Customer Reviews for

Waiting in Vain

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Well written. An entertaining read.

    Riveting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Where Bob Marley expresses with music, Colin Channer does with words. An excellent combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Loved it!

    I read ' Got to be Real' and I fell in love with Channers romantic and lush style. So when I read 'Waiting in Vain' I was swept up and I was totally disappointed when I finished the book. If you have never been to Jamaica and experienced the sights ,smells and nuances of this complex island this book is a love letter that will introduce Jamaica to your senses. Its a beauty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    SMOOTH

    This was my first Jamaican novel and it was excellent I laughed,cried,and had a great time relaxing w/this sexy read I'd recommend Colin Channer to all novel readers who love black love stories w/a little spice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    FEELS SO GOOD...

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST LOVE STORY I HAVE READ IN A VERY LONG TIME. IT ENGROSSED AND ENTHRALLED ME FROM THE FIRST PAGE. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES LOVE. CHANNER MADE YOU FEEL AS IF YOU WERE THERE. I LIKE THAT IN A BOOK. I HOPE I AM NOT 'WAITING IN VAIN' FOR THE NEXT ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    Novel is on fire

    I am late in writing this review of Colin Channer's novel Waiting in Vain, but I have to say I really didn't know what to write until I read it a second time. Channer's novel is one of victory and the erotique. This author takes his readers through the lives of the novel's characters and allows us to see life through the words he gives them. It is a must read for those of us who appreciate love, struggle, romance, and strong writing. I look forward to his next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Wonderful modern love story!

    I loved this book! Fire and Sylvia are people we all know! True love is a wonderful thing and really directs our lives! Channer does a wonderful job creating realistic characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Waiting in Vain

    The main theme of Colin Channers' book is love. While this subject is in no way unique, Colin's writing style is uniquely poetic and erotic. The main character, Fire, a successful writer, operates on a different level. Fire is as close to perfection as any woman would want her man to be. Fire really cares - he cares for Blanche, his mentor and ex-lover who he has stood by for ten years; he cares for Sylvia, his soulmate and perfect woman with her accompanying emotional baggage. He cares for Ian, fellow artist, friend and the closest person he has to a brother, even when Ian travels down the path of self-destruction. Colin's writing style is one that is easy to read. However, there is depth in his writing that makes this a MUST READ novel for those of us coming from the Caribbean. His way of moving dialogue between English, Jamiacan English and patois should be applauded. I strongly recommend this book to you. I am awaiting Colin's next novel with bated breath - another Bob Marley song title, I hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1