Customer Reviews for

Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Taking a Slow Walk with Lucille

    "I'm a living and breathing testament that life begins and flourishes at whatever age you become comfortable in your own skin and whenever it is that you fall in love with what you see when you look in the mirror each morning."

    I've been taking a slow walk through a book. I could have read it quickly - it's certainly not a complicated novel - but getting to know Lucille O'Neal was something I wanted to savor. In learning about her life, I have learned to happily embrace mine.

    In the book, "Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go," Lucille shares the story of her challenging childhood, teenage pregnancy, relationship issues, struggles with alcoholism - and overcoming faith in God. Yes, she is the mother of NBA star Shaquille O'Neal, but her book doesn't rest on his fame as her redemption. Lucille inspires women to look upward and move onward, no matter their circumstances. She shares, "Without a test, there is no testimony."

    Through her words, she has shown the beauty of a life lived fully. Her book evolves from autobiography to a passionate and convicting challenge - to dream big, step out in faith, and choose to live victoriously in Christ. Taking a slow walk with her through her journey from mental warfare to mental health - and mental wealth - is a good journey indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go by Lucille O'Neal

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go is a motto that Ms. O'Neal got from a preacher in her church when she was a youth in the church. Since then, Ms. O'Neal, the famous basketball player Shaq's mother has lived her life by this motto. This book is a story of her life from childhood to the present. She discusses her life growing up without the influence of her mother, being raised by strict Christian grandparents, living through an unhappy marriage, and raising her children through all of life's ups and downs, and finally pursuing her dreams. This book was very easy to read. In fact, I was able to read it in two days. I found the story line interesting and easy to follow. I did not find the book to be very inspirational. Ms. O'Neal had alot of breaks in her life due to her son's wealth and fame. This isn't to say that she did not have her own personal drive to achieve her accomplishments without the help of Shaq, but she did have many financial advantages that ordinary people can not relate to. If you are looking for an interesting story line and a book that is easy to read, this might be the book for you. If you are looking for an inspirational story you can relate to, I do not think this is a good choice.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Inspirational Memoir

    "Walk Like You Have Somwhere to Go" is a memoir of Lucille O'Neal's life. If you didn't recognize the last name, Lucille is the mother of NBA icon, Shaquille O'Neal. Lucille felt her life's journey could be of some spiritual encouragement to others and she decided to write this memoir.


    Lucille is very upfront and honest about her life before and after the fame and fortune of her oldest son, NBA star Shaquille O'Neal.


    Without giving away too much of the book, here's my review. Lucille shares her life story in a warm and conversational way. Lucille had a difficult childhood feeling unloved by family, feeling awkward amongst her peers, being a teen mom, and being in an unhappy marriage.


    After all that Lucille went through in the past she reflects back and sums up her past state of mind as "mental welfare". Lucille coined the term "mental welfare" as it applies to her life growing up with low self-esteem and a lack of confidence that stemmed from a love-less childhood. Lucille felt these were issues that millions of people faced daily, and she wanted to share her story.


    Lucille's life took a major turn when her oldest son, Shaquille, became a big NBA star, and she became caught up in the whirlwind while sharing in his fame and fortune, it brought out the worst in her. Lucille had feelings of resentment of his success and some surprising negative behaviors arose from her.


    This book was written with spiritual undertones, and Lucille lets it be known that when she was open to change and knew that God had a bigger plan for her life that's when she began her spiritual journey. I personally enjoy inspirational autobiographies and this was an interesting memoir.


    This book is an easy read, flows well, and will definitely hold your attention from beginning to end. What I got from this book is that money can't bring you happiness, but your continued faith in God can bring you the joy and guidance that you need on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Book Review of Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go

    Recently, I read a book by Shaquile Oneal's mother entitled, "Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go: From Mental Welfare to Mental Health". It tells her life journey and overcoming great obstacles a long the way.


    Lucille share with readers how she became pregnant with Shaquille at just 17 years old. Her desire to provide a male role model for her son leads to life living in Germany as a military mother, and dealing with a troubled marriage and alcohol addiction.
    I especially enjoyed the stories of her childhood. She share her fond memories of her youth. Originally from the South, Lucille moved up North with her church going grandparents. This is where she first learned about faith.
    In this book, Lucille will share 40 scriptures that were key in helping her live life as an over comer. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a quick, motivational, and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go by Lucille O'Neal

    In this book Lucille O'Neal, mother of NBA superstar Shaquille O'Neal, shares the story of her life. Lucille's life today is a far cry from growing up in New Jersey where most of her extended family lived in a single house. In this book, O'Neal shares how she went from that house in New Jersey, to being a single teenage mother, an unhappy Army wife and finally how Shaquille became an NBA star and how her life has changed because of that. Throughout the story of her journey O'Neal shares her struggles, her faith and her heart.


    This book is easy to read, the tone is informal and conversational. While it was interesting to learn about Lucille's life, as well as Shaquille's, this book was not a riveting "page-turner." O'Neal does a good job of telling her story, conveying her thoughts and feelings as her life changed over the years, but this book is not a "must read" or a best seller. If you're interested in a quick read and learning more about Lucille or Shaquille's history, this book would be great for you, but don't expect it to be a life changing, awe-inspiring story.

    Disclosure of Material Connection:


    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere To Go By Lucille O'Neal (With Allison Samuels)

    Being related to someone famous, must be a very difficult thing, really!

    Irrespective of whatever you do on your own, you are always seen as "Person X's wife", or "Mr. Y's Mother", Or "Ms. Z's ex-husband". Moving out of this 'brand' is a near-impossible task. Not many have survived this.

    When I saw an autobiography of Lucille O'Neal, I immediately thought she got this assignment only because she is mother of a very famous basketball superstar, and we are forced to read her story just because her son's success as an excellent athlete.

    But pretty soon, Lucille proved me wrong. Its not her last name which is her claim to fame, But her life itself makes a very interesting reading. With co-author Allison Samuels' support, she has beautifully narrated it in a very gripping, inspiring, sometimes funny way.

    The most interesting aspect of the book, according to me is, Lucille explains the struggles she faced in detail, but she never points fingers at anyone. She talks about faith as her only companion during hardships, and also during greener pastures of her life. This attitude seems to be one of the important reasons why she survived such a difficult grill.

    I recommend this book for anyone who don't go by brand value, but are interested in reading honest, true, and inspiring story of a simple human being, and benefit from it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read, but not the best

    Lucille O'Neal exhibits quite a lovable personality as you journey through her book, Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go. However, the book is not without its flaws. As I read through the first third of the book, I felt weighed down with a strange sense of despondency and gloom as "Big Lou" detailed the events of her early life. I wasn't enjoying the book, but couldn't quite put my finger on the reason. Then, on page 103, O'Neal's mother hit the nail on the head as she said, "Lou, stop being so pitiful". I agree! It was almost painful to read page after page of O'Neal's complaining about her less than rosy upbringing. However, by the middle of the book, her writing style seemed to take a turn for the better as she began to narrow in on what exactly was making her feel so miserable.

    Though this was marketed primarily as a book about Shaq's mother, the famous basketball player was very much a secondary character in this memoir, which I found very refreshing (especially after his use of "LOL" in the preface - are you kidding!?) By the time I turned the last page, I felt like she had painted a picture of her life with many important details, including all of her children, her parents, her siblings, and many other important figures in her life. A well rounded bunch of people.

    As for the Christian aspect of this book, the Bible verses placed at the beginning of each seem perfunctory at best. It is not until the last chapter that you begin to feel Lucille has a genuine desire for a relationship with Christ. If Shaquille is a secondary character in this book, God is barely an "honorable mention". As I read over her cursory mentions of "God watching over" her life, I began to feel He was much more of a well placed prop than an actual guiding force.

    Overall, this book on mental health was easy to read, but also easy to forget. Well suited for a day at the beach, but nothing beyond that.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go

    The life story of the mother of NBA star, Shaquille O'Neal, Lucille tells all in this autobiography. A light read inundated by Bible verses to supplement her journey. The book tackles a poignant childhood growing up in the house of her grandparents, away from her mother, a father with a verbal cripple, teenage pregnancy, drinking problems, financial struggles and an unfulfilled marriage that love just cannot support. In spite of all oppression, Lucille emerges triumphant as she tackles each problem when reunited with the God of her childhood.

    I have to admit that I love the title - it's what lured me in the first place. It's an interesting enough read considering I don't know much about the personal lives of NBA stars nor of their families. Very comforting to know is how there are still people who don't let money or fame affect them in an adverse way. Lucille manages to convey her fun-loving, down to earth charisma with every chapter. I am not for divorce but her decision to pursue her desires after she was finally able to identify it, i.e. higher education (and keep pursuing it), even past the age of 40 is powerful for women of today, most especially single mothers. It serves as an interesting read but is not captivating as other autobiographies/biographies that I have come across.

    Bottom line: I would borrow it from the library but I would not buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1