Customer Reviews for

Walk on the Wild Side (Others Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

terrific paranormal romantic suspense thriller

In Tennessee while driving home with her mom Misty, their truck crashes. Misty is unconscious, but Kitty Jane Sugarman manages to get both of them clear of the vehicle. However, they need help desperately, but on the back roads no one is in sight. Somehow while in se...
In Tennessee while driving home with her mom Misty, their truck crashes. Misty is unconscious, but Kitty Jane Sugarman manages to get both of them clear of the vehicle. However, they need help desperately, but on the back roads no one is in sight. Somehow while in severe pain, Kitty Jane for the first time in her life shifts her body she now knows her father is an Other, a lion shapeshifter. --- The Felix of the Red Rock Leos, Martin Lowe is dying from cancer. He wants to meet his daughter before he dies. He sends his trusted aide Marcus ¿Max¿ Stuart to arrange for his meeting Kitty. Max goes to Vegas to meet Kitty at the airport. He is stunned to find an innocent twenty-four years old instead of the hardened easterner that he expected. However, many in the Pride want Max and Kitty out of the way so the can replace Martin and inherit his wealth none expected the strong loving bond between the number two Leo and the daughter of the Felix. --- The latest Others¿ supernatural romance is a strong tale starring a solid cast who make believers that shapeshifters exist. Kitty and Max are a wonderful coupling as they fight, fuss, and purr in love. However, the star is Kitty who had no inkling of her paternal DNA until the accident, but whose steel magnolia personality comes in handy as she deals with her dad¿s pride, a totally new side of the family with at least one or more wanting her either frightened back to backwoods Tennessee or dead. Fans will enjoy the war between love and avarice as Christine Warren provides another terrific paranormal romantic suspense thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

NEVER VERBALLY ABUSE YOUR PARTNER LIKE MAX DID KITTY-IT IS NOT OK

DO NOT USE VERBALLY ABUSIVE LANGUAGE WITH YOUR LOVE INTEREST!!! I could not believe it when Max called Kitty a "little idiot" and then this type of comment continued through out the book. For those of you who may not realize- including the author- phrases like "little i...
DO NOT USE VERBALLY ABUSIVE LANGUAGE WITH YOUR LOVE INTEREST!!! I could not believe it when Max called Kitty a "little idiot" and then this type of comment continued through out the book. For those of you who may not realize- including the author- phrases like "little idiot" and other derrogatory comments are absolutely verbally abusive, and I was extremely offended by it. I kept reading in hopes the author would somehow turn this around, but to no avail. And rightly so, considering if someone uses put downs and calls their lover names, it will not stop. A lot of romance novelists set up characters that are extremely controlling (which in itself is abusive) toward their female partners, but this was way too obvious for me to ignore. Authors need to be VERY careful about the type of relationships set up between their couples in the stories they write. Millions of women read these and then think - oh- it must be ok for my boyfriend/partner to call me names, it's just teasing or a love name-NOT!!! IT IS NEVER OK.

posted by DV_ADV on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific paranormal romantic suspense thriller

    In Tennessee while driving home with her mom Misty, their truck crashes. Misty is unconscious, but Kitty Jane Sugarman manages to get both of them clear of the vehicle. However, they need help desperately, but on the back roads no one is in sight. Somehow while in severe pain, Kitty Jane for the first time in her life shifts her body she now knows her father is an Other, a lion shapeshifter. --- The Felix of the Red Rock Leos, Martin Lowe is dying from cancer. He wants to meet his daughter before he dies. He sends his trusted aide Marcus ¿Max¿ Stuart to arrange for his meeting Kitty. Max goes to Vegas to meet Kitty at the airport. He is stunned to find an innocent twenty-four years old instead of the hardened easterner that he expected. However, many in the Pride want Max and Kitty out of the way so the can replace Martin and inherit his wealth none expected the strong loving bond between the number two Leo and the daughter of the Felix. --- The latest Others¿ supernatural romance is a strong tale starring a solid cast who make believers that shapeshifters exist. Kitty and Max are a wonderful coupling as they fight, fuss, and purr in love. However, the star is Kitty who had no inkling of her paternal DNA until the accident, but whose steel magnolia personality comes in handy as she deals with her dad¿s pride, a totally new side of the family with at least one or more wanting her either frightened back to backwoods Tennessee or dead. Fans will enjoy the war between love and avarice as Christine Warren provides another terrific paranormal romantic suspense thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of her Best!!!!

    As always christine warren delivers a wonderful action and romance filled novel. I liked how this was a bit different from the rest of the other novels with new characters and a completely different setting. This book kept my full attention from cover to cover. Two thumbs way Up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    fantastic

    I've reread this one multiple times and it's still an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Walk on the Wild Side is a Wild and Wonderful Ride!

    Kitty is an average, 24yr old, young southern librarian who realizes her life isn't so average when a tragic car accident causes her to shift into a lion or "Leo Other". Never knowing her presumed dead father was a Leo, Kitty's normal human life has just been sent into a tailspin. Kitty's grandfather, the only father figure Kitty has ever known, tells her that not only is her father alive but also the leader of the Los Vegas Leo Pride. Shocked with this new and frightening side herself, Kitty accepts an invitation to meet her father and travels to Los Vegas. That is where she meets Max, second in command of the Red Rock Pride and appointed heir to her father's legacy. Kitty must face repeated threats to her life by an unknown force, deal with the knowledge that she is something other than just human, an illness that is killing her biological father and his horrible family that hates her and thinks she is out to steal a very sizable inheritance. Max is instantly drawn to Kitty and recognizes her as his mate and will stop at nothing to protect her and keep her safe.

    I laughed and cried as I felt my heart clench with Kitty and her struggles to find herself. I couldn't put it down. The attraction between Max and Kitty is very heated and includes some very steaming love scenes, but it did not overshadow the story. All in all this was one of my favorite in the Others Series and one of my favorits overall reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this story, this series is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    This is how It's done.

    Another slam dunk in the series. A great story and characters you care about. Such a joy reading these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book in the Others series! I think it is

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book in the Others series! I think it is the best in the series and a great reread book. I was hooked from the first chapter and finished it the next day. I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys paranormal romance series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Best one of the series yet!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book in the Others series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good Read

    i have to say this was not one of favorite in the series but it was good. I just don't know how she comes up with all these different ideas. Anyone that has read her books will enjoy the series. Go for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    AWESOME SAMPLE

    AWESOME SAMPLE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Got to Love Christine Warren's Books!!!!

    I was not sure about this one at first. It does not have any of the known characters in it, but once I got through the first chapter I was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Others series

    Im not going to expain the books of christine warren because it would give to much away if i did. If you like romantic otherworldly books this is a definate must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great book good story line

    great book loved the characters,the plot grabbed you from the beginning.I would recommend this book to anyone who love shapeshifters and mystery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    A M A Z I N G

    This book is an amazing read. It has passion, love, conflict, action, && my favorite...LEOS =] haha definately check this book out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Couldn't put it down

    I was expecting a 5th installment in the series of Others with this book. In my opinion a series has related characters and stories. Though Walk on the Wild Side was definitely an Others novel, it was not part of a series started by the previous books. However, it was still an amazing read. I read this book in one day. It was erotic and intense. Can't wait for Ms. Warren's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    yay

    I love it!! what else is there to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4