Customer Reviews for

Waking Up in Heaven: A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

"My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to h

"My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to heaven.

"How is that for an icebreaker?

"I am sharing that story with you, in this book. I knew God's plan for me was to share what happened with as many people as I could. Now, are there people...
"My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to heaven.

"How is that for an icebreaker?

"I am sharing that story with you, in this book. I knew God's plan for me was to share what happened with as many people as I could. Now, are there people out there who will think I'm a fraud, or a religious nut, or crazy? I'm sure there are. The truth is, I know my story is hard for some people to believe. I know what I went through is beyond the realm of what we can experience on Earth. But I also know that this book deals with the biggest and most important question of them all: Does God exist? Is there a heaven? What is God's plan for us? Why are we even here?

"I certainly don't pretend to have all the answers. In fact, I still have plenty of questions. Nor am I claiming to be anyone special. But what happened to me did happen, and now I know - after a lifetime of not knowing - that God does exist. He gloriously, beautifully, wonderfully does exist.

"And since God told me to share my whole story, that is what I'm doing - even though much of my story is painful and not always pretty. You will learn as you get deeper into this book that for most of my life I lived with terrible shame and horrible secrets. For the longest time I hated myself and believed I was worthless, and as a result made so many bad choices.

"But it's important to realize who I was in order to understand who I became. Some of what I describe about my time in heaven may be familiar to you from other accounts of people dying and coming back - the quality of the light, the shimmering entranceway, the presence of angels - but some of it probably isn't. Everything I describe is absolutely, 100 percent how I remember it - that has always been my one and only rule for sharing my testimony. Nothing is embellished or exaggerated even the tiniest bit. What I describe is what I experienced, nothing more or less.

"What I can say is that the things God showed me were simply astonishing in their power and impact, and now the reality of God's presence bursts forth from my heart every day. The truth is, I was more alive in those nine minutes than I have ever been in all my years on this Earth. I can only hope that through my descriptions, however inadequate they may be, you will feel even a fraction of the power and the impact and the absolute glory of what I experienced." (pg 4-5).

In the book, Waking Up In Heaven, author Crystal McVea shares her experience not only of her incredible nine minutes in heaven standing alongside God, but also the testimony of her entire life before and after that moment. It is painful to know and read how her childhood was and how often times, these things go on right next door and we never know it's going on. The people we may interact with may have stories similar to Crystals but we can never know unless we are willing to get to know them more and have them peel back the layers of shame and pain to reveal the person they really are on the inside. The book toggles back and forth between the moments of Crystal's experience in Heaven with chronologically walking with her from her childhood to the present through the chapters.

I received Waking Up In Heaven by Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publisher for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I was excited to read this book because it's not just another book about a person's experience of dealing with a life after death encounter, but also incorporates a memoir of Crystal's life. It's not always easy to hear stories that aren't the happily ever after fairy tales, but then again, most our us have stories in our own closets we aren't willing to let anyone see. I applaud Crystal for taking the step to share her life story as well as her after life story with readers. The time she shares of her heavenly experience is one I have always imagined it would be. Difficult to capture in words that pale in their description in human terms and one is which I look forward to sharing in one day. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who questions if God exists and what Heaven will be like!

posted by Heart2Heart on April 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed

I want my $ back! Mostly just her very long drawn out life story (boring--sorry, i really don't mean to insult anyone) with very brief interludes of what she saw when she 'may have' been dead for 9 minutes. I was looking for a little comfort and enlightenment instead i...
I want my $ back! Mostly just her very long drawn out life story (boring--sorry, i really don't mean to insult anyone) with very brief interludes of what she saw when she 'may have' been dead for 9 minutes. I was looking for a little comfort and enlightenment instead i just got the usual two tall angels God is love tunnel of light and a bunch of quotes from the bible. I really don't want to bad mouth this book, but, as it was kinda on the expensive side, i just can't help but to wonder if i just got swindled. So sad, especially when done in the name of the Lord.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to h

    "My name is Crystal McVea, and in 2009 I died and went to heaven.

    "How is that for an icebreaker?

    "I am sharing that story with you, in this book. I knew God's plan for me was to share what happened with as many people as I could. Now, are there people out there who will think I'm a fraud, or a religious nut, or crazy? I'm sure there are. The truth is, I know my story is hard for some people to believe. I know what I went through is beyond the realm of what we can experience on Earth. But I also know that this book deals with the biggest and most important question of them all: Does God exist? Is there a heaven? What is God's plan for us? Why are we even here?

    "I certainly don't pretend to have all the answers. In fact, I still have plenty of questions. Nor am I claiming to be anyone special. But what happened to me did happen, and now I know - after a lifetime of not knowing - that God does exist. He gloriously, beautifully, wonderfully does exist.

    "And since God told me to share my whole story, that is what I'm doing - even though much of my story is painful and not always pretty. You will learn as you get deeper into this book that for most of my life I lived with terrible shame and horrible secrets. For the longest time I hated myself and believed I was worthless, and as a result made so many bad choices.

    "But it's important to realize who I was in order to understand who I became. Some of what I describe about my time in heaven may be familiar to you from other accounts of people dying and coming back - the quality of the light, the shimmering entranceway, the presence of angels - but some of it probably isn't. Everything I describe is absolutely, 100 percent how I remember it - that has always been my one and only rule for sharing my testimony. Nothing is embellished or exaggerated even the tiniest bit. What I describe is what I experienced, nothing more or less.

    "What I can say is that the things God showed me were simply astonishing in their power and impact, and now the reality of God's presence bursts forth from my heart every day. The truth is, I was more alive in those nine minutes than I have ever been in all my years on this Earth. I can only hope that through my descriptions, however inadequate they may be, you will feel even a fraction of the power and the impact and the absolute glory of what I experienced." (pg 4-5).

    In the book, Waking Up In Heaven, author Crystal McVea shares her experience not only of her incredible nine minutes in heaven standing alongside God, but also the testimony of her entire life before and after that moment. It is painful to know and read how her childhood was and how often times, these things go on right next door and we never know it's going on. The people we may interact with may have stories similar to Crystals but we can never know unless we are willing to get to know them more and have them peel back the layers of shame and pain to reveal the person they really are on the inside. The book toggles back and forth between the moments of Crystal's experience in Heaven with chronologically walking with her from her childhood to the present through the chapters.

    I received Waking Up In Heaven by Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publisher for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I was excited to read this book because it's not just another book about a person's experience of dealing with a life after death encounter, but also incorporates a memoir of Crystal's life. It's not always easy to hear stories that aren't the happily ever after fairy tales, but then again, most our us have stories in our own closets we aren't willing to let anyone see. I applaud Crystal for taking the step to share her life story as well as her after life story with readers. The time she shares of her heavenly experience is one I have always imagined it would be. Difficult to capture in words that pale in their description in human terms and one is which I look forward to sharing in one day. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone who questions if God exists and what Heaven will be like!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    God meant for me to read this

    I can only imagine the glorious presence of God and the indescribable feeling of love, acceptance, and cleansing Crystal felt upon being in His presence. Thank you for sharing your story and journey with the world. It was the most powerful book I've ever read. I think I went through an entire box of tissues! Crystal, thank you for helping me to feel God's love more than ever before.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski in their new book "Wakin

    Crystal McVea and Alex Tresniowski in their new book "Waking Up In Heaven" published by Howard Books gives us A True Story of Brokenness, Heaven, and Life Again.

    From the back cover: Tell them what you can remember.

    On December 10, 2009, Crystal McVea, a thirty-two-year-old mother of four, stopped breathing. Her face turned a dark shade of blue, then black. Her mother screamed for help, and a nurse tried to revive her . . . to no avail. Today, Crystal does not remember what happened in that hospital room during the nine minutes she was unconscious and unable to breathe on her own. She has no memory of the panic and the rushing nurses and the loud cries of "Code Blue." She simply remembers drifting off.

    And she remembers waking up in heaven.

    For most of Crystal's broken life, she felt utterly beyond the reach of God-- if God was even real. Then came December 10--and the nine minutes that changed everything. Waking Up in Heaven invites readers along on a journey to witness the relentless pursuit of God in a life that was shattered and seemingly beyond hope, an awe-inspiring account of love, forgiveness, and redemption, and the healing power of God's presence.

    And that is why I want to share my story with the world. Because I was a skeptic and a sinner, and I didn't believe in God or in heaven. But God is real. Heaven is real. And God's love for us is the realest thing of all.

    If you have any doubts that Heaven is a real place then you must read "Waking Up In Heaven". If you believe, like many individuals seem to that there is no after-life and certainly no Heaven, and by extension, no Hell, then you must read "Waking Up In Heaven". Crystal McVea was there! She died. She was gone for nine minutes before coming back to tell us her story. Ms. McVea does more than just tell us of what happened in Heaven she tells us of her life story with all the good and bad. Why is that important? I feel it is important because it makes her real with experiences that all of us can relate to in some fashion. This is not some college lecture that will make your eyes glassy. "Waking Up In Heaven" will keep you interested and flipping pages until the very end. Thank you Ms. McVea for giving us this wonderful story.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Life-changing!

    Reading this book was life-changing for me! I had read many other books about people dying and going to heaven and returning to tell about it, but this book made it so very real to me. Crystal doubted over and over again and God proved that He was real over and over again and then God made her die and go to heaven to meet Him to prove how real He really is. How amazing is that???!!! My husband who never reads anything even picked up my Nook and started reading this beautiful story. Thank you for showing me again that our God IS an awesome God!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    This read was exceptional and helps to make more concrete the pr

    This read was exceptional and helps to make more concrete the promise that God is with all of us ALL THE TIME! I feel that anyone who questions the hereafter only need read this account of spending 9 minutes in heaven to begin to understand that God is with us and died to save us from sin.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend!

    Incredible journey. We all have sinned and fallen short. This is a true account of the glory of God!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    "waking up in heaven" is a very inspirational book. cr

    "waking up in heaven" is a very inspirational book. crystal mcvea had a very tough life and was facing some harsh surgery and did not wake up from the operation and went to heaven and saw God and got her tough issues taken away from her and was given the choice of staying or going back in the book she tells how beautiful iit was for her and how her problems were released for her. this book is a real blessing and would make a great gift for someone special. also recamended the heaven awnser book by billy graham,the reason for my hope salvation by billy graham, heaven by anne graham lotz

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Amazing

    Great for doubters and believers

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Thank you

    Iam truely thankful that this book was put in my path. I can relate in different ways and she has shown me that Gods love is never gone from us no matter what darkness is apon our lives. Crystal McVea's story has truely inspired me to become closer to God and become a better person

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Believe

    Thank you for writing this book. I pray God will continue to bless you and your family as you bless others. I could not put this book down. I could feel God when I was reading it. To God be the glory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome

    Its
    Was beautiful

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    A must read!

    So glad she shared her story. God is so good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    God IS real, and Satan knows that his time is almost up, so he p

    God IS real, and Satan knows that his time is almost up, so he plants doubt into people's hearts and tries to turn them against God. The reality of the situation is that, if people die without knowing Jesus as their personal Savior, then they will be facing an eternity in hell. God does not send people to hell; hell was created by God for Satan and his demons, not for mankind. People send themselves to hell by rejecting Jesus and His offer of Salvation. What a wonderfully amazing book that this is, and I am so thankful and grateful for the message that this dear lady is bringing to the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Fantastic book! I found her story very believable and inspiring!

    Fantastic book! I found her story very believable and inspiring! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Very Good Read-Recommended

    This book has you on the edge of your seat. You won't want to put it down. Very honest about a very troubled life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Life Changing

    I now understand amazing grace. Crystal shares her life and faith struggles. Through her experience in death, we learn how God really sees us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great book!

    It took alot of courage to share her story. Very inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Effortless... this book is very moving and remains an effortless

    Effortless... this book is very moving and remains an effortless read. This is a very good book. I appreciate the author for sharing the story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Wonderful. I'm so very glad that she shared her story with us.

    Wonderful. I'm so very glad that she shared her story with us. Couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    So touching

    This book really made me reexamine my faith. I also am working on having a closer relationship with god. Thanks fir the great story Crystal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2