Customer Reviews for

Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    WONDERFUL MUST READ

    WOW!!!! What a read, this book is enticing,So griping to a mothers heart.Shaq is one of my beloved players ,my son adores him and so do I.My heart is full with pride to know that I can overcome adversity .Thank you for your honest ,and love that you put in this book.
    WONDERFUL A MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Inspiring

    This book is a quick read because once you start you canot put it down. I am waiting for her to write another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go~ A Review

    Wow. Another amazing read published by Thomas Nelson Inc and written by Lucille O'Neal. Yes, she is Shaq's mother. She chronicles her life born the 1950's living in the south. She tells us about her unstable childhood and getting pregnant in her late teens. She gives us court side seats as she shows us that God really does have a plan for us, it just may not be an easy road to travel down.

    I loved her candor in detailing her life. She is an inspiration and made me realize that we can overcome whatever adversity we are facing. Please pick up this book. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans, I have for you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

    I know that God is talking to me, before I went to bed last night I read Jeremiah 29:11. Woke up this morning checked my computer and ran across,"WALK LIKE YOU HAVE SOMEWHERE TO GO", by Lucille O'Neal. I read parts of the book on line will be purchasing it soon. When I read the same scripture she had written in her book I know there is a reason for every season.My mother's name is LUCILLE and my son is tall and looks like SHAQ, everybody calls him SHAQ. And, I said to myself there is a reason for this I don't know what God is telling me or all the plans He has for me, but it has something to do with this book. From what I've read so far it's so REAL and down to earth and tell it all like it is truthfully back in the DAY, to where the trials and tribulations and happiness, failures and success has brought you and your son so FAR. I love a real story that you can relate to. Thank GOD for you and SHAQ. Continue in the blessings that God has promised you and your family. Right now I'm, WALKING LIKE I HAVE SOMEWHERE TO GO thank you! LOVE SHIRLEY MOORMAN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Walk Like you Have Somewhere to Go

    Mrs. O'Neal doesn't pull any punches in the story of her first 50+ years on this earth.
    She discusses how, when her father and mother divorced, when she was quite young, her father took custody of the children, and with his parents, moved to Newark New Jersey. How, being a young woman who was nearly 6 feet tall at a young age, can cause you to have low self esteem, and and how she dealt with this. And how she coped, as she moved into her teens, including becoming pregnant at 17, and the young man skipping out, leaving her to deal with the pregnancy and raising of their child.
    Then, marrying, having 3 more children very close together, one of which was born prematurely.
    To make ends meet, her husband joined the army, and the difficulties in moving from place to place, feeding 4 children on a very limited budget, and how she coped by drinking.
    She shares her ups and downs, struggles along with the good things that happened along the way.
    The book is well written, easy to read, and you feel you know Mrs. O'Neal by the time you've finished it.
    I didn't always agree with her way of handling issues, but that didn't keep me from enjoying the book.

    I was provided a copy of this book to read and review by Booksneeze. The opinions expressed here are my own, and no money was paid for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Awe Inspiring and a Lessons-Learned for All Colors, Ages and Genders

    This compelling journey that Ms. Lucille O'Neal embarked on over the past 55 years has been nothing short of incredible. From growing up in times of civil unrest, to literally growing way up (and tall), she demonstrates her understanding of her journey and the place that each moment had in her life. The writing style is personal and it is written in an honest voice that makes you want to read more. Her spiritual growth supported her personal goals and continue to guide her to her future possibilities. She makes you want to call her Mommy. IF you elect to read just one book this year, make it this one! With 55 years of living, there are pieces that are bound to parallel every person's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book.

    I didn't know what to expect when I requested this book. I knew nothing about this woman besides the fact that she was Shaquille O'Neals mom. I didn't even know if she had anything to say that was insightful or interesting.

    I was so very pleasantly surprised by this book. I read it all in one sitting and I couldn't put it down. Lucille's outlook on life and her frank look at her past showed me that she has gotten to a place that many of us women strive to be. She is comfortable in her own skin. She has made peace with her past and keeps her eyes on her future.

    This was such an easy read and presented in such a way that it almost felt like a conversation. She didn't 'talk' down to the reader. She just presented her life in a way that, to me, said 'this is who I've been, this is who I am now and I like that person'.

    I recieved a free copy of this book through booksneeze.com in exchange for my review. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1