Customer Reviews for

A Walk on the Beach: Tales of Wisdom from an Unconventional Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Joan Anderson is a brilliant writer. She captivates you from you the start and holds you throughout the book. Her messages are simply if you can look at yourself honestly. As you read her books, you will feel as though she knows you and you her for years. She is an amazing woman and in person even more amazing. Read them all you owe it to yourself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Fablous, Witty, Inspirational, Wonderful

    All my friends have read it and love it. For the true woman artist,mother,career woman & world explorer, a must read for every woman. Reminded me of Anne Morrow Lindberg's A Gift by the Sea only better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Touched Me Deeply

    Joan was blessed with an amazing relationship with a wonderful woman. I admire her Ms. Andersons ability to, poignantly, put into words such a life changing experience. I look forward to her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Unconventional Wisdom for Women

    Joan Anderson's keen ability to absorb and poignantly share her mentor, Joan Erickson's 'life lines' is a glorious gift to the reader. Through her writing, the author is truly a 'people changer', an inspiration...it is encouraging to know that it is a good thing to be 'unfinished.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Connection to Ourselves

    I loved this book by Joan Anderson. I have read her first two books about her experiences and think this evolution into a vision beyond just her situation is wonderful. Of course Joan Erikson's journey and wisdom stimulated so much thought. However this is about taking that wisdom and making it your own just as we, the readers, must do with anything we read. Thanks Joan for another great book. Anne S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    One to add to the collection

    An easy read yet full of great insights. It was almost like the reader could become the third friend. I was reminded of several key friendships with other strong women that I have had in my life. One review I read mentioned that married women would like it. I am not married and yet found it an outstanding book to read. It continues to enforce the idea that when a woman takes the time to connect to nature and themselves it increases the value of what they offer to others in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Mentor Relationship

    A Walk on the Beach is the perfect following to Joans Year by the Sea and Unfinished Marriage. It pulls many things from the first two together and and seems a fitting sequal and conclusion (in a sense) after the others. In Year by the Sea you come to see and deal with yourself, in Unfinished Marriage with your significant other and now the richness of a wonderful sharing friendship. Joan has again struck a chord and I will share this book with friends as I have with the first two books. I look forward to my 2nd Weekend by the Sea retreat in 3 weeks and hearing Joan talk about this book more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    A Walk on the Beach: Tales of Wisdom from an Unconventional Woman

    I LOVED A Walk on the Beach. The friendship between Joan Anderson and Joan Erickson is magical. I was amazed at the energy, vitality and zest for life 90 year old Joan Erickson had and shared with Joan Anderson. I was underlining on almost every page. Great words of wisdom, thoughts on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    A Walk on the Beach: Tales of Wisdom from an Unconventional Woman

    As a former manager of an independent bookstore, Joan Anderson's books, especially Year by the Sea practically jumped into our customer's arms. We sold thousands of copies of her books and Joan's readers were not disappointed. Some of our customer's attended her Weekend by the Sea (including myself) and returned changed for the better. I had my highlighter ready and used it generously while reading A Walk on the Beach. The friendship between Joan Anderson (age 50) and Joan Erickson (age 90) is powerful, exciting, magical, invigorating, and there is much wisdom imparted. It's hard to believe Joan Erickson is 90. She has such a zest for life which hasn't diminished just because she's old. She enjoys each day, has fun and is playful and most importantly she believes in sharing what you know. Like A Year by the Sea, A Walk on the Beach can be read and then reread. You'll always learn something new. This book belongs on every woman's bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    ORDER IT NOW!

    I waited eagerly for the release of A Walk On The Beach, and was rewarded with another beautifully written book by Joan Anderson. Joan has a way of connecting with her readers as if they were sitting across from her, talking like old friends. I highly recommend A Walk On The Beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    A Walk Worth Taking

    Anderson's latest literary work is one of her best to date. Full of imagery, humor, and wisdom, A Walk on the Beach will touch your senses and awaken your true self in ways you thought might not happen. As her mentor, Joan Erikson reminded the author, the importance of continuing to learn, grow, change and play as one ages, as well as to be surprised by life and where it leads are the keys to a fulfilling and enriching life. Not just for women, it is a book for all who struggle at times with thoughts and feelings of purpose and significance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Is this all there is?

    The theme of Joan Anderson's books about being an 'unfinished women,' carries over to A Walk on the Beach, her third book about her year by sea on Cape Cod. Joan Anderson shares the wisdom of her friend, Joan Erikson, inspiring all that read this book. The message tells us to identify what we want. Also,the necessity to find purpose in our lives. And as we age, to be in a position where we have a sense of things not ending, but freshly beginning. This book is a beautiful read about friendship, and mentoring by someone who tells you what the matter is. Then inspires you to reach beyond your self-imposed limits to risk breaking out of the mold. I loved the way Joan let the reader peek into her relationship with the person that made such a difference in her life. I'm buying it for my friends of all ages. I loved this gem of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Another great book

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all 3 of Joan Anderson's books sharing her 'intimate and life altering' experiences by living alone for a year, her ongoing challenges in keeping her marriage alive, and the chance meeting of a great friend and mentor in Joan Erikson. Joan Anderson not only is a talented writer, but also one can only admire the courage it took to write down intimate details of her closest relationships. A Walk on the Beach has impacted myself on the importance of 'keeping life alive' every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1