Customer Reviews for

Waking Hours (East Salem Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great, suspenseful book!

2:13 a.m. The haunting time Dani Harris continually wakes up. Absurd, seemingly meaningless nightmares scare her during the wee hours of the morning. Dreams of her late parents, a stone, and an oncoming apocalypse continually frighten her and cause her a lack of sleep. ...
2:13 a.m. The haunting time Dani Harris continually wakes up. Absurd, seemingly meaningless nightmares scare her during the wee hours of the morning. Dreams of her late parents, a stone, and an oncoming apocalypse continually frighten her and cause her a lack of sleep. Tommy Gunderson, a retired pro-football player, finds himself awoken one night by an eerie elderly woman, speaking in Latin and with an unnatural strength. When an unknown girl is found murdered and mercilessly harmed, both Tommy and Dani must find a reason behind the peculiar happenings, and they must find an answer before it is too late.
I found this book to be wonderful. It was one you can barely put down, and if forced to put down, you do so extremely grudgingly. I loved the character of Tommy Gunderson, who seems to be a cool Christian guy. If there were any criticisms, it would be the abrupt ending of the book; however, I absolutely cannot wait for Lis Wiehl's next novel, as I am left on an edge with this one! I would recommend this to anyone who watches murder mysteries, and enjoys suspense. I would not recommend it to anyone who does not handle violence well, due to the content. I sincerely hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did!
Richard
Thomas Nelson gave me this book free in exchange for this review.

posted by Libbi_Heart on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

Two negatives: First, the ending is very unsatisfactory; you are left hanging with a plethora of hinted at endings. Uncool. Second, the doctrine is not Biblically sound.

posted by 8676967 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Great, suspenseful book!

    2:13 a.m. The haunting time Dani Harris continually wakes up. Absurd, seemingly meaningless nightmares scare her during the wee hours of the morning. Dreams of her late parents, a stone, and an oncoming apocalypse continually frighten her and cause her a lack of sleep. Tommy Gunderson, a retired pro-football player, finds himself awoken one night by an eerie elderly woman, speaking in Latin and with an unnatural strength. When an unknown girl is found murdered and mercilessly harmed, both Tommy and Dani must find a reason behind the peculiar happenings, and they must find an answer before it is too late.
    I found this book to be wonderful. It was one you can barely put down, and if forced to put down, you do so extremely grudgingly. I loved the character of Tommy Gunderson, who seems to be a cool Christian guy. If there were any criticisms, it would be the abrupt ending of the book; however, I absolutely cannot wait for Lis Wiehl's next novel, as I am left on an edge with this one! I would recommend this to anyone who watches murder mysteries, and enjoys suspense. I would not recommend it to anyone who does not handle violence well, due to the content. I sincerely hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did!
    Richard
    Thomas Nelson gave me this book free in exchange for this review.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    chilling murder mystery

    "waking hours" is another one of lis wiehls murder mysterys. it will keep you on the edge of your seat. a young teen has been murdered in a very sleepy town under very sinister circumstances and the only witness is having strange nightmares. the arthur is a federal prosecuter so this makes for an intresting background for a very thrilling novel and one that is very hard to put down. great gift idea.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson

    Was the ritualistic murder of a lonely high school girl in New York's tony Westchester County the work of a sinister band of teens, a supernatural force of evil, or a collaboration of both? The only thing certain when Waking Hours opens is the identity of the victim and the fact that eerie, downright creepy events quickly and continuously unfold that may or may not be connected to her death.

    I had committed to provide a review of Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson's first novel in the East Salem series by today, October 3. Because I was out of town when my copy arrived from the publisher, I had very little time to read the book.

    NOT a problem. Waking Hours--a blend of suspense and supernatural stories, with a dash of romance--grabs the reader at once and doesn't let go until the very last word. Even then, it's quite clear more trouble-and adventure-is yet to come in future installments in the series. I say bring 'em on. Both main characters, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and former football star Tommy Gunderson, are witty, intelligent, and fallible enough to feel real. Wiehl and Nelson have done their homework, and the psychological, forensic, and geographic details create scenes both visual and intense.

    If you like to read before bedtime, you might want to keep a copy of People magazine or something similarly frivolous nearby to clear away the heebie jeebies before you turn out the lights. Recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Wonderful Book!!

    I have only recently begun reading some mysteries. I keep saying, "It'd not my genre." So I have to say that in my limited experience, this book is fantastic. I am an avid reader, though, so my favorable opinion of the writing, plot, and characterization is based on a great deal of experience. Beyond that, it is a book you will think about for a long time. It is different - with a slight paranormal twist just on the edges - just enough to keep you guessing. It is engaging and will keep you thinking about the story - probably for weeks after you have finished reading it. I highly recommend this book. I think you will enjoy it, learn from it, and as I said think about it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson

    Waking Hours is a paranormal thriller that takes place in Westchester County, New York, where a high school girl is found gruesomely murdered in a park after attending a party. The only suspects are all teenagers that were at the party with the girl, yet none of them remembers what happened. Everyone in town is scared and looking towards forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and her team of investigators for answers and the crime to be solved. Classmate from high school and Former NFL linebacker Tommy Gunderson joins Dani in an attempt to help solve the murder, in which they think there's more to the mystery than murder, more to their growing friendship than chance and more to the evil they're facing than a mere human killer.

    This is book #1 of the East Salem Trilogy. The author, Lis Wiehl, a legal analyst for Fox News has teamed up with Pete Nelson, author of Left to Die, to bring readers this gripping story.

    Being a huge fan of mystery, suspense and thrillers, I was excited when I got the opportunity to read a complimentary copy of this book, courtesy of BookSneeze.
    Waking hours combines elements of suspense, romance and mystery. The book dives right in with suspense filled chills. There were several pages that had me getting goosebumps. It's a real page turner. I didn't want to put the book down until I found out what happened next and when the next thing did happen, I just had to keep reading to see what else might happen.
    The scenes and characters are brought to life by the author's great descriptions. The story flows beautifully with great character interactions and dialogue.
    I am on the edge of my seat waiting for the East Salem series to continue! I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery that weaves elements of the supernatural throughout it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    MUST CHECK THIS AMAZING BOOK OUT!

    I have never heard of Lis Weil until I saw people talking about part one of her East Salem trilogy Waking Hours. I hadn't read a single bad remark and I was told that booksneeze was allowing people to read the kindle version so I had to get it and I don't regret it.
    Many people will find it creepy from the beginning as an elderly women attacks Tommy with superhuman strength as she is rambling off Latin and during that time, he finds out a short time later, a murder was committed. This was only the beginning as he dives strait into a battle of good versus evil in a very intriguing way. Luckily, he didn't face it alone as God provided Dani, a girl he went to school with, who was trying to solve this mystery so they built an alliance.
    This book has everything from mystery, suspense, supernatural elements as the war between God and Satan rage on, dragging these souls into it, romance and even humor with such grotesque circumstances. The story was played out in a page turning fashion and one cannot put it down once they begin. The elements she through in also teaches you aspects and lessons that we need in everyday life and that is the most important thing I like to see in a book so this aspect was fulfilled making it a book I have to recommend to others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Page Turner

    This is Book 1 of The East Salem Trilogy, highly recommended to me by a friend who had read this author's work before.

    I was hooked from page one. Love the plot. It's cleverly woven to keep the readers asking "What's next?". It's not only a suspense and thriller type of book but the hint of romance in it makes the book more attractive; at least it was for me. Some may not like it.

    Love the way the author throw in some unexpected twist in it.
    Another good thing about this book is that it's clean. No four letters words like some others nor violent sex scene. Just a hint of blossoming romance.

    The downside of this book that at certain place, I find it a tad long winded. Maybe more editing needed?

    Overall, this has been an enjoyable book and I look forward to the next two books. Hope they will be available soon.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Lis Wiehl opens her East Salem trilogy with a terrific tale!

    A gruesome murder has rocked the affluent, quiet little New York town of East Salem. A teenage girl is killed, apparently in a violent and bizarre ritual during a party. The only suspect is another teen-but the more prosecutors dig into the case, the more confusing it becomes. Forensic psychologist Danielle Harris is assisting the DA's office in solving the crime-when she gets an offer of assistance from the last person she'd expect.
    The author, Lis Wiehl, is a legal analyst for Fox News. She teamed up for this book, the first in her East Salem series, with Pete Nelson, author of Left to Die. It's a winning combination. The writing, plot and characters all deliver in this story of a small town and a big murder.
    The plot is full of twists and turns, with a few red herrings thrown in just to confuse you. The large cast of characters in this story keep you on your toes. The simmering romance between Dani and former football star Tommy Gunderson makes things interesting. As in her previous novel, heart of ice, Wiehl depicts psychopathic characters with stunning accuracy.
    Satisfyingly creepy without being over the top, the book explores the struggle between good and evil-not just in the physical realm, but in the supernatural as well. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book

    I definately recommend this book. It kept me wondering what would happen next. Im hoping though that there will be a sequal because the author kind of leaves you hanging a lil bit at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Don't Bother

    Two negatives: First, the ending is very unsatisfactory; you are left hanging with a plethora of hinted at endings. Uncool. Second, the doctrine is not Biblically sound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Pretty good

    I always liked supernatural fiction and this one is pretty scary. The 1st book in a series about the supernatural im looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    This book drove me crazy. I was so creeped out that I kept wanting to stop reading, but I couldn't stop because I had to know what happened. Waking Hours was published by a Christian publisher, but don't make the mistake of thinking that means it's not a book that will keep you up at night. It just means there is no cussing or sex in the book. Trust me, you won't miss it.

    Tommy Gunderson is the town hero: former high school football star, former NFL player. He's also a Christian, which makes for some very interesting conversations with Dani Harris, who is a scientist through and through, and doesn't believe in anything she can't see and touch. There is no preaching going on here, though. I can't say that the Christian part is downplayed because the mystery Dani and Tommy are unravelling seems to literally be a battle between good and evil, God and Satan.

    Aside from the crime-solving, watching Tommy and Dani get to know each other is sweet and funny. There is a lot of humor in this book, despite the subject matter. Tommy, in particular, has a corny sense of humor. I could give a dozen examples, but my favorite line is,

    At the double door to the east wing, a workman on a stepladder was mounting a bracket to the moulding. "I have one just like that. I love my stepladder," Tommy told Dani. "But it makes me sad to think I never knew my real ladder."

    This book has it all: mystery, humor, a battle between good and evil, a little hint of romance. Waking Hours is the first in the The East Salem Trilogy, and I'll be waiting for the next installment.

    About the book
    Title: The Waking Hours (The East Salem Trilogy)
    Author: Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Release date: October 4, 2011
    Pages: 336
    Where I got the book: I got this book for free from the publisher as part of the BookSneeze review program. All opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl

    Good evening, people! I've received a new book recently, and now I have to tell you all how great it was. Before I get started, however, I need to let you all know that I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson publishing program in exchange for an honest review. Everything I say in the review is completely and truthfully my own opinion. So, anyway, I've just gotten the book "Waking Hours" by Lis Wiehl. I've read her work before, and this is different than the other books of hers that I have read. But it's still fantastic. Set in East Salem, you immediately get a sense of mystery and intrigue. This is, after all, where the Salem Witch Trials took place. (Or is it? I'm terrible with geography :)) Lis Wiehl blends mystery, suspense, and the supernatural with as much grace and ease as someone along the lines of Ted Dekker. And I'm a super huge addicted Ted Dekker fan. This would actually be a good book for a reading group- I know that after I finished I could barely stop talking about it! If this is the case, the book has a handy reading guide in back. I loved this book and look forward to more work from the author. Four out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!! Highly Recommend

    just finished an awesome book! Waking Hours, written by New York Times Best Selling Author Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson. I received this book as an early release from booksneeze... and although I finished it 3 days ago I had to wait to tell you have much I enjoyed this book!

    Waking Hours is the first book in the East Salem trilogy. Thank goodness there will be more from where this came from! This book is different then any fiction that I have ever read. I love Christian Fiction... and I love your "feel good" stories... I don't mind suspense, a little drama, humor, and a little romance. This story brings in all that and throws in some supernatural as well. I couldn't put this book down! When I wasn't reading it, I would catch myself thinking about what was going to happen next. Lis Wiehl did a great job developing the characters and bringing them to life. This story transitions well, going from character to character keeping you interested. One of my favorite things about this book is the banter and humor between the two lead characters, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and former NFL linebacker Tommy Gunderson... I could see a movie made from this book. The only down side, this book leaves you hanging... and I don't know when the next in the series comes out! I absolutely would recommend this book to friends/ anyone... I already have!

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book!

    'Waking Hours' is the first book that I have read by Lis Wiehl. I remember years ago seeing one of her other books at the library, but at the time I had too many other books that had captured my interest - so I didn't check it out. Now after reading this book, I am hoping to find time to read them soon! 'Waking Hours' had my heart pounding, mind racing, and was so thrilling to read that it kept me at the edge of my seat for most of the book and kept me up reading into the wee hours of the morning. I didn't want this book to end and at the same time I was racing to finish it because I had to know what was going on. 'Waking Hours' ends in such a way that, while I know most of what happened, there is still so much left to know. I can't wait to read the next book in this series! There are supernatural ascepts in this book, so if that is something that you don't like in a novel you probably won't enjoy 'Waking Hours'. However, the supernatural elements aren't like vampires, werewolves or anything like that, but more like angels and demons, good vs. evil, God vs. Satan. 'Waking Hours' is a great reminder of the battle that is constantly being waged and why we should be aware of it. Though we know that through Jesus we have victory over the devil, we still have to be prepared to battle him and his minions. Just because we can't see angels and demons, doesn't mean that they aren't around us - though I know that I have a hard time actually believing that. Dr. Danielle Harris (Dani) is a twenty-nine year old forensic psychiatrist, who works for the DA's office. Dani lives in East Salem, in her parent's house - the house that she grew up in and inherited after their deaths years ago. With this recent murder in East Salem, NY she runs into a man she hasn't seen since high school - Tommy Gunderson. Tommy Gunderson used to play in the NFL as a linebacker, but after a tragic accident he left the game. He currently owns a 90,000 square foot state-of-the-art fitness center and is pursuing becoming a Private Investigator. Tommy has a very personal connection to this case, because it involves a student he trains, Liam Dorsett. When they meet again after so many years, they both have the same feeling that they had in high school. And as in high school they both keep that feeling to themselves, afraid that the other person might not feel the same way. But with an evil presence hanging around, Dani and Tommy are developing a deep relationship - deeper than either of them expected. I look forward to reading more about Dani and Tommy's growing romance in the next book in this series. I also have a feeling that Dani's parents won't be dead after all, because their bodies were never recovered. But maybe that's just wishful thinking on my part, because I can't imagine having to lose my parents like that. I highly recommend 'Waking Hours', especially to those who love reading suspenseful mysteries. *** I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through their blogger program, Booksneeze. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done. I received no other compensation, besides the book. ***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Waking Hours was an incredible read! The book swept me into the

    Waking Hours was an incredible read! The book swept me into the story from page one and I could not put it down. I am ready to barrel through the rest of the trilogy and am counting down the days to the final book. Ms. Wiehl uses such fantastic writing to make the reader feel like they're witnessing the story. It was so good at times I felt like I was watching a movie. The suspense was intense and the story had my hands sweating and my heart pounding. Definitely on my top 10 list of best books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great reading!

    I really enjoyed this story, I was intrigued by the spiritual world interwoven with a murder mystery theme. I thought it was fantastic! I can't say enough about being able to read a book like this, and love it and not feel like I was having religion shoved in my face or being preached to!! The entire book was well written, suspensful and kept me turning those pages! Great job! I now have a new fantastic author to add to my library, I have purchased several of Lis Wiehl's other books, can't wait to start reading them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Dmi1988

    One of the best supernatural reads. Good and intense. Had to keep reading. Couldnt wait to find out who did it. Lis Wiehl can keep these coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have had Lis Wiehl's first book, Face of Betrayal on my radar

    I have had Lis Wiehl's first book, Face of Betrayal on my radar since it was originally published. Unfortunately, I was never able to get it read, but recently was offered the opportunity to read the second book in the author's East Salem Trilogy, Darkness Rising as an ARC. Of course, that lead me to read Waking Hours first, and I am so glad that I did. In this first book of the trilogy, a girl is murdered in upscale West Chester County, New York after attending a party at one of the student's house. From there, the story becomes a mystery/thriller of the best kind. Along with the two main protagonists, who eventually band together to try to solve the murder, there is a whole host of interesting characters to capture the mind of the reader. Even better, as the story progresses, we find that many of them are not as they appear on the surface. I loved this aspect of the book and it definitely enhanced the mystery/thriller aspect of the book.

    My favorite part about this book, aside from the fact that it was a first rate thriller with lots of turns and twists, was the interplay between the two main protagonists. I don't mean the underlying romantic attachment that they seem to have, although that is a well done aspect in itself. Dani Harris is a forensic psychiatrist that looks at everything with a cool, clinical eye. Ex NFL Linebacker Tommy Gunderson, however, sees life in a less "rational" way, where the logical and real are mixed with things that science cannot quite explain. It is in the contrasting of these two styles of looking at the crime that I feel is the author's best contribution to this story.

    As for the plot of the book, here again, Lis Wiehl scores. The plot is deftly woven and well paced. In addition there are twists and turns, some of which I saw coming, some of which hit me out of the blue. There were even a few "red herrings" to lead the reader temporarily down a path leading away from the truth. Another plus is the way the author was able to end the book, solving the murder, but making it apparent that the story was not over and leaving the reading definitely wanting more. I could not wait for the next installment and was glad that it was sitting on my Nook, ready to read.

    All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my first book by this author and am looking forward to adding her other work to the top of my reading list for 2013. I gave this book 5 stars based on my feelings that the characters and story were first rate, and on the level of enjoyment I had in both reading it, and trying to guess what the end result would be. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is an fan of mystery/thrillers and feel that Lis Wiehl can hold her own with the top writers in this genre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Df Fair read

    Not the best mystery writer but fair

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8