Customer Reviews for

Waiting in Vain

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2001

    Great Depth

    This book is one of the best I've ever read. I not only enjoyed it, but I felt it. This book had a mood to it. The characters had umph to them. Colin Channer has a new, appreciative reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    This book was very creative and this author opened my eyes to a

    This book was very creative and this author opened my eyes to a whole new life. After reading Waiting in Vain I feel as though I know more about island life or more specifically Jamaican life. If I had a say, the man in the glasses on the cover would be the whole cover and not just because he looks awesome but because it reflects more of the story. In this lovely novel the author shows you how a wealthy Jamaican writer/artist named Fire, struggles with relationships with unavailable women. Its a love story but its much more with topics of class, race, family and drugs.

    In the beginning the story starts with Fire and Blanche a married woman who he has on and off sexual relationship. Fire wants a change and he goes to New York. In New York Fire hooks up with his childhood friend and a fellow artist Ian. Ian's is of the Islands as well and lives in usa strung out on drugs. Fire and Ian discuss there lives and their struggles with women.
    In New York is where you get swept off your feet by Fire and his dialog with Silvia. The whole relationship between Fire and Silvia is amazing and the author makes you want Fire that much more.
    Waiting in Vain also contains 2 side stories Ian and Margret.

    The reader is introduced to many characters and a different dialect and at times its a little confusing. The author also tends to switch point of views in the middle of a paragraph and it tends to cause motion sickness but I dont hold these things against the author because his story is beautifully expressed that i wouldn't mind reading it again. And I will look for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Best book in this genre!

    I have kept a copy of this book on my shelf for a very long time. It is a wonderful re-read every now and then. It is my favorite book in this genre. Mr. Channer is not as well know as Eric Dickey or Teri Mcmillian but, his writting sytle is so romantic and spiritual. His characters are realistic and his story is multi-fauceted. There is anger, love, pain, heartache, and lust. He delves into the pysche of his characters and I love the fact that although this is a love story there is so much more. The steamy island setting is also very nice. If you are looking to loose yourself in a wonderfully written story of love, pain and the very soul of those who participate in these activites then read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    ahhh

    It took me a while to get into this book (it's been on my bookshelf for 4 yrs). In the beginning it was a slow read for me, but I'm so glad I stuck with it. It was love story, not the soppy, make believe-can't be believed type. I'm not sure where/why Ian fit into the picture, but aside from him, the story was great. The character did develope - perhaps they could have developed a bit more, but for a 1st work, this was really a good book. To look at love from a male perspective was so very interesting - it made me fall in love with my husband all over again. Sylvia had to 'grow' - don't we all, at some time? It has me waiting for a sequel.. Good going Colin and I'll be at BN this weekend trying to find your other books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    The Best

    This book is wonderfully well written. I fell in love with Fire, now I know what a real man is suppose to be. Colin Channer took me on a vivid journey in to new territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    Page turner!

    I just couldn't put this book down. I highly recommend it. The characters are real. Similar to characters in In-Law Drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Jamaica's Hidden Treasure

    I miss him. Quite a strange way to begin a review, and yet it seems very approrpiate. To say that I have been touched by Fire would be an understatement. Having completed Waiting in Vain has left me with a void to fill. A.J.Heath has proven to be a protagonist to be set in a class by himself. Fire encompasses a perfect man, despite his shortcomings. He leaves one with the hope that such a man walks th earth and that waiting will not be in vain. In this book, each character is developed completely as you, the reader, are allowed to see their thoughts, dreams, and fears. They become real, true-to-life individuals. Finally the richness and beauty of the language adds to the charm and mystic that held me in rapture page after page. Though the description of Jamaica was sometimes difficult to follow, having never visited the island, it has provided me with a strong desire to do so. To walk in Fire's shoes, smell the air he breathed, take in the sights his eyes held. Colin is perhaps the best advertisement the island never knew it had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    read it; must read it again

    book is one of the best I have read and I made the mistake of loaning to a relative now I must purchase it for a second time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2000

    Book is too hard to put down!

    I got this book last year and it was sitting on my shelf. This week I have started reading the book on the bus and at work and I have found it too hard to put down. Fire first meets Sylvia in New York only to discover that she is engaged to an arrogant well-to-do black man. Yet he is drawn to this woman and wants to know more about her. Sylvia is an editor for a black women's magazine and is unhappy about her current position and would like to do more with her life. She meets fire who has done very well for himself without the comforts of material wealth. She yearns for the passion Fire has that her boyfriend can't give her. They both know that they are meant to be together body, mind and soul. I haven't finished reading the book but I am already drawn to the literary style that Colin Channer writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    911 !!!

    I'm really into Carib. fiction writers now and Colin Channer is at the top of the list. The vibe between Sylvia and Fire can be felt the moment he laid eyes on those daisy buttons and that dancers walk. Channer gives great visuals that engulf the reader... It left me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Breathtaking

    Colin has captured the essence of love with high energy of sexuality. My favorite quote is 'Is that your smile or my reflection' That is truly the melting pot of my heart said by any man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Waiting in Vain

    'Waiting In Vain' captivates the reader from start to finish. Colin's writing infuses the readers with such passion, that they feel as if they are there feeling every emotion and witnessing every place. His unique sense of writing is phenomenal. It leaves the readers yearning for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1