book and any book by Karen Kingsbury. She gets you involved with each character and writes in such a way that you feel you know them personally. Kingsbury has written a powerful message on the implications of drunk driving, but even more powerful, the message of forgiveness not only for each other and our faults, but forgiveness from God. As part of the Forever Faithful series, this is book number one with two others that follow suit on how our Lord and Savior is first and foremost forever faithful in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great book!

    It has been a wonderful summer and school is just about to begin for the new year. Another year of living and loving her family... 2 beautiful daughters and a doting, loving husband. As her husband Dr. Tom Ryan and girls return home from their annual "end of summer" campout, Brian Wesley is staggering out of a bar after drowning his sorrows in 14 drinks.


    A drunk driver
    A red light runner
    A family's life forever changed


    Hannah knew something was wrong. They were never this late getting home from their camping trip. Then a car stops at their house... a knock on the door... and words no wife wants to hear...


    "There was a serious car accident, ma'am..."


    After receiving the news of the horrific accident, Hannah Ryan heads to the hospital only to learn that her dear husband and eldest daughter Alicia died. Her faith in a good and loving God dies with them.


    As Sgt. Miller, a fellow believer, tries to comfort her, she responds, "I'm sure you mean well, Sgt. Miller, but you're just like every other Christian right now. 'It must be God's will.' 'They're home in heaven now.' 'God still loves you.' 'The Lord has a plan...'"


    "A wave of emotion choked off her words, and she had to swallow hard before she could continue. 'I don't want to hear it. Do you understand? Brian Wesley, age twenty-eight, married with one son, just destroyed my life! He took everything from me and left me with nothing, not even hope. He murdered my husband and daughter, and so help me God, I'll never forgive him as long as I live.'"


    * * * * * * * * * * *


    Karen Kingsbury has captured the heart and soul of a family torn apart by drunk drivers everywhere. She has given a voice to the family members left behind questioning the goodness of God. Why us? Where were you, God? You could have saved them!


    As we walk through the pages of the book, we can identify with the desolate feelings of both Hannah and Jenny. A mother bereft of her family... a daughter who yearns to be with her dad and sister in heaven. Can Hannah find her way back to God and true peace? Will she be able to forgive Brian? Will Jenny find a reason to live?


    We all walk through trials, illnesses, seemingly unnecessary deaths and more - bad things do happen to good people. Through the grace-filled writing of Karen Kingsbury, we see how even faith-filled families can have doubts and anger toward God.


    My rating: 5 out of 5 stars


    I received a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review from Multnomah Books through Edelweiss Digital Books.



    Blessings,


    Ellen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Powerful Story of Forgiveness

    "For two hours Hannah Ryan had fought off an exhausting list of possibilities while staring out her kitchen window but still there was no sign of her family. She wanted to pray, and even tried a time or two, but she held back. It only made the fear worse.
    Dread had begun to consumer her, and as the minutes became hours, she stopped looking for ways to keep busy. Instead she was continually drawn to the kitchen window, as if she could somehow make them appear by keeping watch. They should have called by now and anger joined the emotions warring within her.
    When the squad car pulled up, she was no longer fiddling with the pink sponge wiping and rewiping the sink, but rather she was frozen in place barely breathing, staring at the dusky cul-de-sac.
    A pit formed in her stomach and in that instant, she knew.
    She closed her eyes. Lock the door. Close the blinds. Get the car keys and leave. Anything but greet the officers who were walking deliberately up the sidewalk."

    From the very beginning of this powerful story readers can identify with the emotions Hannah Ryan is experiencing as she deals with anguish of losing her husband and daughter because of a drunk driver. Author Karen Kingsbury sensitively walks her readers through the heartbreak of both the victims and the drunk driver, Brian Wesley. It is a very thought provoking and moving read.

    The accident is just the beginning of a difficult journey Hannah and her surviving daughter, Jenny, must travel. The ripple effects of drunk driving tear through their lives. Hannah tries to live through her pain and her bitterness that God would allow such a thing to happen to a family that believed Him. She turns away from God and channels all her energy into seeing Brian convicted of murder and placed behind bars. Meanwhile, she neglects to see how Jenny's grief is much more than the young teen can handle. God places people in their lives to support Hannah, Jenny and Brian and draw them to Him. Ultimately, forgiveness brings healing and peace.

    Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers provided a complimentary copy of this book to me for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Powerful story of forgiveness!

    Karen Kingsbury has been my favorite author for some time now. I have read most of her books, and always wait eagerly for her next one. So when I saw that Waterbrook Multnomah was offering Waiting for Morning for review, I quickly requested it because it was one of the few books by Kingsbury that I hadn't read.

    Hannah Ryan has just lost her husband, Tom, and oldest daughter, Alicia, in a horrible car crash, due to a drunk driver. Her youngest daughter, Jenny, survived, but Hannah only seems to see Tom and Alicia as the victims in the accident. Hannah harbors a deep hatred for Brian Wesley, the drunk driver who killed her family, and starts to believe that the only thing that will bring her peace will be to see him behind bars for life.
    She is also bitter towards God and starts to believe that a God who would allow suffering couldn't possibly exist. Believers Matt Bronzan, the district attorney, and friend Carol Cummins, who volunteers for the local Mothers Against Drunk Driving, come alongside her during her darkest time. Will she allow God back into her life, or will her bitterness overtake her?

    I loved this book. I believe it was God's prompting me to read this book during a time of my life when I really needed to read the message in it. I had been harboring bitterness towards someone, and couldn't seem to find my way out of it. After I finished this book, I felt like I had not only read Hannah's story, but my own as well, even though our stories were very different. I came to the realization that I need to forgive, and I could forgive, because Jesus did the same for me. Forgiveness is a process, and it is not easy, but it is what God asks us to do.

    Do I recommend this book? Absolutely, with 5 stars! If I could give it 6, I would!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great Book

    This is a very well-written book, I could really identify with the characters. While I've never found myself in Hannah's position, it was easy to see how the given circumstances could lead someone to behave just as she did. I love how Karen took the book of Lamentations and gave it a modern twist. It makes me see that book in a whole new light. I really enjoy reading Karen's books and this one did not disappoint; it kept me up way past my bedtime because I couldn't stop turning the pages! This book is the first in a series entitled Forever Faithful, I look forward to reading more of this series to follow the characters' stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Waiting

    I used not to be a fan of Karen Kingsbury because of all the attention her books receive. I wanted to be different and try other fiction books by different authors that had not yet been discovered. I soon realized after reading a few of her books, I really enjoy them and the message each one gives to the reader.. I had the opportunity to review "Waiting for Morning."
    " Waiting for Morning" is a heart breaking store about a woman, Hannah who is trying to survive the loss of her husband, Tom and her daughter, Alicia. Her other daughter, Jenny was seriously injured too in the drunk driving accident, which ultimately took the lives of her husband and daughter, Alica. Hannah becomes very involved with making sure the drunk drive is convicted, but realizes that Jenny desperately needs attention and affection too. Jenny is also grieving the loss of her sister and father. Jenny becomes so desperate for attention and no longer wants to live, that she tries to commit suicide as a result of her own her grief and depression. At this point, Hannah realizes that Jenny is deeply suffering too and needs Hannah to help her through this awful time in their lives.

    I believe this book has a powerful message not only for adults, but teenagers too. This book is inspiring, heartbreaking and gives a powerful message. This book is a reminder that life is short and at any time, something precious can be taken away from us. It is also a good lesson in forgiveness, which is something that I currently am working through in my own life.


    I love this book and believe you will too.....


    Now that you know what I think of the book. . . you have a chance to win your very own copy! If you go to my profile on the Blogging for Books website and rank any of my reviews, you're entered in a drawing to win a copy of the book. It just takes a moment to click over there and rank a review or two, including this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Inspirational

    Waiting for Morning is a heartbreaking, but an inspiring story. Waiting for Morning is about a woman, Hannah Ryan, trying to regain her faith in God after a drunk driver runs a red light and kills her husband, Tom, and her daughter, Alicia and injuring her other daughter, Jenny. After the accident, Hannah was so wrapped up in trying to make sure the drunk driver is convicted that she has forgotten about Jenny, who desperately needs her affection. It was not until Jenny tried to kill herself that Hannah realized that Jenny was suffering too and needed her.
    I found Waiting for Morning to be heartbreaking, but inspiring. People take so many things for granted. This book shows that anything and anyone at any given moment can be taken away. I can relate to losing someone to a drunk driver. It is not easy to forgive someone after incident like that. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. the first time I read it, I finished in two days time. After reading the first few chapters, I was hooked.
    I believe that every teenage girl and mother should read this book, because so many mothers miss the signs of depressed teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome

    I am currently reading this book, and I already love it! It is all I have come to expect from Karen Kingsbury and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Holy Mackeral This is a good book!!

    Hi. I recived this book from my aunt during Christmas and the other two. I love this. I know this is going to sound mean but to tell the truth, I really didn't symphizize with the mom. But I DID symphizize with Jenny her daughter BIG time. I did feel like Jenny at one time. No, nobody from my family died, it was a time in my life where I just felt...worthless. I'm not going to go into detail about my life but. The second time I read it, I CRIED!!!! And I never cry during books! So if anyone of you people feel like ending your life, READ THIS PLEASE!! P.S. I'm not making fun of anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    recommended

    i could really relate to this book my husband past away this year and i felt just like hannah so angry i wanted answers, neglected my children due to just being lost i felt so betrayed by god i want answers..to the author thank you for writing this novel i just can't explain it..you know about death but you just always think this could never happen to my family and when it does the pain is so overwhelming that i actually had to put the book down a couple of times because i felt the exact same way...please continue to write novels about real life...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    amazing

    I loved this book! Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I finished the book in two days. It makes you think what kind of people are on the roads and what you could be faced with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Gut Wrenching and Gripping

    This story had me enthralled within twenty pages. I came face-to-face with the fears I have always had about the loss of my entire family. The book challenged and encouraged me. Far and away above most contemporary Christian fiction in both plot and composition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2