Customer Reviews for

The Walk (Walk Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Walk: Good for the "Sole"

I love the picturesque descriptions the author portrays as Alan travels from one destination to another. I feel like I'm along for the walk as in my mind I live the events taking place. I laughed and cried. I'm excited this is going to be a 5 book series. I already fee...
I love the picturesque descriptions the author portrays as Alan travels from one destination to another. I feel like I'm along for the walk as in my mind I live the events taking place. I laughed and cried. I'm excited this is going to be a 5 book series. I already feel like the main character is my friend.

posted by DGlad on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not much content for the 9.99 ebook price!

I love Richard Paul Evans' books. So, to get this, and start a series by him was exciting, I was eager and ready to start reading. Since I downloaded this from my nook, I didn't realize it was only 161 pages until I was ready to read it. The story started out great, ...
I love Richard Paul Evans' books. So, to get this, and start a series by him was exciting, I was eager and ready to start reading. Since I downloaded this from my nook, I didn't realize it was only 161 pages until I was ready to read it. The story started out great, but then the character development just stopped, and it was almost as if he abandoned the character just as he abandoned his readers. The story just stopped, and I thought, wow, did I just download the sample, instead of the whole book. I'm just sorry that didn't read the reviews until it was too late. Not that it's a bad story, it just would have been better at 4.99!

posted by joaner on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Walk: Good for the "Sole"

    I love the picturesque descriptions the author portrays as Alan travels from one destination to another. I feel like I'm along for the walk as in my mind I live the events taking place. I laughed and cried. I'm excited this is going to be a 5 book series. I already feel like the main character is my friend.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    The best thing about Evans' The Walk is that there will be four more in the series!

    I've been reading The Walk out loud every night to my husband and normally Richard's books don't make me cry. But this new book has me pulling Kleenexes out one after another. I can feel the pain of loss of something that can never be replaced. I can feel Alan's desperation to get away, just walk away from the pain to find something, anything, new that will take his mind off of the tragic departure of the thing he holds most dear, the love of his sweetheart, his wife. I've read all of Richard's books but this one moved me more than all the others combined. You see, my husband is Alan Christoffersen, the name Rick used for his new book. Al died tragically December 1st, 2008. This book honors him with a story that truly is a journey from love and loss to hope and joy. Rick, thank you with all my heart for caring for my precious sweetheart. He's probably a little embarassed by all the attention, but I know he is smiling too. I sincerely look forward to the rest of the journey.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    Alan Christoffersen walks after he loses everything, his wife, career, home, and even his faith and all hope. As he takes his walk he keeps a diary to record his thoughts ( very thought-provoking!),of his travels and the people he meets along the way. A lot of wonderful life lessons and a learning experience for all who read this. Wonderful!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Awesome book!!!!

    I loved this book. I have read all of Richard Paul Evans books and this is one of my favorites. I can't wait till the next one comes out. I love the main character Alan Christoffersen. It was so touching all the things that he went through and all the people that crossed his path along the way. Richard Paul Evans has a way of putting little passages in his books that really make you think. I highly recommend this book and have passed it on to my family and friends to read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read by Richard Paul Evans...The Beginning of a Five Year Journey

    Don't miss The Walk by Richard Paul Evans. This inspirational story will leave you wanting more and wondering how you will ever wait for the next book in the series. Once you begin the journey you won't want to put it down and when you finish you will want to read it all over again. Make this beautiful book a part of your personal library today, you will be glad you did. The Walk is the story of a man that loses everything that matters to him in life. He is devastated by the loss of his wife and their unborn child and he gives up what little he has left and sets out on a walk in search of hope.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HERE TODAY, GONE TOMORROW!

    Who hasn't thought of walking away from their life at one time or another? The main character, Alan, does just that after he loses everything, including his wife. His entire world implodes, leaving Alan with almost nothing. It's a heart-wrenching book but it contains a hidden meaning, treasure what you have today, for tomorrow it may be gone, Here today, gone tomorrow. The picturesque descriptions of Alan's travels make his journey a joy but you will ache for the loss that Alan suffers. A beautiful, moving storyline that requires a box of tissues.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Everyone should read The Walk

    Here is what I love about this book: It is written in first person. The author is talking to ME. Description fantastic ("The water before me is as blue as windshield wiper fluid"), riveting emotion. I was able to accompany the author on his walk and absorb multiple inspiring lessons along the way. Best of all are his diary quotes: "Above all, do not lose your desire to walk. I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it." I cannot wait for the sequel. Everyone should read this book. It will change your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    BEST ONE YET!!!

    My book arrived Thursday. I ordered it long before it became available. Having read all of RPE's books, I must declare this one is the very best yet! I read it cover to cover non-stop. I was hooked from page 1! With every page I can relate, honest! Starting with the love of your life and the perfect job and in a blink it's all gone, now what? God is in charge but first you have to get over yourself and let him in. Ever so slowly Allan lets go and starts to live.
    I have to say, waiting until NEXT April is agonizing. But wait I will and while I wait, I'll pack for Key West! I'm a mere 70 so what is 5 more years! I'll be there unless the agony of waiting for the next books kills me!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Connected With This Story!

    So I was anxious to read this book to get a taste of what this series was going to be all about and all I can say is that I am hooked! I am for sure taking this "walk" with Al Christoffersen! I was so touched by their love story and his journey. It reminded me how precious life is and how it can change in just a single event. I was impressed with Richard's clever quotes and diary entries and many of the character's thoughts left me thinking days after I had finished. I love books that do that. After tears and laughter I was left at the end wanting more and I'm so glad that this is a series so I can actually fulfill that hunger for more! :) I highly recommend it to all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    VERY MOVING

    I love the authors' honest approach. It has a message to all those that read this book. Very inspirational. I cried, I laughed, I got angry. That is what I like in a book like this, if the author can get the reader to experience so many different emotions while reading. Very well written, Captures the reader very well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Walk by Richard Paul Evans is a must read

    The Walk is one of the best books I have ever read and is probably the only book that I read in one afternoon. Right from the beginning it caught my attention and I had to keep reading to find out what happened. The book made me cry and laugh. I immediately was drawn to the characters; some I loved, others I disliked. I can not wait for the second book of this serious to come out. Richard Paul Evans is one of my new favorite authors. I am now on a quest to read his other books. I highly recommend that everyone read this book. It is a keeper on my bookshelf.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    The Walk by RichardPaul Evans

    This is an inspirational story about a man who loses his wife (to cancer). In all the turmoil of losing the love of his life, he then loses his home as well as the business he started. At that point he then decides to leave it all behind and walk from his present city (Seattle) to Key West Florida, the furthest point from where he presently stands. Its a journey searching for hope, peace and a new beginning. It turns into a life changing journey, both physically and spiritually. His story began from a super rich point but due to his life situation, suddenly was thrust into homelessness, having his car repossessed, and facing an unknown future.
    It is a very thought provoking story and makes you realize how fragile this life is for us all. Supposedly, there are further stories to be written/continuing The Walk. This story carries him only through the state of Washington. The story was inspirational and very easy to read. Yet, it was the kind of story that hung with you, causing you to wonder how such a situation in one's own life would be addressed! Each of us faces own own walk, our own journey. I can't help but wonder "How would mine compare to his Walk?"

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    READ THIS IN LESS THAN A DAY

    I received this book yesterday, opened it and read 2/3 of it before going to bed. I awoke this morning and finished it. I absolutely loved the topic, the character, and the writing style. It is a heartfelt story that I feel anyone interested in life lessons would love. I highly recommend it. Now I will anxiously await book #2 even though it doesn't come out until next year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    AMAZING

    This is great I have read the whole Nicholas sparks seriese and I am trying to find something close to how he writes. Richard Paul evens is as close as can be. This book was amazing any one that likes romantic books needs to read this. I will count down the days till book 2!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Amazing!!!!

    I don't write reviews because who am I to criticize but this book is amazing!!! I highly recommend it. This is the first book that I think truely captures what love is really about. Read it, love it. It is worth it. I can not wait for the next book to come out. I am dying to know the rest of this mans journey...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A MUST READ

    For anyone who has had a loss this is a must read. There are many lessons to be learned in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Wonderful Heart Touching

    Richard Paul Evans does it again with a wonderful heart touching story. "The Walk" is one man's journey of loss and hope. Set aside a couple of hours for this book, because once you start it you cannot put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Highly recommend !! So good you can hardly wait for the next books !

    What a page turner! I have traveled the " less traveled " roads in Washington State. The unusual meals are for real and I can visualize the areas Alan is walking through. Have also read the 2nd journel, Miles To Go. Page turner #2 ! April 2012 cannot come fast enough for Journel #3.
    My book club did read this and we found the small selections at the beginning of each chapter meaningful and a guide as to his thoughts or the action in the chapter. His short paragraphs say so much and we love how his relationship with his father is changing.
    Richard Paul Evans" best book !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Another Evans' Jewel

    Let it be known that I am biased when it comes to Richard Paul Evans' books; I have read most if not all of them. The Walk is another gem amongst his jewels. Another of his books that I read in one sitting (and I am not a speed reader). It is written in the form of an inspirational novel about an advertising exec who has it all and loses it all including his wife in 6 short weeks. The Walk is the first in a series of books to be written that describes how this distraught individual decides to walk from Seattle Washington to Key West Florida to relieve his pain and the people he meets along the way. I will caution you ahead of time, it is a very hard book to put down. Can't wait until April 2011 for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Walk

    Fantastic - evrything I expected and more! I waited for months for this series to start and was not disappointed in the first book. R P Evans has never disappointed me in his ability to bring the characters to live and put the reader right in the center of their lives. The only down side is that I (we) will have to wait another 11 months or so for the next book. r

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12