Customer Reviews for

Waiting to Be Heard

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Som

"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Some people (like GFMurphy, above) believed the Mass Media Hype Machine, which sensationalized the whole "trial". There's a reason her conviction was not upheld.

I applaud her for writing about h...
"Innocent until proven guilty" here in the States. Some people (like GFMurphy, above) believed the Mass Media Hype Machine, which sensationalized the whole "trial". There's a reason her conviction was not upheld.

I applaud her for writing about her ordeal. It takes strength and courage to recount moments you'd rather forget.

posted by 6713524 on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four

It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit."

Yes, "in 2011, an appeals court overturned the decision and vacated the murder charge" but that does not mean that Amanda did not ...
It is simple not true to state that "Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit."

Yes, "in 2011, an appeals court overturned the decision and vacated the murder charge" but that does not mean that Amanda did not commit the crime! In fact, a great many people (including me) believe that she is not innocent at all.

I'd like to give 0 stars to this worthless publication, but apparently I have to give at least 1 star.

posted by GFMurphy on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Absobutely loved this book. Amanda is a brave young women and I

    Absobutely loved this book. Amanda is a brave young women and I believe she is totally innocent. I don't see at all where there was enough evidence for her to be convicted! So glad she was aquitted! Could not put this book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book was extremely well written. You could feel the emotions of the writer and the scenes she recreated. I couldn't put it down. I felt that she was extremely sensitive to the memory of her murdered room mate, while conveying the horror of her own ordeal. Well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Highly recommend- couldn't put it down

    I've been waiting for Amanda's book since the day she was aquitted! I see my own daughter in her and have been dying to know how she survived and what life was like behind bars? I wondered how she was treated, how she spent her time, what life was like and more importantly how she proved her innocence. I think she's done a wonderful job explaining the facts (including how she felt during the times in which those facts were current)... The only part I had an issue with when trying to rationalize how she came to confess was how she describes what happened to her and her thought process. I wish almost that she would have said "I would have told them anyone did it at the time just to make them leave me alone".... To me? That's more relatable... She doesn't say that in her book. She talks about being confused... And so on, so for me? That was the only questionable piece in this book. The rest of her story is 100% legit and I believe her, and I'd say I'm sorry for her, but she's come out of there an incredibly strong person and will achieve so much in her life... This book was such a good read, I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Good to hear...

    It was good to hear her side of the story! I think she's innocent, based on everything I have seen and read. She really doesn't fit the profile.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    YES, this book is worth reading

    Interesting to hear what really happened. You do not want to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Excellent read

    Excellent story. Tells a tragic story and keeps you on the edge of your seat going ``Whaaat? No, REALLY? '' over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    A wonderful brave book! It's a shame that such flagrant abuse of

    A wonderful brave book! It's a shame that such flagrant abuse of law and power still exist in this day and age. How ignorant of anyone to think that Amanda Knox was guilty merely by her actions when science has advanced so much and such thing like DNA exist. Not that these cases are similar in any way but if people would demonstrate to be guilty simply by their behaviors after a crime then people like Casey Anthony would be serving 5 consecutive life sentences given that she was a party animal the day after her daughter "disappeared". I unequivocally believe that Amanda was used as a scapegoat in Italy's failed justice system and hope that the United States plays the procedural defense of 'double jeopardy' and does not allow extradition. She deserves to be left alone and Italy needs to revise their absurd criminal investigation procedures!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book. Sadness flows from the page as the author

    This is a great book. Sadness flows from the page as the author describes her journey of being falsely imprissoned and goes from innocent foreign exchange student to hardened convict. A great book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great story from a brave young woman Jo

    Great story from a brave young woman

    Jo

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    Well written. Imagine being in your early 20's and charged with

    Well written.
    Imagine being in your early 20's and charged with murder you did not commit.

    The Italian prosecuters made a mess of this trial
    but in the end justice prevails

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Amanda was not guilty to this crime. This book makes it all very

    Amanda was not guilty to this crime. This book makes it all very clear to me how the charges against her with created simply because she did not act the way the

    Italian olice thought she should have. In United States this case would have never gone to court. For all you whjo think she is guilty, please explain to me a motive and where you got you proof. WSell written Amanda.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amanda is only guilty of being naive. I'm sorry this happened to

    Amanda is only guilty of being naive. I'm sorry this happened to this family. The parents mortgaged everything they had to defend their daughter. When you are in a foreign country, you are at the mercy of the  courts. Italy betrayed this family and they know she is innocent. 

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    5 STARS INDEED

    I give this 5stars becouse she did not do that its stupid im very happy for you aamanda that finally got to tell your story after youve been locked in a foriegn prison for four years you deserve to be heard!!!!!!!!!

    From your (BELIEVABLE) friend
    Leah beard ;)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Killings but might not have happened

    She could have done it but she could have been horribly framed . Their was no evidence to prove that she was framed though. I think she did it just because their is no evidence. Only Amanda Knox and her roomate or the killer know the truth.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Excellent!

    I've followed this case closely from the beginning and have read every book and article that I have found about this case. There was no motive mentioned and no DNA or other scientific evidence linking Amanda to the crime. I have lived with other women and have found blood in the bathroom, more than was in hers, and was not suspicious of anything. I have knicked myself shaving or had a cycle that produced more blood than that. Also whether we want to admit it or not, everyone has either forgotten to flush or not made sure it flushed properly. Meredith had even explained to Amanda that Italian plumbing is not as good so it is not far fetched to think that maybe it was flushed but did not go down because of this fact. The whole investigation was botched. They wanted to solve this as quickly as possibly and did not want to admit that someone from there could commit such a horrible crime. Amanda was thrown under the bus because she was a foreigner. Had anyone thought that maybe it was linked to the pot that the downstairs roomates were growing. It could of been about the drugs initially and poor Meredith just happened to be there. God forbid Amanda wear red underwear. Most of mine is red so I guess that makes me a murderer too. As far as the blame goes... she has every right to blame the Italian government, police department and justice system. She was unfairly and wrongfully accused, framed and persecuted. I would be blaming people too especially if I was innocent. There are a lot of people out there that do not show emotion in public especially if that is how you were raised. She stated that she was brought up to not cry in public. This is not far fetched. There is a thing called shock too. If you have ever been in shock, which I have, then you are not able to show emotion. It could take a while to come out of it and digest what happened. Everyone needs to reserve their judgement until they have read ALL the FACTS and not just the media hype bull that is out there. If you look at the scientific evidence and have a clear understanding on how forensics works than you would see how there is absolutely no physical evidence and or scientific evidence linking her to this crime. Oh and being childish and naieve doesn't make someone a murderer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Definite must read!

    I remember hearing about Amanda Knox and then watching the movie on Lifetime, this was a really interesting book and eye opening to see things from her point of view. I would definitely recommend reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I think we were quick to judge Amanda Knox based on the informat

    I think we were quick to judge Amanda Knox based on the information the public was given through the media.  She takes each detail that the media sensationalized and explains why she did what she did at that moment in time.  Being someone that presumed her guilty during the trial and appeal, I find that her side of the story gives her a very strong defense.  You don't see Casey Anthony explaining herself, so Amanda Knox obviously wanted to show her innocence.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great read!

    Well written and thoroghly engaging!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great book

    Unbeliavable story of courage and bravery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Heartbreaking

    I couldn't put the book down! What a shame a young American girl had to go through such a horrible thing with no help from our government! I feel for her and her family, and now they want her family to send her back for trial!!! No one should have to go through that experience!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4