Customer Reviews for

Waking up in Charleston (Charleston Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A tale of love and deception...

Amanda O'Leary is a mother of three whose husband, Bobby died in an accident leaving her deeply in debt. Her marriage had caused a permanent breach between her and her father, Big Max, the only parent she had ever known. Caleb Webb is the preacher who organized a hous...
Amanda O'Leary is a mother of three whose husband, Bobby died in an accident leaving her deeply in debt. Her marriage had caused a permanent breach between her and her father, Big Max, the only parent she had ever known. Caleb Webb is the preacher who organized a house raising for Amanda and her children with donated material, volunteer labor, and a piece or property secretly purchased by Big Max. Caleb and Max secretly play poker after church on Sundays, Caleb using his winnings to fund the church food bank. Caleb is drawn to Amanda and her children, but the secrets he has kept from her could destroy any hope of a permanent relationship. Amanda's children think of Caleb as a replacement for their dad. As each deception is revealed, Amanda become more angry with Caleb, the only thing keeping them on speaking terms being the children. When Max finds out that he has Alzheimer's Caleb wants him to mend fences with Amanda and get to know his grandchildren. One last huge deception will be the true test of love between father and daughter. Is forgiveness possible? Sherryl Woods tells a tale of entwined relationships so engrossing I could not put it down until I was finished. Excellent!

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aurorakit

Im taking a nap. *she curls up near the log and goes to sleep.*

posted by 10990875 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    A tale of love and deception...

    Amanda O'Leary is a mother of three whose husband, Bobby died in an accident leaving her deeply in debt. Her marriage had caused a permanent breach between her and her father, Big Max, the only parent she had ever known. Caleb Webb is the preacher who organized a house raising for Amanda and her children with donated material, volunteer labor, and a piece or property secretly purchased by Big Max. Caleb and Max secretly play poker after church on Sundays, Caleb using his winnings to fund the church food bank. Caleb is drawn to Amanda and her children, but the secrets he has kept from her could destroy any hope of a permanent relationship. Amanda's children think of Caleb as a replacement for their dad. As each deception is revealed, Amanda become more angry with Caleb, the only thing keeping them on speaking terms being the children. When Max finds out that he has Alzheimer's Caleb wants him to mend fences with Amanda and get to know his grandchildren. One last huge deception will be the true test of love between father and daughter. Is forgiveness possible? Sherryl Woods tells a tale of entwined relationships so engrossing I could not put it down until I was finished. Excellent!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I have been a fan of this talented author since her first release and was never disappointed. Waking up in Charleston was one of the best books I have read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    I wanna read the first 2

    Please bring us the first 2 books in this series. This is not fair to us to only have the last book in the trilolgy

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific relationship drama

    Known throughout the South Carolina Low Country as being benevolent, William ¿Big Max¿ cut off his beloved only child Amanda when she eloped with loser Danny O'Leary. Several years later, Danny is dead and Amanda raises three youngsters while trying to pay off her late husband¿s massive debt she and Big Max remain estranged. Preacher Caleb Webb arranged for a house to be built for Amanda and her children with supplies contributed from a friend¿s construction company, labor mostly volunteered by his congregation, and property secretly given by Max (see FLIRTING WITH DISASTER). Caleb loves Amanda while her children think of him as their father. However, he knows that he deceived her by hiding his close relationship with her dad and as she learns more of what he concealed, the angrier she gets. Caleb sacrifices his dreams to marry Amanda in order to reconcile the ailing Big Max, an Alzheimer's victim, and Amanda before it is too late for her children to know their grandfather. --- This terrific relationship drama stars likable protagonists who allow pride bias their decisions before learning that is no replacement for the love of family. Amanda is a courageous individual struggling with her feelings for the Preacher who has made life better for her and her children the kids love him as if he is their father. Max wants so badly to ask his daughter to forgive him, but is unable to swallow the devastation of her possibly rejecting him as he feels he deserves so he works in secret. Caleb is pulled in two directions as he wants to shout to everyone he loves Amanda though that is obvious to all, but also wants to reconcile father and daughter. Sherryl Woods provides a deep character driven tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    good read

    need to read series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Great Trilogy

    I have read all three books and as usual Ms. Woods has lived up to her reputation. I highly recommend this three book series to any and all... The story is lively, the plot well thought out and the characters are"real"... Very enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book has been read by several of my co-workers other than myself in our office in Charleston. Captivating, breath taking and this book keeps you wanting more, we all really enjoyed this book. There was never a dull moment of reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    highly recomended

    love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great Series

    Love all of Sherryl Woods Charleston series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Waking up in Charleston

    Thought plot was good and story moved at a good pace. Living here some spot felt like I was right there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    i recommend this

    This is a really good book. I have read others by this author and I enjoy each one. Definitely a good book, worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great story

    Love her stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Read this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not worth my time

    Having so many other good books to pick from, i would not suggest this book. I didnt even finish reading.






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good reading

    Good book, but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4