Customer Reviews for

Wake Up! You're Probably Never Going to Look Like That: How to be Happier, Healthier and Imperfectly Fit

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This will wake you up!!

Pearl comes clean with her own experiences. She helps you face the truth about what losing weight really means. She is daringly truthful, funny, and eloquent. Her credentials are unparalleled, but more importantly she brings great ideas and methodology to her work. Her ...
Pearl comes clean with her own experiences. She helps you face the truth about what losing weight really means. She is daringly truthful, funny, and eloquent. Her credentials are unparalleled, but more importantly she brings great ideas and methodology to her work. Her "ten Pearl principles" are concise, and they don't need to convince you...they will really work. Eating all the time, and sticking to staples that you repeat every day, does take the chance out of the choices we are faced with. Exercise is another critical factor in successfully becoming fit. She addresses it straight on and shows you ways to have fun with it. She gives you five reasons that you won't argue with! She cleverly fractures dieting myths through fairy tale stories that are memorable and stay with you. "America needs to experience a major paradigm shift now." Michelle Pearl couldn't speak more truth. The media hype and economic gain for companies to portray beauty as someone who is thin, or to portray perfection as one who is thin is blown by her mass media myths. Fast weight loss.probably not gonna happen. I liked her reality check. She reminds readers that pills and unbelievable claims. should be treated as just that.unbelievable! Get over it and get to work. Focus on the possible! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It gave me new creative ideas to help myself and my patients. Uplifting! I received a complimentary review copy.

posted by reader170 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not if you love real food...

I'm really into nutrition and exercise so I read as much as I can on the subject. This one, unfortunately, was not well-researched and is filled with more bitterness toward popular weight-loss programs than actual comprehensive nutrition advice. The preface is from on...
I'm really into nutrition and exercise so I read as much as I can on the subject. This one, unfortunately, was not well-researched and is filled with more bitterness toward popular weight-loss programs than actual comprehensive nutrition advice. The preface is from one isolated Biggest Loser contestant who has been openly bitter and angry toward the show, and I honestly have to side with the show's trainers and their belief that weighing 400 lbs is MUCH more dangerous than eating 1200 calories/day and exercising 4-6 hrs a day. Whether it is practical for most people is another matter, but saying it's misguided and dangerous is just not true.

My biggest problem came when the author began to recommend a wide variety of "fake" foods that contain chemical-based sugars and fat-free laboratory creations. If you have cravings for certain foods, you need to learn a healthy way to deal with that. Don't eat a pile of chemical garbage and fool yourself that it's healthy.

I give it two stars because the author does have a very nice conversational style and is very easy to read. She's an excellent writer. Clearly not a registered dietician, though.

Also, for e-readers, it seems to be in a constantly changing font. I tried changing it manually to everything available on my Nook Color, hoping it would stabilize to just one font, ANY font, but there's something in the format that keeps it changing. The differences aren't incredibly dramatic but it's still a little annoying. Publisher, please fix.

posted by jeanniepep on December 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    This will wake you up!!

    Pearl comes clean with her own experiences. She helps you face the truth about what losing weight really means. She is daringly truthful, funny, and eloquent. Her credentials are unparalleled, but more importantly she brings great ideas and methodology to her work. Her "ten Pearl principles" are concise, and they don't need to convince you...they will really work. Eating all the time, and sticking to staples that you repeat every day, does take the chance out of the choices we are faced with. Exercise is another critical factor in successfully becoming fit. She addresses it straight on and shows you ways to have fun with it. She gives you five reasons that you won't argue with! She cleverly fractures dieting myths through fairy tale stories that are memorable and stay with you. "America needs to experience a major paradigm shift now." Michelle Pearl couldn't speak more truth. The media hype and economic gain for companies to portray beauty as someone who is thin, or to portray perfection as one who is thin is blown by her mass media myths. Fast weight loss.probably not gonna happen. I liked her reality check. She reminds readers that pills and unbelievable claims. should be treated as just that.unbelievable! Get over it and get to work. Focus on the possible! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It gave me new creative ideas to help myself and my patients. Uplifting! I received a complimentary review copy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    learned alot

    very informative! makes one really examine what they are fueling with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Practical advice for most of us

    Pearl is like most people who struggle with weight issues, she has come to accept and deal with her issues. She found ways to cope with food and excercise. She advises that there is no 'quick fix' - it is a life long project; I think that most people need to figure this out AND figure out for ourselves what works for each of us as individuals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great book

    Got this book for free with my new Nook this x-mas. I really enjoyed reading it. Yes, some of the information is common sense, but there was plenty of stuff that I learned from her. I appreciated her sharing her personal experiences and struggles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Good information, easy read

    I enjoyed this book; however, felt the ending was bit rushed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great motivational book!

    While the messages may not be new, this book is a pleasure to read. There are some great (basic) tips, and the author's personal experiences make it an interesting read. Thanks for a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Encouraging

    This book is a great reminder of facts that you may have forgotten about and teach you some new things i found the book encouraging and supportive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Happily different from other diet books

    After reading this book, I am much more at peace with my middle age spread, and realize the goal of eating is to correctly fuel my body and not strictly for enjoyment. The goal is to be healthy not skinny, and any weight you take off is a big step in that direction. I loved Michelle's Pearls of Wisdom. I didn't care for her many tales of other people's lives-there were just too many. After reading two or three, it got tiresome and I skipped it. I also did not like that she recommended junk food snacks, although in limited portions, with the goal being a sustainable life change that doesn't rob you of your treats but is something you can maintain for the rest of your life. All in all, I'd say this is a must read for anyone who gets discouraged when they don't see immediate results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Quick read.. and some good tips

    I have been blinded by all the newer diets lately..low carb, food combining, counting points, etc. But this author discusses how low fat diets are more successful. This book rekindled my motivation for old-fashioned low fat healthy dieting. I think the tips in this book might help me. I started my diet yesterday and so far so good. Pretty good book for being free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Sensible diet and exercise advice

    How many of us join a gym in the hopes of acquiring six-pack abs and losing the cellulite? We see the ads that tell us in only 30 minutes a day, we can look just like the model pictured. But is it really possible for us to have a perfect body or are we fooling ourselves?

    Michelle Pearl provides a sensible look at exercise and weight loss in Wake Up! Subtitled "You're probably never going to look like that; How to be happier, healthier and imperfectly fit," this book is a realistic look at what we can achieve if we work out consistently.

    Pearl knows what it's like to be seriously obese, since she's battled her weight since childhood. But after gaining and losing the same pounds, she developed a method that worked for her in keeping them off. Not perfectly, of course, but good enough. And she provides her insights on how you can develop your own plan.

    If your goal in achieving fitness is the perfect body, don't bother reading this book. But if you really just want to be healthy, have more energy, and look good at a reasonable size for your height, Pearl's encouraging words may be just what you need. Use diet and exercise for the right reasons, and lose the image of perfection you've been chasing. You'll be much happier in the long run.

    Reviewer: Alice Berger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2