Customer Reviews for

Wake (Watersong Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking'

Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking's new series, Watersong! Amanda has already proved she's mastered the art of original storytelling in her unforgettable Trylle Trilogy, and the trend continues in Watersong.

Wake is written in third person...
Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking's new series, Watersong! Amanda has already proved she's mastered the art of original storytelling in her unforgettable Trylle Trilogy, and the trend continues in Watersong.

Wake is written in third person perspective, more prominently switching between sisters Gemma and Harper Fisher, throughout the whole novel. The style gives readers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of both sisters as they dance around danger in the form of three beautiful strangers. Penn, Lexi, and Thea are the epitome of evil and it's quite easy to hate them. They ruinously burst into Gemma's life and hometown, Capri, without any regret for the trouble they cause.

Amanda keeps the mystery rolling throughout the novel. Even when the truth comes out about what Gemma becomes and what Penn, Lexi, and Thea want with her, the puzzle still isn't complete. The characters are mostly kept in the dark and it's interesting that they have gut instincts about the danger that surrounds them, but they never actively do anything about it until it's too late. Gemma finally tries to take a stand against Penn, Lexi, and Thea, and the strength she keeps under wraps peeks through. The scenes where Gemma, or even Harper, speak up and make their suspicions known are heart-pounding and just plain awesome!

Wake is graced with not one, but two love interests. For Gemma, it's Alex, the sweet, geeky boy next door who is so unlike Amanda's usual male leads. Harper, on the other hand, is blessed with a love-hate relationship with slacker Daniel, who is much more like the usual male lead in teen fiction. Gemma and Harper are complete opposites so it's no surprise that their love interests would be as well.

The vow that Wake ends with is enough to wish for Lullaby, book two of the Watersong series to get here a little faster! Amanda will no doubt push the story past its limits in surprises and action.

Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books
*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not good

This was terribly disappointing. So glad I'd read the Kirkus review and went with the library for this. Nonentity of a main character. And stupid. If you were told details of the Greek curse ruining your life, wouldn't you at least try the library? The sister is such an...
This was terribly disappointing. So glad I'd read the Kirkus review and went with the library for this. Nonentity of a main character. And stupid. If you were told details of the Greek curse ruining your life, wouldn't you at least try the library? The sister is such an unimaginative stock character - overprotective in-lieu-of-mother sister. Hocking does manage to make her more annoying than most. I can only hope this is the author's punk rock nose thumb at mainstream publishing. But I doubt it and I won't be returning to the series.

posted by JeyScot on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking'

    Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking's new series, Watersong! Amanda has already proved she's mastered the art of original storytelling in her unforgettable Trylle Trilogy, and the trend continues in Watersong.

    Wake is written in third person perspective, more prominently switching between sisters Gemma and Harper Fisher, throughout the whole novel. The style gives readers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of both sisters as they dance around danger in the form of three beautiful strangers. Penn, Lexi, and Thea are the epitome of evil and it's quite easy to hate them. They ruinously burst into Gemma's life and hometown, Capri, without any regret for the trouble they cause.

    Amanda keeps the mystery rolling throughout the novel. Even when the truth comes out about what Gemma becomes and what Penn, Lexi, and Thea want with her, the puzzle still isn't complete. The characters are mostly kept in the dark and it's interesting that they have gut instincts about the danger that surrounds them, but they never actively do anything about it until it's too late. Gemma finally tries to take a stand against Penn, Lexi, and Thea, and the strength she keeps under wraps peeks through. The scenes where Gemma, or even Harper, speak up and make their suspicions known are heart-pounding and just plain awesome!

    Wake is graced with not one, but two love interests. For Gemma, it's Alex, the sweet, geeky boy next door who is so unlike Amanda's usual male leads. Harper, on the other hand, is blessed with a love-hate relationship with slacker Daniel, who is much more like the usual male lead in teen fiction. Gemma and Harper are complete opposites so it's no surprise that their love interests would be as well.

    The vow that Wake ends with is enough to wish for Lullaby, book two of the Watersong series to get here a little faster! Amanda will no doubt push the story past its limits in surprises and action.

    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books
    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

    34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Wake by Amanda Hocking

    When I first looked at Wake by Amanda Hocking, I was pretty sure that the story would be interesting considering what the cover looked like. I know, I know, you shouldn’t judge a book by its’ cover, but when it looks like that you can’t really blame me. However, once I read the synopsis the story had my attention completely. Lately, I’ve found myself a huge fan of mermaid novels—but this one story was absolutely nothing like what I expected… it was better!

    The novel is about main character Gemma who is a powerful swimmer who is beginning to fall in love with her childhood friend Alex. Three new girls enter town…they’re beautiful and hold an age-old secret that is far more dangerous than the reader can imagine when first entering the story. One thing that was interesting about the novel was that it had two stories inside of one. There’s the story of Gemma and her transition from normal girl to a gorgeous siren, and the story of her older sister Harper who worries for her sister and how her life is affected by the entrance of the sirens. Don’t deny it, guys. That sounds pretty freaking awesome and you know it.

    Wake was a thrilling read. It started off a bit on the slow side, but it was written in such a captivating way that I was compelled to continue reading. I couldn’t stop even if I wanted to. I had to know what would happen next and if I wanted to stop, my brain would say “One more chapter… Or maybe three” because it was just that good. When it came to the topic of the sirens and their existence, I was frightened at the depth of the mythology behind them, especially since it involved Greek mythology and held a story that was both tragic and magical. Plus ‘the curse’ that all the sirens have, stuck with the mythology and held properties that were dark and frightening.

    I loved the romance in Wake. Either it was the full out relationship between Gemma and Alex, or the cute flirting between Harper and Daniel. The romance and interaction between characters is unparalleled to anything I’ve ever read before. When it came to Gemma and Alex, I hated knowing that because of Gemma now being a siren she could never truly love because nobody would truly love her ever again. When it came to the plot, I was shocked at the amount of creepy twists and turns that kept me interested in the novel—well that and the series of murders.

    I would recommend Wake to fans of mermaid lore, Greek mythology, YA romance and fans of Amanda Hocking’s other works. A fun read that started with a bang and ended with one too.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Not good

    This was terribly disappointing. So glad I'd read the Kirkus review and went with the library for this. Nonentity of a main character. And stupid. If you were told details of the Greek curse ruining your life, wouldn't you at least try the library? The sister is such an unimaginative stock character - overprotective in-lieu-of-mother sister. Hocking does manage to make her more annoying than most. I can only hope this is the author's punk rock nose thumb at mainstream publishing. But I doubt it and I won't be returning to the series.

    16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Wake

    This book is such an amazing book!!! I read it in a day, Wake is very clever i guess u could say and it will keep you at your feet!!!!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Good book!

    I decided to read this book because I loved Amanda Hocking's other series. I was immediately intrigued by this book after I started reading. This book along with her other books have a different twist on the paranormal world. She writes stories that you don't see very often. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something a little different. I could not put it down once I started it. And I can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a YA or Young Adult novel. It's also the first in the Wa

    This is a YA or Young Adult novel. It's also the first in the Watersong trilogy.

    The teaser for this book is really what caught my interest. A supernatural creature book that wasn't teenager vampires, werewolves, or witches. I won't spoil it, but I was pretty sure I knew what the creatures were, and I was right.
    I expected more from this book. It was disappointing to me. I have read several other YA supernatural stories, and not all from authors I love. This one lacked the essential balance between the normal human world and supernatural world. Ninety percent of this tale felt like I reading a normal teen type story, nothing out of the ordinary. The balance doesn't have to be fifty-fifty but does need enough supernatural stuff in it to move the story along into the paranormal.
    Beside this, I had a few issues with the story. Things that seemed to not fit, and make the story a bit more sluggish. For one, I have no problem with an omnipotent narrator, but what is wrong with saying her Dad left for work, instead of Brian left for work. It took me a few times before I adjusted to using his name instead of Dad or father. It was a little confusing at first.
    Secondly, your a creature that has lived for centuries and you can't risk being discovered, but you can't dispose of a dead body? Thirdly: What was the purpose of having the brain injured mother in the book? To me her character just wasn't needed. A simple sentence or two could have filled in necessary facts. Number four: Teenagers have gone missing and you let your child go out alone after dark. Finally, number five: Why would any adult let their daughter going swimming, not only alone, but at night, in the bay, where she could drown, or get attacked by a shark? Seriously? I know he feels guilty about not being around as much as he is needed, and about Gemma, not having a Mom, but there is a difference in being a responsible adult, and being a little too hands off.
    This story could have been so much more, but in my opinion, fell way short of the mark. A few changes to the story and it could have been a much better teen tale, without anything paranormal in it. I will not be reading the other books.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Wake

    Good ending. Cliffhanger for sure. More mystical mess. Teen message.. be careful what you wish for...... teenage curiosty will get you into trouble

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Just Pre Ordered

    I read the description and it sounded like another one of Amanda Hockings mysterious novels. I can't wait for August 7th to come!!!

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great....lovely...AMAZING!!!!!!

    This book was a great book. You will love this no matter how many times you read it. There are only a couple morbid and disturbing parts. Almost every review has nothing to do with the morbid parts. But I'm going to tell you the truth... it is an amazing book..truly. But this was an unatural, evil, and disturbing book at times. But you will love it but dont get to creeped out at the parts. ENJOY THE BOOK!! I am telling the truth...READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! You will love it!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I love this book!

    Wake is an amazing book. I could not stop reading it. Amanda Hocking has an open mind and a great imagination. Every page is better and is filled with more suspense than the previous. I give five stars!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Beware!!!!!!! A waste of time and money!!!!!

    I am so disappointed. I enjoyed the Trylle Trilogy and hoped to enjoy this book as well. The writing and story was very immature. The book is definitley geared toward younger teens. The writing seemed "dumbed down." I very rarely give a book a bad review, but this one was just that bad. I have no idea why there are so many positive reviews and I wanted to put mine out there to help someone else not waste their money.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love this book!

    Wow, this book was great. I dont know how i will be able to wait for the next one!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    My apologies to all of those who enjoyed this book, but I just c

    My apologies to all of those who enjoyed this book, but I just can't recommend it. Gemma and Harper are the flattest characters I've seen in some time-- always on one note. The villains are a bit better, but when you don't care that the main character is in danger, even great villains can't save a book. I found myself skimming after a while, and that irritated me, because I bought this book (based on the customer reviews, in fact) and my book budget is pretty tight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    **2 Stars** MY OVERVIEW: I had such high expectations for this

    **2 Stars**

    MY OVERVIEW: I had such high expectations for this book upon reading the synopsis. I have also heard great things about the author. However, I was very disappointed with Wake. 

    PROS: I liked Harper and Daniel’s relationship and how it changed through the book and the experiences they went through. 

    CONS: Gemma was annoying. She also wasn’t a believable character. There are three girls that creep her out and yet she goes to hang out with them. Then, once they tell her that she is a Siren, Gemma is all, “Ok, cool – wait, no I don’t want to be one.” There isn’t ever a point where she doesn’t believe they exist and that it is not possible. I also felt like it was set up for something bigger to happen with Daniel, but it didn’t. 

    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: The book just fell flat. I don’t plan on reading the rest of the series, however I will pick up another book by this author. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This book was just okay. I can't exactly put my finger on it, bu

    This book was just okay. I can't exactly put my finger on it, but I felt that it was missing something. Almost like she skimmed the surface of the story without delving into the emotions of the characters enough. Unlike Amanda's other books, this one was easy to put down and I did so several times. I read two other books while trying to finish this one. Don't get me wrong, the story is adequate, but it just didn't grab me in the way some of her other books did. Not sure that I'll be picking up the second book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Eck

    This book is not the best it just seems like something is missing. I liked the idea with the sirens but it was lacking it could have been better.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    AMAZING!

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Loved it

    I could not put it down can't wait for the next one!!!!!! :D

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    different

    Not the normal vampire and werewolf story and different from the average mermaid tale. However it lacks suspense and more action wuchbis a must for any sci fi fantasy book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    “Wake” by, Amanda Hocking Gemma and Harper Fisher

    “Wake” by, Amanda Hocking

    Gemma and Harper Fisher are pretty average teenage girls whose lives have been a bit rough. Gemma loves the water and has hopes of making the Olympic swimming team when she’s older. Harper is very responsible and helped her dad raise Gemma after their mother’s mind was damaged in a car accident. Things are pretty normal for the sisters until three strange girls show up in town. Penn, Lexi, and Thea are presumed to be tourists who are in town for the season but they are hiding a dark secret.

    “Wake” was a pretty interesting story and was a nice change from some of the other teen books out there. That being said, I did feel that the characters were a little flat. I thought that Penn, Lexi, and Thea had some good back story but something was missing that I can’t quite put my finger on. My favorite character was Daniel, Harper’s love interest, and I hope that book two tells us more about him. (On a side note I did find it weird that the sisters referred to their dad as Brian instead of Dad throughout the book.) I think the series has a lot of potential and I am planning on picking up book two. My reviews are usually longer and a little more detailed but I am in a wait and see mode with this series.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14