Customer Reviews for

Waiting to Exhale

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I remember being a kid and reading this book just because i saw the movie. But now that im older and have read it again i see it in a whole new light. Many of these stories are true and i have witnessed them. Just an amazing story to show how we as women take crap we sh...
I remember being a kid and reading this book just because i saw the movie. But now that im older and have read it again i see it in a whole new light. Many of these stories are true and i have witnessed them. Just an amazing story to show how we as women take crap we shouldnt and how not ALL men are dogs and scum. Which is absolutely true. And we all need those special whom we can lean on and share the good as well as the bad with. Excellent story, i love terry mcmillan

posted by Jaci_Lee on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best ever

Saw movie but book is twice as great

posted by 11586862 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Amazing

    I remember being a kid and reading this book just because i saw the movie. But now that im older and have read it again i see it in a whole new light. Many of these stories are true and i have witnessed them. Just an amazing story to show how we as women take crap we shouldnt and how not ALL men are dogs and scum. Which is absolutely true. And we all need those special whom we can lean on and share the good as well as the bad with. Excellent story, i love terry mcmillan

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Just like the movie

    I just love this book. It waas just like the movie. I will read this book again one day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    My Blog About Waiting to Exhale!

    I thought this was a very interesting book. The only thing I didn't care for was the way men got away with the things they did. I love the fact that these women were liberated and didn't take any mess from these guys. If I had to read it again I would, no questions asked.

    La Chandra Mathews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    <3

    <3 <3 <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    women but different types of women

    i disgree with this novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Terry is awesome writer

    This book is a classic ...I laughed, cried and shouted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    A Must Read for Those Who Haven't

    This book is excellent. It is realistic fiction and talks about some of the problems that many African-American women deal with. Although it is fiction, you are put right into the middle of the story and it makes you feel as though you are going through the different issues right along with Bernadine, Robin, Savannah, and Gloria. If you think the movie was good, you haven't seen anything yet. I would highly recommend it to all those who are looking for a book that is so good, you can't put it down. Take an adventure you will never forget as you journey through the arid state of Arizona. You will see just what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2002

    Great Book

    This was a terrific book. The title speaks for itself. The four black women all had a problem that they were dealing with and when they solved their problems they all exhaled. They all had a very good freindship between each other as well. I really enjoyed reading this book. In fact I have read it several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    The best book for Sistas

    I absolutely loved every word of every chapter I read in this book. This is one of the rare books that grabs you and holds on tight.It has a very unique way of expressing the things that all women go through everyday. And it also has created a very special circle of friends that have a very strong friendship and love for each other. Savannah, Robin, Gloria, and Bernadine all are of different ages, but go through the same experiences in a way. They all learn from each other and they're always there for each other. I could also relate to all the strong language it used (not that it was very good language). But overall, it was a very good book. I'd recommend this book to women who are having various problems with finding 'Mr. Right', but this book would be a delight to all girls and women who have a strong belief in sisterhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    TRUE FRIENDSHIP

    THIS BOOK REALLY SHOWS TRUE FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN, IT SHOWS THAT THEY HAVE A BOND OF SISTERHOOD. TERRY I LOVE YOU,YOU ARE SUCH AN AMAZING WRITER, I HAVE READ ALL OF YOUR BOOKS, AND I LOOK FORWARD TO READING MANY MORE IN THE FUTURE, KEEP STRIVING TO BE THE BEST, YOU DESERVE IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    A grabbing tale

    I think Waiting to Exhale is one of Terry McMillan's best novels, if not the best. I enjoyed it a lot because it's very real and the characters are all strong black women. I could not put this book down and it was way better than the movie. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3