Customer Reviews for

Wakulla Springs: A Tor.Com Original

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not at all what I was expecting, but a VERY good read!

Not at all what I was expecting, but a VERY good read!

posted by Moonrider57 on March 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

NOT sci-fi!

The story was ok. No sci-fi till the last page and not much point. More a short story or memoir. Sort of interesting but I wasn,t expecting a history lesson.

posted by readalotLG on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Not at all what I was expecting, but a VERY good read!

    Not at all what I was expecting, but a VERY good read!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Touching and moving -- lend it to your friends who "don't l

    Touching and moving -- lend it to your friends who "don't like that sci-fi stuff!"

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Enjoyable multi-generational novella. Fanciful, perhaps, but de

    Enjoyable multi-generational novella. Fanciful, perhaps, but definitely not science fiction. In the beginning of the book, Vergie is a young black woman with college aspirations who procures a housekeeping job at the Wakulla Springs Lodge in North Florida during the Jim Crow years. She enjoys reading books left behind by guests in the lodge, and also enjoys swimming, although the springs are off-limits to her. Vergie enjoys an encounter with Johnny Weissmuller, who is staying at the Lodge while starring in a Tarzan movie being filmed at the springs.

    Nearly twelve years later, we find that Vergie has a "high yellow" son, Levi, who also enjoys swimming. This time another movie is being made, Creature from the Black Lagoon, and Levi becomes acquainted with the actor starring in that production. The actor teaches Levi underwater hose breathing techniques.

    Some years later, Levi has moved to California. Finding that there is little demand for swimmers in the movies, especially African-American swimmers, he is working in the landscaping business. While servicing a client's pool, he meets Isbel, a young college girl from Michigan, now attending UCLA and doing her thesis on Tarzan movies. There is a very funny scene where Isbel "interviews" Cheeta. The couple have a daughter, who grows up alternating Christmas holidays with her grandmothers in Michigan and in Florida.

    The end of the book finds the daughter, Dr. Anna Williams, staying with her grandmother while doing research at Wakulla Springs. At 86, Vergie now "sits on her porch from sun-up to sundown drinking lemonade and waiting for the bookmobile."

    I really enjoyed this book. I've been to Wakulla Springs, where you can take a (glass-bottomed) boat ride and see alligators sunning and anhingas spreading their wings. You can stay in the Lodge and see Old Joe, Wakulla's largest gator, in a glass case in the lobby. The descriptive language in this book truly captures the unique setting. This is the epitome of what fiction should be: Making the exceptional everyday, and the everyday exceptional.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Wakulla Springs

    Enchanting read. Like poetry. Loved the truth
    Of the black/white experience in the south in 1953. Richly rewarding with elements of surprise that make it hard to put down.




    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    NOT sci-fi!

    The story was ok. No sci-fi till the last page and not much point. More a short story or memoir. Sort of interesting but I wasn,t expecting a history lesson.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Wow

    Loved it ...I live in the panhandle so it made sense to me ...very well written but felt it to be more of an historical story than scifi..
    Loved the characters ... hope there are more to come

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Good read

    Well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Worthwhile reading

    A wonderful family story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Could not finish reading

    I started reading it and was wondering when the real story was going to start. I gave up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Fun

    What a fun and interesting book. You never know where your roots might lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Quirky

    Like another reviewer wrote, not what I was expecting or my genre at all. But once I was in for a taste, I was hooked. Goid job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is nothing like the description except that the locale

    This book is nothing like the description except that the locale is Florida. No sci-fi, no prehistoric creatures except in passing. That said, it is an enjoyable novella and I'm glad I read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Springs

    This was a good story. My pity goes to those who did not like or did not understand it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    What an amazing story. Brilliant characters, lyrical writing. Ec

    What an amazing story. Brilliant characters, lyrical writing. Echoes of some of my favorite SFnal movies. Best piece of fiction I read all year. HIGHLY recommended!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Very good novella i enjoyed it

    Quick read good novella enjoyed the story about the different generatoins

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Painful

    Painful at the beginning. Half way through it improves. Once you get a few chapters in and realize each chapter is the next generation from the prior chapter chars, curiosity motivates.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    WS

    I love Wakulla Springs. I go there at least 2 times a week. :D... If your not from around. You should definetly come at least once in your life time. :)... I even learned how to swim in these springs. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Good beginning, weak ending.

    Well written beginning, good character development. Good setting of scene. The ending left me with a feeling that the author was just trying to end it, even though the author possibly had a good outline in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    ???

    Glad it was free.
    One star to be able to post

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Fun with a touch of history

    Worth the time, surprise conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3