Customer Reviews for

Waking Hours (East Salem Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great, suspenseful book!

2:13 a.m. The haunting time Dani Harris continually wakes up. Absurd, seemingly meaningless nightmares scare her during the wee hours of the morning. Dreams of her late parents, a stone, and an oncoming apocalypse continually frighten her and cause her a lack of sleep. ...
2:13 a.m. The haunting time Dani Harris continually wakes up. Absurd, seemingly meaningless nightmares scare her during the wee hours of the morning. Dreams of her late parents, a stone, and an oncoming apocalypse continually frighten her and cause her a lack of sleep. Tommy Gunderson, a retired pro-football player, finds himself awoken one night by an eerie elderly woman, speaking in Latin and with an unnatural strength. When an unknown girl is found murdered and mercilessly harmed, both Tommy and Dani must find a reason behind the peculiar happenings, and they must find an answer before it is too late.
I found this book to be wonderful. It was one you can barely put down, and if forced to put down, you do so extremely grudgingly. I loved the character of Tommy Gunderson, who seems to be a cool Christian guy. If there were any criticisms, it would be the abrupt ending of the book; however, I absolutely cannot wait for Lis Wiehl's next novel, as I am left on an edge with this one! I would recommend this to anyone who watches murder mysteries, and enjoys suspense. I would not recommend it to anyone who does not handle violence well, due to the content. I sincerely hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did!
Richard
Thomas Nelson gave me this book free in exchange for this review.

posted by Libbi_Heart on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

Two negatives: First, the ending is very unsatisfactory; you are left hanging with a plethora of hinted at endings. Uncool. Second, the doctrine is not Biblically sound.

posted by 8676967 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Df Fair read

    Not the best mystery writer but fair

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!

    A great author and a wonderful book!! Definitely recommend highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    I'm not sure if I like 'Waking Hours' byLisa Wiehl.The story was

    I'm not sure if I like 'Waking Hours' byLisa Wiehl.The story was fast and interesting in the beginning, but the pace was rather slow in the middle and I started to loose interest in the book after that. I was hoping for more from this book, so honestly, I was quite disappointed in how this book turned out.

    But that's probably just me. Don't let me stop reading this book. Perhaps this book is not for me, but you'd find it enjoyable to read.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It begins with an old woman chanting in Latin and hosting unnatu

    It begins with an old woman chanting in Latin and hosting unnatural strength. But things get more serious when a teenage girl is found brutally murdered. When all of the witnesses seemingly display amnesia, this is a tough case to crack. Old friends, Tommy Gunderson, former NFL player, and Dani Harris, forensic psychiatrist, must work together to solve this unusual case. But they can't help but wonder is this case might involve more than just humans.

    Waking Hours took a little while for me to get truly into the story, but once I did, the novel was very suspenseful. My biggest complaint with this book was the characters. I didn't really connect with them like I do with characters from many other books. I also found the characters reactions and interactions quite predictable. However, even though I consider this to be a major flaw, I still loved the story line itself. It was the sheer force of suspense, intrigue, and mysterious supernatural happenings that made me enjoy this book.

    This book did feature something that most crime novels are seriously lacking in: forensics. Amen! When reading some suspense novels you just have to ask (mentally), what about a fingerprint? Can't you test the blood to see whose it is? Footprints? Clothing? Well, this book meets the questions of the average cop-show-watcher. Another element of this novel that I enjoyed was the subtle but lingering supernatural eeriness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    rrecommend

    enjoyed this very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Not as Good as Id Hoped

    This book was ok, I felt like there were some areas that dragged on. The plot easnt your everyday storyline so thhat held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    bad ending

    Was loving it until the unsatisfying ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson

    This book has all the makings of a great murder, mystery/thriller. It starts with a gruesome apparently ritualistic murder and then weaves in the supernatural elements so that they don't overpower but rather complement the story.

    I loved the plot and the main characters although I do feel that there was a little something lacking in the development of those characters.or perhaps it was simply the matter of fact style of the storytelling itself. If you are looking for rich language and a lot of emotional depth.this book does not deliver.

    That said, I did find the story line very compelling and found the novel itself hard to put down. I even found myself having crazy dreams at night right along with the main character: Dani. The murder mystery was nicely wrapped up by the end.however the supernatural elements were still left unsolved.leading in to the second in the series..

    If you're looking for a simple Murder mystery read with supernatural elements thrown in and don't mind waiting for the next in the series to have those answered.then this book won't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Good read

    Waking Hours
    By: Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson

    If you are in the market for a book of murder, mystery, and suspense, Waking Hours might just be the book you are looking for. The action starts with a ritualistic like murder of a teenage girl. Evidence places a group of high school students at the scene, but none of the teens remember anything. How did their friend end up murdered? Did they actually do it? Throw in a few subtle hints into the demonic / angelic realm to make the mystery a bit more intense and you have Waking Hours.

    The forensic team must uncover the details and find the murderer. Dani Harris, the forensic psychiatrist, works together with Tommy Gunderson, a former football pro turned Private Investigator, to unravel the case. Dani and Tommy, must work through personal conflicts that seems to fit with the murder to be solved making what is murder related and personal intertwined.

    I enjoyed this book. However, I found that reading it at bed time was not the best idea, as I found myself having odd dreams right along with Dani. I also was not thrilled with the ending. The book ended with a cliff hanger, which wasn't bad, but I would have preferred that it have a more cut and dry ending rather than a, to be continued end. Will I read the next book, I may just need to!

    I received a reviewer copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2