Customer Reviews for

Waking Up With the Duke

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I love Victorian Romance. This book is one of my favourites. It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

Unlikeable characters and far fetched plot. Not anywhere near the quality I have come to expect from this author .

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I love Victorian Romance. This book is one of my favourites. It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Supprising!

    I have been reluctant to purchase this book and have been passing it by for awhile now. I finally gave into the urge as I love LH's books and I am so glad that I did. I was reluctant as the plot of the book did not appeal to me morally and was unsure that the author could make this book appeal to me in the romantic sense. I am so glad I gave it a chance it has turned into one of the best books that I have read in some time. It had emotional depth that I was not expecting. The passion, angst and emotional turmoil of the plot keeps you on your toes. You identify with the heroine Jayne and the leading male Ainsley as they are both conflicted with the position that they in. Will not give away the plot or ending but will say that it did not disappoint. Do yourself a favor, if you are browsing and shopping through your nook and searching for a really good romance try this one. It is one of my favorites right up there with Lisa Kleypas' Devil in Winter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    readers will appreciate this profound Victorian romance

    In 1860 in Leicestershire, the Marquess of Walfort tells his friend the Duke of Ainsley he owes him. A few years ago when hey were in their twenties, the two cousins got drunk celebrating the pregnancy of Walfort's wife Jayne. Driving the carriage under the influence led to an accident that left Walfort a paraplegic unable to move his legs and as he informs Ainsley his penis. He demands Ainsley seduce Jayne and make her pregnant with his heir. Filled with guilt for destroying four lives, he acquiesces.

    Jayne loathes the man she holds culpable for her husband's paralysis and the loss of her baby. However, she reluctantly agrees to spend a month with Ainsley, but under her rules. As passion ignites between them and Jayne sees a caring remorseful Duke, they begin to fall in love. However, neither wants to hurt Walfort and learn of Cousin Ralph's threats.

    Although somewhat linear as the story line goes as expected, readers will appreciate this profound Victorian romance that digs deeply into extended family dynamics and the moving relationship between Lord and Lady Walfort. Character driven by the complexities of the one size fits all rules of the Ton on the triangle; readers will relish the tale of the third of London's Greatest Lovers (see Passions of a Wicked Earl and Pleasures of a Notorious Gentleman).

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I almost didn'

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I almost didn't read it - because of the book's "silly" title; however, I'm so GLAD I did. This book made me CRY - if you read it have kleenex handy! Did not know this was the last book in a series of three - I'm catching up now!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Not worth it

    Unlikeable characters and far fetched plot. Not anywhere near the quality I have come to expect from this author .

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    One of the best historical romance novels I have read. This boo

    One of the best historical romance novels I have read. This book made me very emotional - happy and sad. Love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Excellent Victorian Romance

    Read this one of the trilogy last. Going to read others now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Loved this book!!!!

    There was drama,angst,longing......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I've been searching for some good books from authors I've never read before. I decided on this one and was very pleased with the book. I couldn't put it down - the storyline was great! I will be purchasing more of this author's books in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    LOVVVVVE THIS BOOOK

    :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Super Hot!

    Great angst and romance. Loved it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very engaging!

    I liked the book alot! I was interested with the plot setup I wanted to see how they were gonna get the lovers to be together. I kinda liked and disliked how they made that solution but I was really into the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Light and easy read

    This story was good but predictable. A light and easy read, perfect for summer or decompressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Not your normal regency romance

    Ok so this story starts out a little out of the norm. I have read very little stories where one of main couple is married to another character. This story pulled me in because as the characters come to love one another you realize how can it be? How can the happily ever after happen? Lorraine Heath does a great job of taking you through the relationship not only with the main characters, but with the supporting ones as well. You also get to see characters from the previous books. It took me on an emotional roller coaster from beginning to end. It will not disappoint at least it didn't disappoint me. I felt the characters stayed very solid all the way through even as they came to realize the situation around them was not as it seemed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Due to an accident that left Walfort paralyzed, Ainsley had blam

    Due to an accident that left Walfort paralyzed, Ainsley had blamed himself for his cousin's condition.  Wanting to appease his guilty conscience, he agrees to Walfort's mad scheme:  that he father Jayne's child which Walfort will claim as his own.  That is, if Jayne agrees.




    For three years, Jayne has blamed Ainsley for her husband's accident and resulting condition and has been harboring hatred toward him.  Backed in a corner, she reluctantly agrees to Wafort's plan and spends one month with Ainsley.  Little does she know that Ainsley had been harboring secret feelings (that he hasn't acted upon) toward Jayne and that she would fall deeply in love with him.




    Conflict comes when Jayne, already a few months pregnant with Ainsley's child, sends for him because Walfort is dying.  Truths and secrets and betrayals are revealed and Jayne is left emotionally scarred.




    What I love most about this story is that it felt believable.  I love the slow development of Jayne and Ainsley's love and that both of them really struggled with their feelings and their loyalty to Walfort.  Although Walfort was written as an unfeeling, unfaithful cad, he was still someone that I felt sorry for - a little bit, mind you.  He did redeem himself a little in the end but still, what he did to Jayne was immature on his part.




    All the characters were very well fleshed out and I felt as if I knew them, that I could relate with them.




    Will I be re-reading this book again?  Definitely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    wonderful story

    Should be 5+ absolutely worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    HALEY

    RUDE YOU BETTER NOT KILL ME!!!!!!""

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Exceptional and emotional!

    Exceptional and emotional!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved it!!

    Great charaters, entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read This One!!!!

    I must admit I've never read a bad book written by Lorraine Heath. This story definitely deserves 5 stars. Curl up with this book and enjoy yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10