Customer Reviews for

Wake (Wake Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1077 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(564)

4 Star

(266)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

Adolescents beware: Lisa McMann knows you. She knows your insecurities. She knows how you might look so together, yet be so screwed up.
This is why Wake rang so true for me--because I remember what it was like to be 15, 16, 17. It wasn't a lovely, dreamy existence; ...
Adolescents beware: Lisa McMann knows you. She knows your insecurities. She knows how you might look so together, yet be so screwed up.
This is why Wake rang so true for me--because I remember what it was like to be 15, 16, 17. It wasn't a lovely, dreamy existence; it was somewhat akin to living in a shark tank.
So I can relate to Janie's fear that she's a freak. It makes sense; she slips into other people's dreams, after all. Nasty, nasty dreams. Makes it kind of hard to look a friend in the eyes, when you've seen him beating his father to a pulp.
As an adult, I can also relate to Janie's dismissal of adults. She has yet to learn that we're all just older teenagers. So when McMann skillfully adds a touch of mystery, now and then, to the actions of Janie's miserably inept mother, I love it. Funny stuff. Well written story. Scary stuff. Surprisingly believable fantasy stuff.I highly recomment this one.

posted by 148617 on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

*Shrug* Nothing special.

This book was ok. Not great. Not bad either. It started slow, didn't seem to catch my attention until probably about half way through. Based on the synoposis I was expecting a suspenseful book that would leave me afraid if I read it at night by myself. This is NOT the c...
This book was ok. Not great. Not bad either. It started slow, didn't seem to catch my attention until probably about half way through. Based on the synoposis I was expecting a suspenseful book that would leave me afraid if I read it at night by myself. This is NOT the case. It seemed to be more about relationships, but kept light. She has a secret, she sees the dreams of those around her as they sleep. She tries to keep it a secret and is attempting to navigate life and relationships despite her "disability". There is some action, but not suspense. McMann didn't generate in me a lot of emotion for her characters. In fact, I felt indifferent, not really interested in reading any more of their story in the sequel, Fade. However, I decided to read it anyway since I didn't have any other books in mind. Surpisingly, I found Fade to be MUCH better and I actually enjoyed it. I only recommend this book because Fade is worth the read, and you need to know what happens in Wake to get to Fade. But as a stand-alone book I would not recommend it.

posted by 1762549 on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    GOOD READ, SLOW STYLE.

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK IT WAS AN EASY READ, I FINISHED IN A FEW HOURS. THE STYLE WASN'T MY TASTE (ALMOST LIKE IT WAS WRITTEN BY A JUNIOR HIGH STUDENT) BUT THE PLOT WAS GOOD. I WAS WAITING FOR SOMETHING MORE TO HAPPEN BUT I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO READ THE SECOND BOOK. GOOD BOOK TO READ WHEN YOUR LOUNGING. IT INSPIRED SOME THOUGHTS ABOUT DREAMS AS WELL. OVERALL THREE STARS.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was okay

    I've read better books and not to be totally mean but i really don't know why people are making such a fuss over this book. Maybe i'm being too harsh, but the characters are really irritating and when i thought the books was going to end or should end, it just kept going. It was a good idea and okay plot, however. I'll probably read Fade, the next book, but i won't buy it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good Not Great

    I have to say that trilogy is definately a teen read, so might not appeal to adults. But with that said I liked this trilogy. I stayed curious the whole way through. Some of the downsides of this trilogy is that at times it is pretty predictable and the author doesnt go too deep into the characters and their relationships but it does give you an ending that gives the reader closure. Overall I do not think I would recommend it to the masses...but with a few select friends that I think would enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ho hum...

    Not one of my favorites...I was not impressed with the overall story, and it seemed to take a turn from bad to worse towards the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Good story/Bad Language

    I ordered this book for my Middle school reading class. The story was very disturbing early in the book, I did enjoy the plot and characters especially about half way through when we actually started getting to know them. I thought the author put very vulgar sexual language in where it didn't even fit the story. Every dream the main character entered was a warped weird sexual fantasy gone nasty. It didn't even fit the plot or the characters of the story. It was distracting and unnecessary. It actually is a good story if you can ignore the other stuff, but definitely for high school kids, not middle school. I'm not being a prude here, just want you to be aware if you are buying it for a middle grades reader.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Eh, bleh, PFFFFFFT.

    It was... boring yet exciting. I loved the story line but it was too short of a book. And there wasn't much detail. I read it in four hours and it left me confused. Hopefully F A D E answers my questions that this book left unanswered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Indifferent.

    It wasn't amazing, wasn't horrible. I liked the plot. It could have been turned in to something very interesting. My expectations where high, I was disappointed. Seventeen year old Janie finding herself hurled in to others unwanted dreams becomes a hassle. Especially when her love interest finds out she is invading his dreams and thinks she's doing it on purpose. Janie is an easy character to read about and the book is great for keeping you interested. A short read, about 2 hours for advanced readers. You won't be able to stop turning pages. Happy reading!(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    disappointing

    This book had received such good reviews, so I bought it. I wasn't able to read it for a while but once I had time to, I was excited. I finished the book in about a day or so and found it to be extremely disappointing. The writing wasn't that good and the story, which could have been really good, was quite sucky. Things weren't really realistic & certain parts of the story just seemed thrown in, as if to make it better, but it didn't. I wouldn't recommend this book to any of my friends. Do yourself a favor and read a better book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    ....Ugh

    When I put this on hold at the library, I thought the book would be pretty good, but when I picked it up, I was very disappointed. First of all, the book wasn't vey well written. Two, it was boring and awkward. And last of all, it was so obvious when the author made an effort to make the writing seem better, but failed. Despite it beig poorly written, the plot was pretty nice and it probably couldhave gone farther if more effort were put into it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the best book I've ever read, but not the worst either.

    I have mixed feelings on this book. The author had a good story line, but not so good characters or choice of word usage. In a really good book, I can skip over cuss words, but reading this I would have to pretty much just skip the book. Negating the never ending flow of foul language, the characters were sorely lacking. Cabel is so very insecure I was afraid he might just push everyone away, and Janie is an unladylike, cast out, who struggles with getting sucked into people's(often times related to that three letter word commonly thought of by people with raging hormones) dreams! I couldn't remember ever reading a hidden moral, I don't think I could really take any certain knowledge away from reading it, and I wouldn't consider it a fun read, so what can I say? Honestly, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone I know , unless they are fine with profanity and love fragmented sentences.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Pretty Good

    I just read this book, and I enjoyed it. I'm not sure I'd read anything else by this author, but it was a good quick read. It's somewhat confusing in a way though.. not very realistic either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I finished this one quickly,on to the next one in the series!

    The idea of seeing other people's dreams is an intriguing premise. How the main character Janie deals with that is the start of this series. The book reads quickly and deals with quick looks at different times and days. It's easy to get caught in the story and following Janie's trials and tribulations is a fun ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick read, not the same old stuff

    I enjoyed this book because its a completely new story idea. I enjoyed the premise of the book, but would have appreciated more character development and plot. It took me about 6 hours to read this book. I do recommend it, especially if you are looking for some light reading to pass the time. If you are looking for a book to really get wrapped up in though, I would find something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed it

    This book was a pretty simple one, but good nonetheless. It's short but I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    Easy To Read Paranormal Mystery With Romance To Boot (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Wake by Lisa McMann<BR/>Publication Date: March 2008<BR/>3 out of 5 stars<BR/>R - Sexual References, Sensuality, Profanity, Violence, Drug and Alcohol Abuse<BR/>Recommended<BR/><BR/>Janie¿s dreams are not her own. Since the age of 8, no matter where she is or what she is doing, if a person near by falls asleep she is dragged into their dream, be it a nightmare or not. She has seen it all, the falling dreams, the drowning dreams, the naked at school dreams and more. The worst is yet to come as the dream¿s tug grows stronger she begins to suffer physical pains. Now at the age of 17 and struggling to keep her secret, she wonders if there is anyone who can help. But what if that someone is a loner type who is a supposed drug dealer?<BR/><BR/>Wake was based on an interesting problem that translated into an easy to read paranormal mystery.<BR/><BR/>I flew through Wake. I was so caught up in Janie¿s wretched predicament that I couldn¿t stop reading. Janie¿s and Cabel¿s relationship wasn¿t realistically solid enough to handle the stress between them, so no matter how much I disliked their slowness at getting back together after some fights, I have to agree that it fit the situation.<BR/><BR/>The profanity and sexual references didn¿t add any substance to the story, all it did was make it murkier. It wasn¿t needed. What added depth to Wake was Cabel. His past, his repentance for the wrong that he did, and then his turning away from that sin and setting out to do better was ultimately his greatest quality.<BR/><BR/>I recommend Wake because of its plot and the main character¿s interesting dilemmas. I suggest readers who want to read this book to be wary of sexual content and frequent cursing (f-word used often) and to try their best to skip over the inappropriate material.<BR/><BR/>Date Reviewed: December 17th, 2008<BR/><BR/>For more book reviews and information, check out my website at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    ok

    It is short, 116 pages. Interesting concept but lacking content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Ok

    I enjoyed this story. I think it had a fresh idea and was well written. Overall it could have been more detailed, but I enjoyed it. I also liked the point of view of the narrator- I think it made the story more potent.
    Good read, but I like a bit more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Beautiful writing, but...

    Whimsical but the story arc is nearly nonexistant. Much more about a relationship than the power to enter dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Enjoyable Enough

    The writing is sloppy, and not well thought through. I wish she would have done a better job with portraying the time period, it seemed like she was just trying to show you the time on a clock. It seemed like the writer's new and unexperienced. She needs to look over her work and have someone elses opinion on she books. All in all it was an enjoyable story, just not well written.

    -Brittni Dixon 6th grade Journalist in Training.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    hhmmm

    i bought the book and would like to take it back. the first time you read it your on the edge litterally hopping up and down but then you see that its not the best. that it could be better.i think that she worded things alittle strange in particular and the cussing is writen everywhere. but i encourage people to read it but not buy it cause then youll start to not like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8