Customer Reviews for

A Walk to Remember

Average Rating 4.5
( 2118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1606)

4 Star

(310)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Love Story <3 A MUST READ book!

A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is...
A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is no classic love story, but a story that could touch anyone's heart. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. In fact, after you read the book, go see the movie! It is even better on film. :)

posted by morgancheer1123 on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Painfully slow and predictable

I can't believe the high ratings other readers have given this boring bit of pubescent fluff. I've read Sparks before, but was dreadfully disappointed in this sorry attempt at a touching novel. Do yourself a favor and skip it.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I enjoy reading this book and Nicholas Sparks is my favorite aut

    I enjoy reading this book and Nicholas Sparks is my favorite author to read. I didn't like how Landon went to the homecoming dance with Jamie then he didn't want nothing to do with her after that. I glad he finally got over that. The book start to be a love story. At the end of the book is was sad that Jamie got cancer. -YR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    walk to remember

    This book sounds amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good story

    Although in most cases the book is better than the movie, I really feel like the movie portrayed this story better. The movie made me Feel more for the characters than the book.
    I like the story, but I would have been fine with just watching the movie and never buying or reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Painfully slow

    I enjoy Nicholas Sparks from time to time and this one was just a snoozer. I had to force myself to finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Need help......

    Ok so ive seen the movie but never really got it. What happened to Jamie at the end??
    want to know before i buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Sad and Funny all rolled into one.

    For the most part the book was good. It did get a bit predictable and the end was a little sad and confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Decent

    Not as good as the last song and only 124 pages. But ive read way worse books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Ehh......sort of........

    The begginning is REALLY boing!!!!! I am still reading the book right now, and im on like page 58 or something. So far, its not really that interesting. Im kinda pushing myself to read the whole entire book. I donno. Maybe it will get better later onin the book. I hope so. I LOVE all of Sparks' books!!!!! I here that the movie for A Walk To Remember is really good. I'll just try to get through the book as fast as i possibly can. I've been told that the ending is heart-breakingly sad.

    Anyways............good luck reading, world!! Enjoy life!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Ehhhh

    I thought it was a great story but nothing at all like the movie. Which was fine but i dont think it was as good. I wish nicholas sparks books were a tad bit longer but i guess that is just his writing style. Idk the ending of the book felt extremely rushed but it was still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    ok

    I can relate to the movie alot easier than the book. If you have not watched the movie, you should :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Romance for the Simple Mind

    A walk to remember is centered in small town, 1950's teenage romance. It's sweet and light hearted, but doesn't illustrate much passion in its romances. It's modest and pretty much the kind of romance a parent would want for their teen: Sweet and monitered. Even the setting is mild mannered as you picture a serene beach town setting with relaxed emotion. Not much dare or drama within, but enough for maybe a 12 year-old homeschooled girl. The characters are lovable and easy to know when it comes to personalities, which are really not complex and at times stereotypical. You know the town punk when you first read his name, or the kindly neighbor. The writing isn't provoking, but very easy to read and you can really glide right through it in a day. The events within are not hard to guess ahead of time and are not riveting. Those who look for a passionate, adventurous, provocative will have to look else where. But if you are about 36 years old and have nothing to do on a Sunday afternoon, here, take it and go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    A Reading that I Will Not Remember

    Although Nicholas Sparks is a well known Romance writer, I do not enjoy reading his frilly romantic novels. When his writing style is combined with the drawn out love plot, the text becomes to wishy washy for my perfered style of reading. If I enjoyed reading Romance novels, I would most likely appreciate the content of this novel more and this review would not be focused on the predictability of this literary work. On a good note, Sparks incorportated many historical allusions throughout the text that created a feeling of nostalgia in my mind.

    For an audience that enjoys reading Romantic stories, this book would be the perfect quick read for any occasion. If you perfer reading books that throw unexpected twists in the plot, you would most likely appreciate the ending and beginning of this book. Sparks creates vivid imagery for the reader, which allows them to invision the romance scenes for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Ehhhhhh, it was just ok

    The novel "A Walk to Remember" is a touchy love story that involves an abrupt heartbreaking ending. I didn't enjoy it that much, but I guess if your a female looking for a reason to cry then this is the book to read. Otherwise I see it as a book to sit on the shelf untouched doing what it does best, staying closed from book cover to book cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was just ok.

    The story line was good but i thought the book just flew by. it was very short to begin with but the auther never went into any real detail about what was going on. yeah its a touching story and all but the writing just sorta ruined the book for me. but i recomend this book if you are looking for a quick read. definatly not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chick-flickish

    In this novel by Nicholas Sparks, narrator Landon reflects back on the events of his senior year. Landon is the typical teenage boy, more interested in girls than his schoolwork and occasionally causing trouble with his buddies. When Landon is elected class president, he becomes desperate to find a date the school dance; but the only girl left to take is Jamie, the preacher's daughter. Through this and being in the Christmas play together, Landon surprisingly becomes fond of Jamie and she is soon his whole world. Since Jamie was brought up a "Bible girl", she enjoys doing charitable activities, which rubs off on Landon and makes him a better person. Seeing that Landon has fallen in love with her, Jamie reveals to him and very private and devastating secret.
    To me, reading this book is the equivalent of going to see a chick flick at the theater; you don't watch the sappy, love-dovey movie unless you want to cry and say "aaawwwww", and you shouldn't read this book if you don't want to have the same reaction. Although I found the book touching and a good way to pass the time, it's not everyone's type of book and probably not many human males would finish it, or even think about picking it up for that matter. Reading the first chapter, you can already assume that at some point, Landon will change his opinion about Jamie and fall in love with her, although it's not so easy to figure out the big twist. Overall, I found the book sweet, inspiring, and predictable. It is also a quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Love Changes Landon

    This book was not my most favorite book. Though I do think Nicholas Sparkes can create characters very well. All Landon Carter wants is to be with Jamie Sullivan and he does a lot of things to make Jamie feel the same way about him. At first Landon is just a troblemaker and just wants Jamie to go to the dance with him. This was not a nice thing to do. But as a favor back to Jamie he does a play with her and falls in love with Jamie. He starts doing nice things like going to the orphange with Jamie at Chistmas. Then Jamie gets a horrible disease and only days to live. Landon sees Jamie constanly and cares for her. He even marries her and shows lots of kindness. The things Landon does for Jamie are very nice things. I think Landon was changed by love from being a troubled person to a very caring and good person. This book was worth reading because the chracters were very well developed even though the story line was not that interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Morphing

    I don't believe that Ovid could write a more bewitching tale of morphing than Sparks has done in A Walk to Remember. It's a good read that will make you cry for the loss of life and be happy for the new day too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Consider reading another book

    Nicholas Sparks is a good writer, but A Walk to Remember is not his best work. Although after the movie it has gotten a huge following, I think people are not looking at the book very critically. Specifically, the ending. I won't ruin it for you, but although it reeks of sappy goodness, the finish was obvious long before it even started. As to Jamie's big secret, from then on the whole book relys on coincidence. And good books/plots should never depend so much on fate. The only really good thing about this book is, if the other reviews are true, it convinced some people to read. So maybe they'll read more and find out how pathetic A Walk to Remember really is. It plays off of the themes in his better books, and is truly just a sad, unbelievable romance novel rewrite. The most pathetic thing about this book is that if Mr. Sparks had just spent a little more time and effort on it, A Walk to Remember could have been a good book. He can write much better books, but this one is not an example of that. The only thing I got out of this book is a deep regret that a good author sank so low.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Good book but sad..

    I thought the book was good but i just thought it was very sad. Not exactly the book you want to read if you are going through a rough time and already sad. It does teach many good lessons though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6