Customer Reviews for

Waiting to Be Heard

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Som

"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Some people (like GFMurphy, above) believed the Mass Media Hype Machine, which sensationalized the whole "trial". There's a reason her conviction was not upheld.

I applaud her for writing about h...
"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Some people (like GFMurphy, above) believed the Mass Media Hype Machine, which sensationalized the whole "trial". There's a reason her conviction was not upheld.

I applaud her for writing about her ordeal. It takes strength and courage to recount moments you'd rather forget.

posted by 6713524 on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four

It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit."

Yes, "in 2011, an appeals court overturned the decision and vacated the murder charge" but that does not mean that Amanda did not ...
It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit."

Yes, "in 2011, an appeals court overturned the decision and vacated the murder charge" but that does not mean that Amanda did not commit the crime! In fact, a great many people (including me) believe that she is not innocent at all.

I'd like to give 0 stars to this worthless publication, but apparently I have to give at least 1 star.

posted by GFMurphy on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    "Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Som

    "Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Some people (like GFMurphy, above) believed the Mass Media Hype Machine, which sensationalized the whole "trial". There's a reason her conviction was not upheld.

    I applaud her for writing about her ordeal. It takes strength and courage to recount moments you'd rather forget.

    32 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I'm glad Amanda Knox finally got to tell her story. No one with

    I'm glad Amanda Knox finally got to tell her story. No one with half a brain could possibly think she was guilty if they actually looked at the "evidence" presented at the trial. What happened to Meredith Kircher is horrible, but the fact is that Rudy Guede raped and killed her. His DNA was all over the crime scene, there was none from Amanda or Raffaele. It's not possible for three people to commit a murder and then for someone to clean up, leaving only one person's DNA behind. Rudy Guede committed at least 3 crimes (robberies and threatening someone with a knitfe) in the 5 weeks before Meredith Kircher's death. The Italian police did not arrest him for any of them. When he was caught robbing a school in Milan, the police just put him on a train back to Perugia. It's believed that he was a police informant. If he had been arrested, he would have been in jail and unable to kill Meredith. Please, people, look at the FACTS. Leave this girl alone and let her get on with her life. 

    31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Beautifully written by a strong brave woman. Faced with such ad

    Beautifully written by a strong brave woman. Faced with such adversity and horror, she held her own in a hell that can only be imagined. How refreshing to read her side of the story instead of listening to the trash on many forums. No more he said she said. Amanda has finally spoken and its great to hear her truth.

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    the media convicted her without concern for the facts. She was

    the media convicted her without concern for the facts. She was in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    I believe she had nothing to do with this crime and they already have the person who did it. Let this girl have a normal life and beware of the media.

    23 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four

    It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit."

    Yes, "in 2011, an appeals court overturned the decision and vacated the murder charge" but that does not mean that Amanda did not commit the crime! In fact, a great many people (including me) believe that she is not innocent at all.

    I'd like to give 0 stars to this worthless publication, but apparently I have to give at least 1 star.

    21 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Who goes home when the door is ajar, showers in a bathroom with

    Who goes home when the door is ajar, showers in a bathroom with blood in it, and a toilet full of crap THEN realizes something is wrong? And it just so happens to be the weekend the other roommates aren't home. After reading the story, I don't believe she murdered Miranda; however she knows who did, she was there, her story has some holes. She seemed very bright and ambitious, but misguided. 

    20 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Stop the Amanda Hate

    Amanda was living the typical American teenage life. Lots of people have casual sex and smoke pot. That does not mean she committed murder. If you are not around crime and live in white suburbia the things she found when she took a shower don't add up to murder: some blood on the sink faucet and some on the bath mat. The poop was in the toilet in the other bathroom. Couldn't the police test the poop for DNA? If I found those things I wouldn't immediately think oh, someone's been murdered. Yes, some women do have messy periods and that was Amanda's first thought with the blood on the bath mat and she thought the blood on the faucet was from her own newly pierced ears. Those of you without sin can cast the first stone.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not enough evidence for conviction

    Everyone wans to focus on their guilt or innocence but to me the question is whether or not there is enough evidence to convict beyond reasoble doubt. We will never know what happened in Perrugia, but in just about any US court, if this case even made it past a preliminary hearing, the defendants would have been acquitted for lack of proof beyond reasonsble doubt. Beyond that, it is clear that Amanda has writing talent. It was a good read and conttibuted to my unerstanding of this strange and sad story. If I had to make a guess ( different from an opinion ) I'd guess they are probably both innocent.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Surpisingly Well Written

    This book was interesting. I am one of those who believed in her guilt until the facts about the mishandled evidence came out. Amanda focuses on the drama in the court room, her life in prison and the shock of getting out. Moreover it is a story of an immature girl who becomes a mature woman through a heart renching journey.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    She's a convicted liar. And has a murder conviction with one app

    She's a convicted liar. And has a murder conviction with one appeal left.  Why on earth would anyone buy this book?  Donate to the Meredith Kercher fund instead, and support Murder victims and their families, not Murderers.

    17 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Guilty or not....

    Guilty or not I dont see how they can justify a guilty verdict considering they completely contaminted all the evidence by not changing their gloves! Also strange behavior is not evidence.

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    More lies from a convicted liar

    More lies from a convicted liar

    16 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Minus stars

    I cant believe this crap is even being published. This murderer is making money from her crime? She got away with murder and some publisher is actually printing these lies. It disgusts me. This woman should be in prison

    14 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Ugh, I can't even get through the sample so I won't buy it.  The

    Ugh, I can't even get through the sample so I won't buy it.  The writing is dry and boring and not compelling.  Memoirs of late are so bad--I don't understand why.  

    13 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Waoting to be heard.

    I think that the author was very brave to write this book when she knew that the whole world would not believe her bit there are a few out there. I believe she did not commit the and was wrongfuly accused.

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Finally HER side.

    I have never thought the evidence was there to say she was guilty. This book finally gives her a voice to tell her side. Not just what the police would have you believe. Amanda tells her truth in a very no holds barred way. I could not wait to read it and I am glad I did. There are lots of valuable lessons to be learned for any young woman. READ it!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    I wasted my time reading this.  What a self absorbed, vain, spoi

    I wasted my time reading this.  What a self absorbed, vain, spoiled girl.  The author and the truth seem to be strangers at best.  My advice is to purchase something of value in having read it.

    11 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    she is innocent

    jajaja

    11 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Strongly Recommend

    I just completed reading, 'Waiting to Be Heard', by Amanda Knox while on vacation here on the beautiful Caribbean island of Anguilla.

    Born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, just a few miles from the Knox family, and having a daughter the same age as Amanda, I couldn't help but follow her plight through the years, so wanted to read the book as soon as it was released. It did not disappoint.

    With all the sensational media attention around this case, one really needs to hear from Amanda about what was actually occurring to understand what she as a human being, and her incredibly supportive family had to endure.

    This is a classic case of of an out-of-control prosecutor, constructing a case to fit evidence, and push for the conviction of two innocents, regardless of how the very evidence itself should have been clearing them.

    In the current 2nd amendment debate going on in our country, which is completely full of lies, rhetoric, and the usual garbage from the right, about their 'rights', it might be good to remind the world that we constitutionally protect our citizens from so-called 'double jeopardy' prosecution, so the Itailian 'justice' system can try again per their decision from their Supreme Court, but US officials should make clear there will be no extradition.

    This book is an outstanding (first) effort by Knox, and I hope we'll see more from her in her post-University of Washington years (Go Dawgs!). May this young woman now be allowed to move forward, be allowed to put this tragic part of her life behind her, be blessed, and be a blessing to others.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Guilty!,

    She is not inocent

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9