Customer Reviews for

Waking the Witch (Women of the Otherworld Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

http://readingangel002.blogspot.com

We first met Savannah back in book 2 of the Women of the Otherworld series. She was a smart-mouthed teen with razor sharp wit, and a screw-it-all attitude. Now, Savannah is 21, and although she has matured, not much else has changed. She's still just as smart-mouthed...
We first met Savannah back in book 2 of the Women of the Otherworld series. She was a smart-mouthed teen with razor sharp wit, and a screw-it-all attitude. Now, Savannah is 21, and although she has matured, not much else has changed. She's still just as smart-mouthed and smart, although she does try to reign in the attitude when she can. Of course, all of these things are the reason I love her! I've been dying for a Savannah book, and I was definitely not disappointed with it.

Savannah is on her first solo assignment and things keep going from bad to worse. There was a great amount of mystery in this book. You never know who the bad guy is from beginning until the big reveal. Every time I thought I had it figured out, it threw me for a loop and changed it all up again. This book was action packed and kept me turning pages until way late into the night! There was some great scenes with sexual tension, but this is just a small part of the story, not the overlying storyline.

All of the characters in this quirky little town were a lot of fun. Each had a their own unique personality, and their own secret to keep hidden. I love Kelley's writing and all the characters that are weaved in and out of this series. We get to see another side of fun-loving Adam, which was great. Not much Lucas and Paige, but you get to see a great deal how they have affected Savannah's life, which was wonderful. I definitely recommend this book it to all of the Kelley fans out there! If you haven't read her books yet, then what are you waiting for???

posted by ReadingAngel002 on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite of the series, so far...

Waking the Witch is book eleven in Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series. Savannah Levine whom readers of this series first met as an unruly teenager and a very powerful witch in the second book Stolen. Savannah is all grown up now and has the opportunity to...
Waking the Witch is book eleven in Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series. Savannah Levine whom readers of this series first met as an unruly teenager and a very powerful witch in the second book Stolen. Savannah is all grown up now and has the opportunity to be a lead investigator on an important case while her guardians and employers, Lucas and Paige are off on a much needed vacation. Not wanting to bother Lucas and Paige, Savannah heads to the small town of Columbus to investigate the murders of three young women.

It's no secret that I am a huge fan of Kelley Armstrong and really enjoy her Women of the Otherworld series. Unfortunately, Waking the Witch is probably my least favorite book in this series. I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that this book seems very transitional. Kelley Armstrong seems to be taking her series in a new direction with Savannah as a lead character. She needed this book to set up new storylines and new characters for future books in the series. Plus, it was a way to show how Savannah is changing and growing into womanhood.

I have trouble with Savannah as a lead heroine. Since Savannah was introduced as a character early on in the series, I never really liked her. Savannah has always come across as selfish and her moral compass is slightly skewed. She is not afraid to use her powers and does not shy away from dark magic. By the end of Waking the Witch I felt much more sympathetic to the choices she makes. In this story she gets a rude awakening and I think it is the beginning of a new Savannah. She has a lot of growth to make and I think the upcoming books will reflect that.

Another reason why Waking the Witch wasn't my favorite is because there is almost no romance. Savannah has had a crush on Adam, a half demon who works for Paige and Lucas, since she was a teenager. Their relationship or the one sided feelings Savannah has for Adam was the extent of the romance. Again, I believe that Adam might have feelings for Savannah but won't act on them because he feels she is too young, as he is eleven years her senior. Plus, the story is told from Savannah's point of view and the reader only gets the romance from Savannah's perspective. But I am definitely intrigued as to how things are going to play out in future books.

posted by Romance_rookie on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    http://readingangel002.blogspot.com

    We first met Savannah back in book 2 of the Women of the Otherworld series. She was a smart-mouthed teen with razor sharp wit, and a screw-it-all attitude. Now, Savannah is 21, and although she has matured, not much else has changed. She's still just as smart-mouthed and smart, although she does try to reign in the attitude when she can. Of course, all of these things are the reason I love her! I've been dying for a Savannah book, and I was definitely not disappointed with it.

    Savannah is on her first solo assignment and things keep going from bad to worse. There was a great amount of mystery in this book. You never know who the bad guy is from beginning until the big reveal. Every time I thought I had it figured out, it threw me for a loop and changed it all up again. This book was action packed and kept me turning pages until way late into the night! There was some great scenes with sexual tension, but this is just a small part of the story, not the overlying storyline.

    All of the characters in this quirky little town were a lot of fun. Each had a their own unique personality, and their own secret to keep hidden. I love Kelley's writing and all the characters that are weaved in and out of this series. We get to see another side of fun-loving Adam, which was great. Not much Lucas and Paige, but you get to see a great deal how they have affected Savannah's life, which was wonderful. I definitely recommend this book it to all of the Kelley fans out there! If you haven't read her books yet, then what are you waiting for???

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Not my favorite of the series, so far...

    Waking the Witch is book eleven in Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series. Savannah Levine whom readers of this series first met as an unruly teenager and a very powerful witch in the second book Stolen. Savannah is all grown up now and has the opportunity to be a lead investigator on an important case while her guardians and employers, Lucas and Paige are off on a much needed vacation. Not wanting to bother Lucas and Paige, Savannah heads to the small town of Columbus to investigate the murders of three young women.

    It's no secret that I am a huge fan of Kelley Armstrong and really enjoy her Women of the Otherworld series. Unfortunately, Waking the Witch is probably my least favorite book in this series. I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that this book seems very transitional. Kelley Armstrong seems to be taking her series in a new direction with Savannah as a lead character. She needed this book to set up new storylines and new characters for future books in the series. Plus, it was a way to show how Savannah is changing and growing into womanhood.

    I have trouble with Savannah as a lead heroine. Since Savannah was introduced as a character early on in the series, I never really liked her. Savannah has always come across as selfish and her moral compass is slightly skewed. She is not afraid to use her powers and does not shy away from dark magic. By the end of Waking the Witch I felt much more sympathetic to the choices she makes. In this story she gets a rude awakening and I think it is the beginning of a new Savannah. She has a lot of growth to make and I think the upcoming books will reflect that.

    Another reason why Waking the Witch wasn't my favorite is because there is almost no romance. Savannah has had a crush on Adam, a half demon who works for Paige and Lucas, since she was a teenager. Their relationship or the one sided feelings Savannah has for Adam was the extent of the romance. Again, I believe that Adam might have feelings for Savannah but won't act on them because he feels she is too young, as he is eleven years her senior. Plus, the story is told from Savannah's point of view and the reader only gets the romance from Savannah's perspective. But I am definitely intrigued as to how things are going to play out in future books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Bewitching.

    OK. Let me start off by saying this.. I was completely disappointed with Armstrong's last couple of books (Personal Demon, Living with the Dead) and was welcoming her new installment. Waking the Witch took me about a day to read and I devoured it without stopping. Savannah is the new addition to my favorites in the series. I can really relate to her being her age and in her shoes; desperate to prove herself. I love her attitude, but I must say her reliance on her magic was an irritating fact and I was very glad when she was left without them. I'm all about main characters learning a lesson. This book does have a major cliffhanger at the end, but that's ok. Some aspects of the storyline are easily figured out, but so are most other books, too. One of my favorite aspects of Armstrong's newer books, is that she is introducing new races, or making ones mentioned occasionally step into the spotlight. (Ex: the shape changers in PD, the clairvoyants in LVTD, and the pre-historic werewolves in Frostbitten.) I can't wait to see where the story goes, and eager to tag along with Savannah's adventures.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get a copy!

    Having loved many of the other Tales from the Otherworld, I just finished Waking the Witch Savannah's story.
    The writing flowed so smoothly for me in this book. It was a nice fluid tale that had a few turns I was not expecting, but were surprising and yet were well woven in the story that I found them very appealing.
    This story follows along with several of the Otherworld characters, but mainly it is Savannah staking out a place in life by solving a case on her own with her PI skills ...more Having loved many of the other Tales from the Otherworld, I just finished Waking the Witch Savannah's story.
    The writing flowed so smoothly for me in this book. It was a nice fluid tale that had a few turns I was not expecting, but were surprising and yet were well woven in the story that I found them very appealing.
    This story follows along with several of the Otherworld characters, but mainly it is Savannah staking out a place in life by solving a case on her own with her PI skills.
    A lot happens, there are several deaths, and what was surprising for me is that even though the dead characters had only little parts in the book, the feelings of impact that I was having alongside the main character was pretty interesting. Mayhaps it was just an emotional day for me, but I really enjoyed this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    Uh oh..

    If it wasn't for 10 other books of tidbits about savannah and adam this book would be a 1 star. I didn't connect with this one as well as I did with all the others. I feel that savannah's personality isn't very original and wasn't well developed. I was really excited to get into the mind of this girl [especially since her mom was so exciting], but was a bit disappointed with what i found. And it seems the romance aspect of this series went out the window, except for a few cheesy moments at the end. All the characters besides the 2 just seemed thrown in without any real thought, no depth to any of them. I think the only character that was remotely interesting was kayla. Especially since she set up such a malleable setting, but it ended up being restricting to the plot and the characters.

    I kind of expected a cliff hanger, but the ending seemed more like a cut off. As in "this is part 1" and april will be "part 2". Not much suspense. Off to a rough start, but it can definitely be a good set up for the next one.

    should will one bad book stop you from continuing the series? no, just a down that can only go up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Savannah grew up!

    Whoa! When did little Savannah grow up? I've been reading Kelley's books for awhile now, and I've always liked Eve and her daughter Savannah. So-called "bad girls" are just more interesting for some reason. But suddenly Savannah is grown up and going out on her own while Paige and Lucus are on vacation? Boy, I feel old.... *L*

    This is a good addition to the Women of the Otherworld series. Savannah is a powerful witch who, while still relatively young, has a good head on her shoulders and will make a great investigator some day. Not wanting to "bother" her guardians while they're on a well-deserved vacation (okay, not wanting to tell them what she was up to!), Savannah heads off on her first solo investigation. Crush-worthy Adam is just a phone call away as her back-up, and she knows that he'll be there in as fast as he can should she need help, but Savannah wants to prove herself. There are unexpected developments, but Savannah doesn't do too badly and shows that she's able to handle herself okay.

    Gave this one a 4/5 rating as I really enjoyed it! Savannah is a great character, and it's been fun watching her grow up. Kelley is an awesome writer, love all of her books, and I can highly recommend this if you like urban fantasy with strong women characters. Already looking forward to seeing what Savannah gets up to next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Very disappointing

    I have read all of Kelly Armstrong's books and was waiting for this one. The book seemed like it was written in a hurry, just to get something published. It ends in a terrible cliff hanger that leaves you shaking your head. Why that type of ending? Very disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Thin story line, poor editing

    Bought the hardback in store with high expectations. I've ready all of Kelly Armstrongs previous books and was looking forward to Savannah's storyline. The story is thin and predictable. Then I get to pg 248, what's suppose to be page 249 has no page number and then the book repeats for like a chapter, skipping pages 249-282, starts up again, with me having no idea how its gotten to the point where Leah? is in Jesse's body? It's freaking confusing and I'm missing plot connections so now I dont even want to finish the book...heading back to the local B&N tomorrow to return..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Over all I enjoyed the book, but it seemed much shorter than the others to me. The over all plot was okay, not Mrs. Armstrong's best, but still engaging. Half way through I could tell who I thought the bad guy was, even so there was a neat twist to the ending of it. I hate cliffies, so I wasn't to thrilled with the ending - I kept hitting my 'next page' button trying to get to the next page thinking 'Surely it doesn't end like this!' only to find out that yes, indeed it did! I feel like I've only read half the story, partly because of the ending and partly because it seemed so short. I'll just have to wait until Spell Bound comes out in April to continue this one I guess. I'm assuming that Spell Bound will also have a cliff hanger though since the book after it is also to be narrated by Savannah. >.< Reminds me a bit of how her Darkest Powers trilogy books always end - she sure has mastered the cliffhangers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eh

    I have been following Kelly Armstrong (in the hardback) since Bitten. I love her and enjoy immersing myself in both her characters and her plot. It is with great sadness that I report this latest book was a HUGE dissappointment. About 1/2 through it started reading like a 'B-grade' Agatha Christie mystery. To make matters worse it ended with a soap opera worthy to be continued...

    I am going to hold off on immediately buying her next book until I read the reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    This was good

    Though I don't think any of Kelley Armstrong's later books have been as great as Bitten and Stolen - this one kept me reading without stopping. I picked up Spell Bound right after I finished Waking the Witch and was glad to find it pick ups exactly where WTW stopped. I'm glad I held off reading WTW until now - I'm not feeling the frustration other readers have felt by the chopped ending of the previous book. I would recommend this book and this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    The first book I read by Kelley Armstrong was BITTEN back in 2001. I remember being so into that book that I couldn't put it down. It was the first time I read a book that size in one day. I am happy to say that Kelley still keeps me entertained and I am so glad that I picked up her book ten years ago.


    WAKING THE WITCH renewed my love for this author's writing. She never lets me down and I'm looking forward to the next installment in the Women of the Underworld series. If you are a paranormal fan, you have to read this book. It's fast-paced, intriguing and a fun way to spend your day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Savannah, all grown up!

    WAKING THE WITCH, by Kelley Armstrong, is the eleventh book in the Women of the Otherworld series. I really love this series. I have only read a few books (and some out of order) but that is the beauty of this series. You can read the books out of order ( I usually choose the book by character ) and not be totally confused.

    We first met Savannah in Stolen (WoO#2) as a young girl. In this book, she is twenty-one and ready to start her own cases as a Private Investigator at Paige and Lucas's firm. She is sassy, clever, and full of life and I absolutely love her. Savannah was asked to help with a murder case while Paige and Lucas were on vacation. Soon enough she is whisked away to a town in the middle of nowhere and mysterious events occur all around her. With her powers on the fritz she is challenged but manages to push through.

    This book was fast-paced and kept me going back and forth on who I thought was the villain. Surprises popped up in every dark corner and I was left dizzy with awe. Armstrong has really done it again in this book and I am excited that Savannah's story will continue for the next two books.

    Overall, great book, fans of the series will definitely love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Fabulous continuation of this series

    Unfortunately, who ever works their magic for the ebooks some how made it impossible to receive the last two pages on NOOK. I will find a hardback copy to know how this book ends or leaves a cliffhanger for the next book. Hopefully in a future book the love interest between Savannah and Adam will be explored. You do get a tease at the hospital that Adams feels more than a big brother or friend towards Savannah. With a witch killer exposed and is still on the loose, Savannah, Paige, Lucas and Adam will have their hands full in a future installment. Leah escaping and causing pain and angst was a big surprise, did not see that coming. Looking for the next wonderful installment from Kelly Armstrong

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Truly AWESOME!

    For any readers who enjoy mystery with a SyFi twist - I recommend you order a copy of this last installment from Kelley Armstrong!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Loved It! This is why I read series novels more than stand-alones. A character like Savannah can be developed from the precocious teen to maturing adult. I wasn't sure how the Michael character was going to play into the whole plot and I felt he was stepping in where he didn't belong (i.e. on Adam's girl), but in the end it was a great plot move. I cannot wait for the next book to see how Savannah deals with everything. Secretly, I will admit I wanted Benicio to swoop in a save his "granddaughter" from the people being mean to her. but that's just me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Exciting read

    Catching stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great

    Very ffun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    WAKING THE WITCH (Women of the Otherworld #11) by Kelley Armstro

    WAKING THE WITCH (Women of the Otherworld #11) by Kelley Armstrong

    WAKING THE WITCH is the 11th full-length storyline in Kelley Armstrong’ s Women of the Otherworld series.  The final three books in the WOTO series focuses on the now adult Savannah Levine and the loss of her witch powers, the investigation into the dark arts and the rise of demons that want to take over the world.

    Savannah was first introduced in STOLEN-the second storyline in Kelley’s WOTO series.  A then 12 year old orphaned witch, daughter of Dark Witch Eve Levine and Cabal Sorcerer Kristof Nash, Savannah struggled with her powers, her guardians and her attraction and love for half-demon Adam Vasic.  Now a grown woman, Savannah knows who she wants but there are too many road blocks standing in her way.
    Savannah is now a beautiful 21year old woman, and in this particular storyline, she agrees to investigate the mysterious deaths of two women, the only problem, the deaths are some-how supernaturally related and Savannah will suffer the consequences in more ways than one.  A friend will die, another will seemingly pull away and her powers will become part of a bargain.
    WAKING THE WITCH is the beginning of the end for the Women of the Otherworld series.  The final three storylines follow Savannah as she must literally prevent the rise of Lucifer and the end of the world.  If you are a fan of Kelley’s werewolves, the final three stories are a major departure.  At one point I thought Kelley was preparing for the spin-off series featuring Savannah as the lead character when the entire focus of the last three books was Savannah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    A Good Read

    I have read the rest of the series and it definitely left me wanting more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18