BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wake

Average Rating 4
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking'

Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking's new series, Watersong! Amanda has already proved she's mastered the art of original storytelling in her unforgettable Trylle Trilogy, and the trend continues in Watersong.

Wake is written in third person...
Wake is an exquisite and intense introduction to Amanda Hocking's new series, Watersong! Amanda has already proved she's mastered the art of original storytelling in her unforgettable Trylle Trilogy, and the trend continues in Watersong.

Wake is written in third person perspective, more prominently switching between sisters Gemma and Harper Fisher, throughout the whole novel. The style gives readers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of both sisters as they dance around danger in the form of three beautiful strangers. Penn, Lexi, and Thea are the epitome of evil and it's quite easy to hate them. They ruinously burst into Gemma's life and hometown, Capri, without any regret for the trouble they cause.

Amanda keeps the mystery rolling throughout the novel. Even when the truth comes out about what Gemma becomes and what Penn, Lexi, and Thea want with her, the puzzle still isn't complete. The characters are mostly kept in the dark and it's interesting that they have gut instincts about the danger that surrounds them, but they never actively do anything about it until it's too late. Gemma finally tries to take a stand against Penn, Lexi, and Thea, and the strength she keeps under wraps peeks through. The scenes where Gemma, or even Harper, speak up and make their suspicions known are heart-pounding and just plain awesome!

Wake is graced with not one, but two love interests. For Gemma, it's Alex, the sweet, geeky boy next door who is so unlike Amanda's usual male leads. Harper, on the other hand, is blessed with a love-hate relationship with slacker Daniel, who is much more like the usual male lead in teen fiction. Gemma and Harper are complete opposites so it's no surprise that their love interests would be as well.

The vow that Wake ends with is enough to wish for Lullaby, book two of the Watersong series to get here a little faster! Amanda will no doubt push the story past its limits in surprises and action.

Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books
*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not good

This was terribly disappointing. So glad I'd read the Kirkus review and went with the library for this. Nonentity of a main character. And stupid. If you were told details of the Greek curse ruining your life, wouldn't you at least try the library? The sister is such an...
This was terribly disappointing. So glad I'd read the Kirkus review and went with the library for this. Nonentity of a main character. And stupid. If you were told details of the Greek curse ruining your life, wouldn't you at least try the library? The sister is such an unimaginative stock character - overprotective in-lieu-of-mother sister. Hocking does manage to make her more annoying than most. I can only hope this is the author's punk rock nose thumb at mainstream publishing. But I doubt it and I won't be returning to the series.

posted by JeyScot on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Very well written

    I've read the first two of the watersong series, plus the forgotten lullaby, and they are so good that I'm sad I have to wait until June for the third book to be released. I'd give this series ten stars if I could. I love the way Amanda Hocking writes her stories, and now I look up her name instead of the type of story I want to read. I will never doubt any of her books. I really hope she never loses her love of writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good but slightly boring.

    When I started this book, I loved the whole build up with the three mystery girls and the romance between Gemma and Alex and Gemma's sister, Harper and Daniel. But, I got bored after Gemma finds out about the sirens and she doesn't get any straight answers and she's not sure what to do. I felt like the book was kind of dragging on and on over the same thing. Very different from any of Amanda Hocking book I've read, because I can never put them down. This one was an exception for me. Hopefully the second one is more enticing!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved this book. Hocking's writing just pulled me in. We all kne

    Loved this book. Hocking's writing just pulled me in. We all knew girls like Penn, Lexi and Thea who appear so perfect and we knew girls like Gemma and her sister. We find out why the new girls Penn, Lexi and Thea came to town and their interest in Gemma. Great new series by Amanda Hocking. I couldn't put this book down as more layers of the storyline were being revealed. What an ending! I am glad the second book Lullaby is coming out in November.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fast Read

    This was a fast read book, but feel it's more for teenagers than adults; but it was still good.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good story

    Looking forward to the next book in this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    The best book ever!

    I have always loved reading Amanda Hocking's books. But Wake was diffrent than other books Amanda has written. Wake captures your attention right at the beggining, you will not be able to put this book down! And you will find that geeks can be hott! This is a deffinate read, so if you get the chance read it for sure! I can guarentee that you will love tjis book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Extremely good---MUST READ

    Extremely good--- MUST READ!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Waaaay better than I'd expected. Seriously quite good. Has it be

    Waaaay better than I'd expected. Seriously quite good. Has it been
    edited since the self published ones?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Love it

    Just awesome a must read I'm waiting for the next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book! I would recommend to mature 11 yo and older. Fantasy, also loved sequel, and i am starting thr third soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great

    Really great read. One of my favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great

    Great book! Excellent story! I really enjoyed reading this book and can't wait to start the next book in the series! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Ok

    It was okay for a YA novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Ok

    This was an ok book. Not a book that caught my attention but it was a fun read. You should buy this book only if you want to waste time you like the author or if you just want to. You dont have to take my advise i would actually recomend you read other reviews but if you are lazy fine by me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    YA

    I didn't see anything saying this was a young adult book/series. I don't know how the YA categorie is defined, but I consider this YA and would not have purchased it if I had known.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Me

    Entirely too many plot spoilers. No need to buy the book. The plot spoilers give away the entire book. Bn loses money, just save your money, read the plot spoilers and you knoe everything that happens!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Bbjj

    Best bok I have read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Must read!

    Love this book!!! Could not but the book down!:p

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great Book

    Awsome book,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    STOLE RACHEAL HIGGISONS CHARCTER NAMES EXACTLY TO THE TEE!

    This author stole the character name gemma and alex form " the fallen star" by rachel higgison wat a cheapskate!!!! The fallen star series is really good by the way!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14