Customer Reviews for

A Walk Across the Sun

Average Rating 4.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

Those of us not familiar with the sex trade, me being one of those, usually think of it as happening “someplace else”. The reality is that it happens all over the world, including right here in the United States. Children are sold for drugs, prostitution, kidnapped ri...
Those of us not familiar with the sex trade, me being one of those, usually think of it as happening “someplace else”. The reality is that it happens all over the world, including right here in the United States. Children are sold for drugs, prostitution, kidnapped right off of the street. Before you go any further in this review you need to know that this is not a feel good topic. It is repulsive and hard to read.
We start off the story with two innocent girls whose life is decimated due to a tsunami. They try to get to their school where the sisters will take care of them. Things go wrong and they find themselves where no young person should ever be, in the sex trade. Thomas Clarke is a lawyer who has lost so much already. He witnesses a kidnapping of a young girl in a park and this sets him on his mission to work against these traffickers.

This story moves along smoothly carrying the reader from one heartbreak to another. It is a very emotional book to read. It lets you see inside the head and heart of these people who sell children for sex. I think it was best said when one of the characters said to the young girl he had with him, “You are not here because I enjoy the sale of sex. You are here because men enjoy the purchase of it.” (page 329)
I thought about that remark. If we could get rid of all of the people who were willing to pay for this service then we would not have the sex trade.

As the author took us across India we get a look at the different caste systems and the way they treat people. Both of these girls were middle class students who knew English. This made them more valuable than many others. The author doesn’t leave the reader in a depressive state. He definitely wanted to give the reader hope that this situation can change in the future. This is a must read book. If nothing else you as a parent should read it to see what you need to protect your children from.

Corban Addison is able to give a voice to the victims of human trafficking. Without that voice people like me know nothing of it. We live in our safe little world. After reading this book my world doesn’t feel so safe anymore and it isn’t as small as it once was.

posted by skstiles612 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book is a tough read. The subject matter can make your skin crawl and the hairs on your arms will rise. There are more ways to create a human slave than I had ever imagined. There is no end to the number of people who will prey on the innocent.

The book is mainly about two main characters, sisters, aged 17 and 15, Ahalya and Sita. Before literally being cast adrift by a tsunami, in their home town in India, they led charmed lives in a lovely house with loving, educated and successful parents. Afterwards, all ...
The book is mainly about two main characters, sisters, aged 17 and 15, Ahalya and Sita. Before literally being cast adrift by a tsunami, in their home town in India, they led charmed lives in a lovely house with loving, educated and successful parents. Afterwards, all of their family, all of their servants and friends are suddenly wiped out; they are completely alone. While trying to get to their convent school and safety, they are kidnapped and sold into human bondage, disappearing; one young woman’s life soon begins as a sex slave and the other as a servant.
Many of the girls that are sold have been captured because of their naivete. They answer questionable ads, run away from home in search of a better life, escape to raise money for poverty stricken or ill relatives. Regardless of their motives, they are all abused and terrified of their captors who show them no mercy and treat them without any consideration for human needs. Reading this, I could feel my blood pressure rise because of the horror the young women were exposed to and because of the despicable nature of the men who abused them. These young, inexperienced girls were in no condition to fight their captors. In order to stop this trafficking, the users of these services should be punished, along with the pimps and the kidnappers and the brothel owners; anyone involved in aiding or abetting this practice should be put away forever. How they turn a blind eye to their complicity in this crime is incomprehensible.
Although the book could have degenerated into a sex crazed story, with elaborate descriptions of rape and physical violence, the author let the story move the plot along rather than the titillating descriptions, which are the meat and potatoes of many novels today. The more explicit scenes are left to the reader’s imagination. The narrative is suspenseful and very exciting. The story is filled with twists and turns which will hold the reader's interest while at the same time educate the reader about this abominable trade that can only exist because there are so many depraved men supporting it.
The main problem with the book is the number of failed rescues; there were just too many near misses. They tried to include every different kind of human trafficking possible while at the same time, the author seemed intent on protecting and keeping the teenager, Sita, safe from the actual consequences of her captivity, the actual moment of the rape which would make her a courtesan or worse. Either all law enforcement is corrupt and inept or the author wanted to portray them that way to keep the story going on. One thing is for sure, there are corrupt politicians and law enforcement officers who allow this to continue. There is an underlying love story, complete with betrayal, which moved the plot along and moved the characters to the countries they needed to be in order for the tale to play out.
The confluence of many events occurring at just the right time, and for just the right reason, appeared a bit too serendipitous, at times, but it held my interest completely; its human interest tugged my heartstrings. It is at once sad and painful, as it is also hopeful and joyful.
It is obvious that the author knows this subject well and while the story may go off on one too many tangents, on occasion, the book deserves to be read. the book deserves to be read. The crime and shame of human trafficking always remains the main theme that the author wished to expose and expunge.

posted by thewanderingjew on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    Those of us not familiar with the sex trade, me being one of those, usually think of it as happening “someplace else”. The reality is that it happens all over the world, including right here in the United States. Children are sold for drugs, prostitution, kidnapped right off of the street. Before you go any further in this review you need to know that this is not a feel good topic. It is repulsive and hard to read.
    We start off the story with two innocent girls whose life is decimated due to a tsunami. They try to get to their school where the sisters will take care of them. Things go wrong and they find themselves where no young person should ever be, in the sex trade. Thomas Clarke is a lawyer who has lost so much already. He witnesses a kidnapping of a young girl in a park and this sets him on his mission to work against these traffickers.

    This story moves along smoothly carrying the reader from one heartbreak to another. It is a very emotional book to read. It lets you see inside the head and heart of these people who sell children for sex. I think it was best said when one of the characters said to the young girl he had with him, “You are not here because I enjoy the sale of sex. You are here because men enjoy the purchase of it.” (page 329)
    I thought about that remark. If we could get rid of all of the people who were willing to pay for this service then we would not have the sex trade.

    As the author took us across India we get a look at the different caste systems and the way they treat people. Both of these girls were middle class students who knew English. This made them more valuable than many others. The author doesn’t leave the reader in a depressive state. He definitely wanted to give the reader hope that this situation can change in the future. This is a must read book. If nothing else you as a parent should read it to see what you need to protect your children from.

    Corban Addison is able to give a voice to the victims of human trafficking. Without that voice people like me know nothing of it. We live in our safe little world. After reading this book my world doesn’t feel so safe anymore and it isn’t as small as it once was.

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very timely story, as human trafficking is getting more and more attention in the media. It is also becoming more and more prevalent around the world. Addison did a stellar job of telling a difficult story. He handled a challenging topic with sensitivity and with taste. This story moves quickly and is a beautiful read - without being bogged down with excessive description. I would not call this book literary, but I also would not call it commercial fiction. It is unique and Addison has a strong voice as a writer. If you like to read stories that makes a difference, that teach you something about the world, that move the heart in profound ways, then do read A Walk Across the Sun. I recommend it for those who enjoyed and/or appreciated 'Little Bee' and 'A Thousand Splendid Suns'. Also for readers who like page turners, but page turners with more depth and humanity. A great debut!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I was riveted by this suspenseful story line and transported to

    I was riveted by this suspenseful story line and transported to the most vile yet hopeful of conditions. The narrator of "A Walk Across the Sun" is a lawyer/poet who finds himself at a crossroads as he contemplates which way to go in his career and life. His choice probably wouldn’t be one you or I would make. His interest in human rights drove him into a world of human trafficking where he tells of the plight of two sisters. This story opens our eyes to how prevalent the international sex trade is that is going on right under our noses. What an amazing story! It is filled with intrigue, tragedy, action and joy. You'll be thinking about it long after the last page is turned.


    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Action-Packed and well written!

    I don't usually like to take the time to log in, in order to post many reviews. However, this book was written so well and so action-packed that I had to give Mr. Addison his "kudos"; especially as this is his first novel. I loved the bond between the sisters Sita and Ahalya; you could feel their deep connection which I found heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time, because of all that the sisters had to go through. I found this book to be very descriptive and detail-oriented; I could actually imagine Thomas as he searched for Sita through the streets of Bombay, Paris, and through Sita's travels in the States. I was almost disappointed when I finished the book because now I need to find another good read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Powerful Read...

    Page turner. Engages mind and heart. Excellently written. I read an advanced release copy and cannot get the story out of my mind. Excellent offering by debut author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    A must read. You must check it out.

    This is a must read book. A story that needs to be heard. A difficult story handled exquisitly. The world has been hiding from the realities of human trafficking. This book reveals that in a story that not only addresses the dark side of this problem but also gives us a hope that there are solutions. Intertwined within the major theme is a love story that makes the outcome even more uncertain. There is everyday life being confronted head on. There is darkness, uncertainty, sacrifice, commitment, failure, redemption, honesty, resolve, hope, love. This book will tug at your heart and force you to engage your thinking about your place in life and about making a difference in some way. The ending is heart rendering as it brings to closure what began as an impossible task but somehow became the possible. There are ways even when there seem to be none. Every page is filled with intrigue. Don't miss this one. A truly unique read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Light in a Dark World

    Was a great read. It brings awareness to the ways of the world. It does provide hope in the dark world of human trafficking. I did not want to put the book down once I started it. It truly brings light to a problem in the world that many do not know of. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in justice for the many, many hostages of this horrible injustice. I was not sure I could read about the subject of human trafficking, but it is written in a way that allows for some imagination, but fully portrays the desperation of these poor hostages. It will lead many to know more about the foundations and organizations that help these people out of the dark and tortuous world.
    I am grateful to Corban Addison for the bravery in the investigations and for shedding light on the darkness.
    Lola

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    INCREDIBLE READ!!!

    Without a doubt one of the best books I've read in a very long time. This is one you don't want to miss. EXCELLENT BOOK!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    AN ABSOLUTE MUST READ!!!!

    The cover of this book caught my attention on line and when I read what the story was about I was very intrigued.....then I noticed that it was endorsed by John Grisham and all the reviews I read were raving about it. I decided to take a chance and choose this book for my book club.....I ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!!! It is now ranked in my top 3 all-time favorite books (along with The Kite Runner). Haven't had our book club meeting yet but so far the reviews are amazing. I was a little concerned because the of the sex trafficking topic and was worried that those scenes would be too graphic. They were not. What an amazing story! This one will never leave your mind. You will laugh, you will cry. Praise for Corban Addison for bringing a horrific epidemic to our attention. We all think that things like this are not happening in our backyard. Wake up America....they are. You will want to run out and help save all these children....I know I do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    The best book ever A Walk Across The Sun!!

    I compleatly loved this book!! It was so sad because i does really happen all over the world. It is also a thing that happens here because people are willing to pay for it. This book puts into perspective of what women in the sex trade have to do to just stay alive on a normal day bases. The idea of have to do that is sad, i have always liked books like this becaese it gives you a needed dose of reality, which is needed I think to keep you grounded. All this is so sad, but the endding is happy and that doesnt always happen as it should. In an ideal world this would not happen, but that isnt the caes. When i read books like i need to do something about this, help out even if it is only a little. I dont know what to do with my life but helping people is something i want to do. If an opperitunate comes around like it dod with Thomas i will take it and do that because life so sometimes hard, but for people in that situation it is esspecialy hard. I would want to help them get out

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Amazing

    Could not put this book down. Be prepared to visit a truly ugly side of humanity. This should be required reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Compelling - Must Read

    This is a must read that will compel you to complete - quickly. The story will open your eyes and heart to the pain that young girls who are in these situations must sometimes endure. The story is a well written book that elicites compassion for the young girls and those who strive to free them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not just a please read but an important MUST READ!

    A Walk Across The Sun is an important story of 2 sisters which will not leave your head. The author takes you on a beautifully written journey into the ugliness of modern day international human sex slavery. This story will open your eyes, take your breath, break your heart, and lift you up. I found that I wanted this book to end so badly because of the pain the young girls went thru but I found I also was very sad that there was not more to read! I wanted more!!
    I look forward to reading more from Corban Addision.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Excellent!!

    A powerful page turning story! I could not put the book down!! It is beautifully written and the topic is one of a parent's worst nightmares.
    WELL DONE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    A page turner

    I'm only to Chapter 5 but can't put it down! I know I will fall asleep thinking about these characters and will wake up with them on my mind. I won't be able to think of much else until I finish this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I purchased this book to read at a future date, I wish now after

    I purchased this book to read at a future date, I wish now after having read it that I would have put my other distractions aside and started reading. This is a book that held me from the first page to the last. I must say this book was well written and I simply couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Excellent reading, timely topic - loved this book

    This was an excellent story of a loving and caring family wiped out by a natural disaster and the struggle and resilience of two young girls following the death of their entire family. Once I started reading the story, it was so timely and interesting, I couldn't put it down. It tugged at every emotion and heightened my awareness of human slavery and how it can affect every socioeconomic group. The saddest part is that this problem wouldn't exist were it not for the perverts who use and abuse these young girls and have no respect for humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    highly recommended

    did not want to put down. felt i knew the people in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Outstanding!!!!!!!

    I loved every page. Beautifully written. Heartwarming. Made me laugh and cry. I highly recommend reading this book. Worth the money. Looking forward to his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8