Customer Reviews for

A Walk to Remember (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2099 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1590)

4 Star

(307)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Love Story <3 A MUST READ book!

A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is...
A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is no classic love story, but a story that could touch anyone's heart. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. In fact, after you read the book, go see the movie! It is even better on film. :)

posted by morgancheer1123 on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Painfully slow and predictable

I can't believe the high ratings other readers have given this boring bit of pubescent fluff. I've read Sparks before, but was dreadfully disappointed in this sorry attempt at a touching novel. Do yourself a favor and skip it.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Love Story <3 A MUST READ book!

    A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is no classic love story, but a story that could touch anyone's heart. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. In fact, after you read the book, go see the movie! It is even better on film. :)

    34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Inspirational!!!

    Funy how things work, I too have been diagnosed with a fatal disease. I am with the man I fell in love with when were 17, after a decade and a half years later.
    We always loved eachother but unfortunate events happened back then causing us to lose contact. We reunited after he found me on facebook and read my profile. He was shocked to learn of my illness, but he still wanted to be with me, even after all these years, even though I am sick and we won't grow old together. I love him very very much.
    I must admit, this story has given me the inspiration to marry my truest love! We plan on doing it, but private. That is where Jamie and me differ, I don't like crowds! Of course, I am not a Saint like her character is either, though people cannot understand why I am so cheerful, optimistic, and happy. I say it is because you have to believe in hope and never let yourself get down or you will just get sicker that much faster.
    Nicholas Sparks hits the nail right on the head with this incredible story!
    Believe, hope, faith and love!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    A Walk To Remember, I'm in love

    ¿In every way, a walk to remember.¿ In A Walk to Remember, by Nicholas Sparks, seventeen year-old Landon Carter is a senior at Beaufort high school. Every year, the high school and the local Baptist church puts on the play The Christmas Angel written by the minister of the church. The play features seniors. Landon gets casts as the male lead role, while his opposite is Jamie Sullivan, the minister¿s daughter. Jamie is not accepted by her classmates. She carries around a bible and is extremely religious. Jamie and Landon start spending most of their time together. They even go to the homecoming dance together. Landon learns of Jamie¿s dream and all Landon wants to do is to fulfill it. This realistic fiction novel was amazingly well written which is expected from Nicholas Sparks. The book pulls you in right away. The way Sparks writes this novel as a memory is a great way of telling a story. The way he describes Beaufort, North Carolina, it feels like you have been there a thousand times.This was a fun book that I really enjoyed. A Walk to Remember was a fast read that I didn¿t put down. A great book for ages 12 and up. This story is about Landon and Jamie who accidently fall in love. Landon is a bad boy and Jamie is a goody two shoes that goes to church. Landon pulls a prank on a kid and gets him put in the hospital and Landon has to do community service hours, so he gets assigned to a play at the school that Jamie helps him with. At first he just wants it to be over, but like every good story there¿s a twist. Jamie has a secret, will she tell him? This book is one of the best books I have ever read, no joke, I would defiantly suggest this book, I didn't put it down once. Will Jamie tell Landon her secret? Will they get married? Will they go their separate ways? Read this astonishing book, A Walk to Remember. A defiant book that I would want my children to read, very good heart warming, tear jerking, story.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is absolutley amazing!!!!!!! Ive watched the movie but nothing beats the actual book.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm in Love...

    I read this book a while back and still reminisce on it as of now. This story of two people who'd never would cross worlds will amaze you. It is a great read for a love story. Nicholas Sparks is a beautiful writer and will never let me down with his ability to move around cliche. I'm sure anyone who will pick up this book will love it all the way through. Very much Recommended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great romance

    I L.O.V.E this book, it was a great romance, and it was also very sad how it ended. But I cant wait to rent the movie to watch. Jamie Sullivan reminded me so much of me, I go to church and have the same beliefs as her. And it is just as hard to find a guy with the same belief are to even get you as a person as it was back then. And it was just a reminder for me to be myself. And if a guy doesn't like you for who you are and what you believe then that's his lost!!!! Young girls please read this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    Painfully slow and predictable

    I can't believe the high ratings other readers have given this boring bit of pubescent fluff. I've read Sparks before, but was dreadfully disappointed in this sorry attempt at a touching novel. Do yourself a favor and skip it.

    6 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Tear-jerker

    This was the most amazing book I've ever read. I fell in love with it and the undying love of the main characters. It is beautifully written, and deserves so much praise. P.S. I cried 6 times reading this!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Sparks's best story!

    A walk to remember is far away the best novel Nicholas Sparks have write. Astonish, mesmerizing, Jamie will take your breath away teaching you to do not judge someone by his look. . . I liked it a lot more than The notebook.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Book REviEw from da hood : E107

    this was such a great book. it had many key aspects that kept me interseted in the book and made the story flow very well. Great story line of a typical love story but had some different aspects that kept it original. while reading this book i could relate becuase i have recently lost a friend who i loved dearly. this book touched my heart and is very moving. it contains biblical principles and is a superb read. although i must say that the ending waz a bit sudden and seemed that Sparks just wanted it to end quickly which left the reader hang'n off da cliff. it waz for da most part a book wit swagga and it was chill like my ice! betta read da book homie dog G fresh killa> WAZ GOOD SUN< White boy fresh aka Gordo from da hood.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    <3

    I dont remmeber ever readig one of his bbooks ad not crying! They r the best ever!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book.

    This novel will actually make you tear. It's one of those few books out there that give you that feeling when it's over- a feeling of enlightenment or so.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Too good to be true.

    I am not hard hearted, and I am, indeed, a Christian. However, unlike so many others, I did not cry as a result of reading this rather empty tale. I feel that it's trite, has a weak plot and that the characters are rather artificial. I, too, grew up in the fifties, graduating from high school in 1954. I had a reputation among my classmates for being too religious. I taught Sunday School, was president of the youth group of my church and attended weekly prayer meetings. However, in no way, did I measure up to Jamie's level of perfection. Although she is dying, she's just too perfect to be believed. Other details in the story are unrealistic. Jamie knows Landon for such a short time when she gives him her Bible, the same one her mother had at the time Jamie was born. That's a rather special gift to give someone so early on in a relationship, when, most likely, Jamie's father had given the Bible to her mother and, therefore, would be the natural recipient, were she to give it away. Reference is made to Rev. Sullivan baptizing babies. This is in error, since Baptists practice believer's baptism by immersion, only, and forbid infant baptism. With way too much sex and violence on the best seller list today, most of us enjoy a really wholesome story. However, to be satisfying, such a title needs a well developed plot, believable characters and an accomplished literary style. This title falls short all around. Sorry.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing

    I absolutely lovw nicolaus sparks book, but this book touched me just a little bit mor becausw my own cousin zayn has loukemia, he has been cured but i still remember seeing everyone around me go throuh the pain theu did. So considering that ajd after reading this book i was very touched.
    Also read the last song if you like this, its very much like this book, but longer and maybe just a tad better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Best book eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    A walk to remember

    Woah. This book was soo amazing! If you like books that can make you cry, this one is for you. I cried so hard while reading this book, it was definatly by far one of the best books ive read all year. It was so touching.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A walk to remember

    I LOVE this book!!! It is sooo touching in a way that i cannot explain :) it is 100% the best book i have ever read! Nicholas Sparks has once again come up with a classic story that people will love to read for generations! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Really heartwarming story!

    Omg! This book almost made me cry and I usually never cry. This story is so good! I could not put it down! One of the best romance books eva! So totally worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A walk to remember

    Wow this was the best book ever...i loved it and after i watched the movie too...both of them are ammmmazinggg

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!

    I love this book!!! I read in like 4 times! I always cry and i love the movie. It is one of those novels you can't put down. I LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106