Customer Reviews for

Wake Unto Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This is a must read. Forget the classifications: YA, paranormal romance. This is quite simply an enjoyable read. Not being a typical reader of this genre, I was skeptical but soon won over by the beautiful language and compelling story. This is a story teller at the pea...
This is a must read. Forget the classifications: YA, paranormal romance. This is quite simply an enjoyable read. Not being a typical reader of this genre, I was skeptical but soon won over by the beautiful language and compelling story. This is a story teller at the peak of her skills.

I highly encourage others to join me and take the plunge. You're welcome, to those who do.

posted by BrianJackson on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed the paranormal element to this book

Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach came highly recommended on twitter by Savannah from Books With Bite. Since I'm a fan of paranormal, I thought this book might be a good fit for me. This story is centered around an unusual girl named Caitlyn Monahan. She has been plagued with ...
Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach came highly recommended on twitter by Savannah from Books With Bite. Since I'm a fan of paranormal, I thought this book might be a good fit for me. This story is centered around an unusual girl named Caitlyn Monahan. She has been plagued with nightmares for years. No one seems to get her. Caitlyn is offered a scholarship at a prestigious school in France, the Chateau de la Fortune. From almost the moment that she steps foot in France strange things start to happen to her. A mystery that crosses time starts to unfold.
I really like the setting of this book. Who wouldn't want to go to France and live in a castle? It also gives off an aire of mystery and a sense of history as well. The castle is turned into a boarding school. Caitlyn is also surrounded by an interesting group of people. Some of her fellow classmates are even royalty. The headmistress is very mysterious as well.
Lisa Cach did a great job with the paranormal element of Wake Unto Me. I found myself quite often wondering what was real. One of the things I liked most about this book is that it takes place not only in the present day but also in the past. There is quite a bit of mystery that not only surrounds the Chateau de la Fortune but also some of the castle's past residents. I liked the historical element in this novel. I found it very interesting and intriguing. It has a great deal of mystery but at times it is a bit predictable. I'm not sure if there is going to be a sequel or not. Lisa Cach definitely left the possibility open.

posted by Marcie77 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a must read. Forget the classifications: YA, paranormal romance. This is quite simply an enjoyable read. Not being a typical reader of this genre, I was skeptical but soon won over by the beautiful language and compelling story. This is a story teller at the peak of her skills.

    I highly encourage others to join me and take the plunge. You're welcome, to those who do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    I have to say this book had lots of twist & turns. What i most liked about it was the history based on true facts and how she got to a school that allowed her to see she belgons . Insted of a normal high school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    MUST READ!

    First thing that came to my mind when I read this synopsis? The Mediator Series and Jesse-hotty love of my life! Thankfully to the blog International Book Tour I had the opportunity to read this book.

    The story is about Caitlyn, a girl just like any other (or not!) that can't handle anymore her boring life in Oregon. To become worse, her mother died when Caitlyn was 4 and now she lives with her dad, her stepmother and 3 half-brothers. So, when an opportunity to study in France arises, she won't think twice to fill in the forms. And obviously she's accepted and also wins a full scholarship (obviously because if it hadn't happened there'd be no story LOL). That's when the story really begins, and we're going to meet Caitlyn, her new friends from the boarding school (the princesses Amalia and Naomi), Château de la Fortune, Raphael and his family, but mainly the period in which Raphael lived in Château de la Fortune (1500's). That's because Caitlyn is not like the other girls, she has premonitory dreams and when she is not visited by the Screechers, she's visited by Raphael. With him will come up some mysteries, details about Caitlyn's life as well, and she'll risk being expelled from the boarding school just to help Raphael find where is the treasure left by the first family that bought the castle.

    The reading is very fast and easy to be done; the story happens in 2011 and also in the 1500's. The historic part is the thing that attracted me the most, because the authoress leaves you really curious and wanting to google all the time about the characters, paintings, facts, places. I just loved to know more about the Templars; learn a little bit of French, Italian and even Latin; imagine the old France and all those wonderful castles throughout Europe. After all, everything enchanted me! Interesting fact is that Lisa wrote in third person, but she makes you feel so absorbed in the story that you follow the rhythm like it was being narrated by Caitlyn herself. Every time you wonder about what's real and what's dreamy, but the narration is so well built that it's impossible to get lost during the reading even with these changes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Yes

    Couldn't put it down. Just loved loved loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    Caitlin leaves her home and everything she's even known back in the America to attends a boarding school in France, Chateau de la Fortune. Caitlin a good and plain girl (so she thinks) who goes to school thinking everything would be ordinary and just like every other school, only to realize she was wrong. There are new friends, new divas, love, death, ghost, vivid dreams, and whole bunch of other things you can't even begin to guess. I loved this book. Well it did start a little slow in the beginning and I put the book down but when I picked it up again I found that it got faster and better. I found Caitlin to be a great character, she was likeable and not once did I want to punch her in the face (I've felt like that before in other books), I found Caitlin someone I could relate to. I mean who hasn't felt confused or out of place at one time or another. What I really loved about this book was the fact that I couldn't even guess what was going to happen next, usually I can tell how a book will end but this one had me on my toes, and wrong so many times. Lisa Cach took a cliché (girl goes to new school, finds out there's something special or different about her. And she falls in love with amazingly handsome boy) and turned in something different, unique, and amazing. I found that in this book the small details that you really don't care about are the things that make the biggest impact, and are the most important. I can honestly say the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I don't have a Raphael of my own, so I'm a little jealous. Wake Unto Me was more than I had hoped for and I hope there will be a part two. I would recommend this book to anyone, I don't care what kind of books you normally read, Wake Unto Me is one that you don't want to miss. {Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book enable my review. All opinions presented here are my own.}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    i just finished reading this book and i thought it was AMAZING! i highly recoment this to anyone who like paranormal romance books, and i really hope this will be the start of a great series. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A Must Read

    This book was truly an awesome book. I highly recommend it. I was at first surprised by all it's high ratings and was undecided but once you pick up Wake Unto Me you won't be able to set it down until the end. This book is filled with romance, mystery and even some history thrown in, it's amazing. The ratings and reviews were perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing edition to the Young Adult genre. A must read!

    As soon as I read the summary for Wake Unto Me on goodreads I immediately knew that I needed to read this book! I loved the idea of only finding love in your dreams and how the main character would be in a boarding school in France. I set high expectations and thankfully they were greatly surpassed. The entire plot is pure genius. I loved all the twists that added depth to the story. One of my favorite parts is the mystery aspect of the book. Lisa Cach's descriptions are flawless. I felt like I was off in France living in an ancient castle with Caitlin. I adored how there was actual history mixed in with paranormal events, I wish school's history books could be this amazing! The main character, Caitlin, is extremely likable and realistic. She's an average student who was bullied at school. Even though her life isn't all that great, this doesn't stop her from being a determined and hopeful person, which I loved. Raphael... Yum! He was just the perfect leading male character for this book. He was mysterious, brave and caring which was everything that Caitlin needed. I loved that he had a sense of humor and was a little bit on the dangerous side, this definitely helped the amazing romance between the two characters. I completely adored Caitlin's classmates in France! They were truly unique and each brought something different to the story. The girls were so patient with putting up with Caitlin's sometimes odd behavior and always stuck by her side. After reading Wake Unto Me I definitely want a friend like Naomi! My favorite part of this book is the ending, it was just absolutely mind blowing! I never saw it coming! I love the twist Lisa Cach added to the story and how it kept you guessing until the literal end. It wraps up the story and leaves you wanting more! Amazing Quote: "I must awake to what is happening. I am at the edge of the abyss." I definitely recommend that you pick up Wake Unto Me as soon as it comes out on March 31st! But beware, once you pick it up you won't be able to set it down until the end. This book is filled with romance, mystery and even some history thrown in, it's amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Fabulous!

    This is one of those books that I felt like I was taking a chance on, and I'm so glad I did! It was excellent! The summary was just the tip of the iceberg. Caitlyn is an outsider in Oregon, and doesn't find fitting in much easier in her new boarding school. Although she does make a couple of good friends, not counting the man of her dreams - literally. Told in the third person, this story is almost entirely from Caitlyn's point of view. But not inside her head, and it worked. This book grabbed onto me right at the start, and I couldn't read the last third fast enough. I had my ideas about what was going to happen, but I had to see how it all came together. I believe it was artfully done, the individual threads being woven together quite masterfully. I felt like this book was so much more than just the impression summary leaves. I was surprised by the twists and turns and even the conclusion. (That is despite my having figured a key something out.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Unforgettable

    Nothing I could write in this review could ever give justice to the perfection of Wake Unto Me. No words could ever perfectly describe how awesome this was.

    Caitlyn did not have outstanding grades or any outstanding talent for that matter - aside from drawing and dreaming strange vivid dreams if you consider those. She was the odd-woman-out in Spring Creek. Her mother died in a car accident and was thought of as a crazy woman. Her father and her stepmother thought Caitlyn took after her mother. So when the Fortune School offered her a full ride, she grabs it to leave Spring Creek. I was able to relate to her in many ways. Her character was something that was very likable.

    Cach made an exquisite combination of paranormal, historical and romance that will spin the smooth threads of Caitlyn's life - her past, her present and her future. Caitlyn's dreams allowed her to share her life with Raphael, a gorgeous artist who carried a burden. Every dream strengthened her desire to see Raphael for a longer time and to help him find a hidden treasure that dates back to the Crusades. She really felt that he was real. But that couldn't be because Raphael only lived in her dreams or didn't he?

    I found myself drawn to the mystery of Caitlyn's dreams, to the haunted history of the castle and to the abyss near the grounds of the Fortune School. The castle itself emanated so much mystery. I loved it! To add to that, the castle was said to be haunted by the Woman in Black, a girl looking for her lost beloved. And beyond the walls of the castle, lies the Abyss where Thierry, Brigette's brother, fell. The area was more or less filled with death, loss and bitterness - a perfect place for ghosts.

    Through dreams, I got to see the past of the castle. Raphael had lived there with Beneto, his mentor, Ursino, Giovanni and Philippe, a French spy. Raphael's life was in jeopardy. Someone wanted to kill him. But the castle has more complicated stories than that. Inside its walls were a treasure brought back from the time of the Crusades and a heart waiting to be found.

    Wake Unto Me is an unforgettable story with remarkable characters, following the rush of treasure-hunting and dream-travelling. Intricately woven with shocking and unpredictable secrets and revelations, this is one of the most compelling paranormal romances out there. The best ghost novel in YA is finally here! I recommend this to paranormal romance fans, maybe to historical - specifically the ones fond of the Crusades fictions, ghost story readers and everyone who wants an unpredictable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Mystery!

    SUMMARY: Caitlyn is not like other girls. She wakes every morning from vivid, horrifying nightmares, and is haunted by them throughout the day. None of her friends or family members understand what she's going through. The only person who would understand--her mother--is dead. When Caitlyn receives an invitation to attend a boarding school in France, she jumps at the chance, hoping things will be different. However, at the Chateau de la Fortune, Caitlyn's dreams become even more vivid, and she soon finds herself trying to unlock the secrets that her school houses.

    MY THOUGHTS: When I first read the back cover of Wake Unto Me, I had my doubts about the book. It seemed like an average paranormal romance. Well, I'm happy to say that Wake Unto Me was much, much more than I expected.

    Wake Unto Me has its (crazy adorable) moments of romance, but its main focus is on solving a mystery. The pieces of the puzzle were well researched and rounded; I found myself amazed at the solution to each clue. It was exciting to read about Caitlyn and Raphael's deductions, and the references to the Knights Templar made my history-loving heart sing.

    Caitlyn was a great protagonist; though I didn't enjoy the fact that she was always moping around after not being able to see Raphael, she was otherwise very solid. I liked that even though she was an outsider, she didn't have a jaded outlook on life; she was always thinking positively. Caitlyn's powers were really neat, too; I enjoyed her dreams and the eventual revelation as to what she truly was.

    Lisa Cach's writing in Wake Unto Me is gorgeous. Her writing style was very appropriate for the setting; the third-person narration is elegant and descriptive, and the addition of French and Italian words made the book feel exotic and all the more enticing.

    I would definitely recommend Wake Unto Me to anyone looking for an exciting mystery with a few added bonuses--a beautiful yet creepy foreign setting and a delicious romance. I, for one, enjoyed the book quite a bit, and the intriguing story will certainly be swirling around my brain for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A one of a kind reading experience

    "Some people say that love itself is the most powerful magic"

    I waited a while before writing this review because I was hoping the words would come to me. I could easily say that this book was amazing, or incredible but those seem so simple compared to what the book really was. This book was...Stunning. It soared way beyond the expectations I had for it. There are so many characteristics about this book that I loved.

    The Storyline: I obviously loved the book because of it's unique storyline, but Lisa Cach created something so much more than a simple story. She created such a beautiful world that it was nearly impossible to stop reading. You are whisped away back and forth between 16th century and 21st century France. The more Caitlyn learns and discovers of the castle and her surroundings, the more the book comes alive.

    Characters: It has been a long time since I came across such incredibly vivid characters in a book. Each character had something to offer to the story and the book itself. It would have been incomplete had just one character been missing. It is hard to believe that Caitlyn, Raphael and the Chateau de la Fortune are fictional. They were so vibrant and alive. I immediately fell in love with Caitlyn and Raphael, it is hard to put into words what kind of characters they are. They are truly special, and will stay with you long after you've finished reading the book.

    It's magical. The author created an enchanting, ghostly world, while taking you on a intense hunt for treasure. My mind was running wild trying to figure out the clues and mystery myself. Each time I would think I had figured it out, a twist came out of nowhere and took me in a completely different direction. The most magical aspect of this book though is the love story. It is one of the most romantic love story's I have come across in a long time. Falling in love with a man in your dreams? Sounds hard to pull off but the author did it flawlessly. Every flutter and heart ache Caitlyn felt, you could feel too. Like I said before, Raphael was unlike any character I have read, his words leaped off the pages. Caitlyn and Raphael's love was beautiful and tragic all at once.

    I could go on and on about this book but I won't. There is so much wonderful in Wake Unto Me that it should be discovered by you while reading it. This is a must, must read! I will definitely be re-reading it again in the future. Chateau de la Fortune is a place I want to revisit.

    What I liked: Hmm...Everything!
    What I disliked: That it ended. I can only hope that there will be another book, so I can read more about Caitlyn, Raphael and the Sisterhood of Fortuna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2