BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Walk to Remember

Average Rating 4.5
( 2103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1592)

4 Star

(309)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Love Story <3 A MUST READ book!

A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is...
A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is no classic love story, but a story that could touch anyone's heart. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. In fact, after you read the book, go see the movie! It is even better on film. :)

posted by morgancheer1123 on February 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Painfully slow and predictable

I can't believe the high ratings other readers have given this boring bit of pubescent fluff. I've read Sparks before, but was dreadfully disappointed in this sorry attempt at a touching novel. Do yourself a favor and skip it.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1592 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 80
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Love Story <3 A MUST READ book!

    A Walk to Remember is the most heartfelt and touching story you will ever pick up. It as an engaging book that anyone could get into. The different personalities of the two main characters, Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter, will make you want to read on forever. This is no classic love story, but a story that could touch anyone's heart. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone. In fact, after you read the book, go see the movie! It is even better on film. :)

    35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Inspirational!!!

    Funy how things work, I too have been diagnosed with a fatal disease. I am with the man I fell in love with when were 17, after a decade and a half years later.
    We always loved eachother but unfortunate events happened back then causing us to lose contact. We reunited after he found me on facebook and read my profile. He was shocked to learn of my illness, but he still wanted to be with me, even after all these years, even though I am sick and we won't grow old together. I love him very very much.
    I must admit, this story has given me the inspiration to marry my truest love! We plan on doing it, but private. That is where Jamie and me differ, I don't like crowds! Of course, I am not a Saint like her character is either, though people cannot understand why I am so cheerful, optimistic, and happy. I say it is because you have to believe in hope and never let yourself get down or you will just get sicker that much faster.
    Nicholas Sparks hits the nail right on the head with this incredible story!
    Believe, hope, faith and love!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    A Walk To Remember, I'm in love

    ¿In every way, a walk to remember.¿ In A Walk to Remember, by Nicholas Sparks, seventeen year-old Landon Carter is a senior at Beaufort high school. Every year, the high school and the local Baptist church puts on the play The Christmas Angel written by the minister of the church. The play features seniors. Landon gets casts as the male lead role, while his opposite is Jamie Sullivan, the minister¿s daughter. Jamie is not accepted by her classmates. She carries around a bible and is extremely religious. Jamie and Landon start spending most of their time together. They even go to the homecoming dance together. Landon learns of Jamie¿s dream and all Landon wants to do is to fulfill it. This realistic fiction novel was amazingly well written which is expected from Nicholas Sparks. The book pulls you in right away. The way Sparks writes this novel as a memory is a great way of telling a story. The way he describes Beaufort, North Carolina, it feels like you have been there a thousand times.This was a fun book that I really enjoyed. A Walk to Remember was a fast read that I didn¿t put down. A great book for ages 12 and up. This story is about Landon and Jamie who accidently fall in love. Landon is a bad boy and Jamie is a goody two shoes that goes to church. Landon pulls a prank on a kid and gets him put in the hospital and Landon has to do community service hours, so he gets assigned to a play at the school that Jamie helps him with. At first he just wants it to be over, but like every good story there¿s a twist. Jamie has a secret, will she tell him? This book is one of the best books I have ever read, no joke, I would defiantly suggest this book, I didn't put it down once. Will Jamie tell Landon her secret? Will they get married? Will they go their separate ways? Read this astonishing book, A Walk to Remember. A defiant book that I would want my children to read, very good heart warming, tear jerking, story.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is absolutley amazing!!!!!!! Ive watched the movie but nothing beats the actual book.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A movie was made after the book was released following the same

    A movie was made after the book was released following the same story line as the book. There are many comparisons between the book and the movie but three major ideas stand out. The main points differ but still follow the same basic idea.Landon being the son of a Congressman and a member of a well-to-do family that really isn't liked all that much by the old timers because how that family came into power and wealth, seems to be a decent kid in spite of it. A series of events brings him to Jamie's door out of desperation. What began as a quick fix turns into something more.




    At the start of the unlikely relationship, Landon has a slight scrape and Jamie, being the daughter of a preacher and bible carrying sweetheart makes the comment, "I prayed for you." Not to be a spoiler but that simple statement that is so appropriate takes on a whole new meaning by the end of the book. And let me say, I was blindsided by the real meaning when it was revealed, simply masterful writing. Wow,




    Now, the funny thing is, I got so caught up in this book, I stayed there and read the book to completion. I must admit, the words written in the prologue are true, "First you'll smile, then you'll cry" I was completely immersed in this tale of coming to terms with life and death, with growing up fast, the change of values and getting the bigger picture in life. A touching tale that affects not only all the characters in the book, with an awareness of what our actions mean to others and the power of forgiveness, but it will leave the reader a better person for having read this book.
     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm in Love...

    I read this book a while back and still reminisce on it as of now. This story of two people who'd never would cross worlds will amaze you. It is a great read for a love story. Nicholas Sparks is a beautiful writer and will never let me down with his ability to move around cliche. I'm sure anyone who will pick up this book will love it all the way through. Very much Recommended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great romance

    I L.O.V.E this book, it was a great romance, and it was also very sad how it ended. But I cant wait to rent the movie to watch. Jamie Sullivan reminded me so much of me, I go to church and have the same beliefs as her. And it is just as hard to find a guy with the same belief are to even get you as a person as it was back then. And it was just a reminder for me to be myself. And if a guy doesn't like you for who you are and what you believe then that's his lost!!!! Young girls please read this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Tear-jerker

    This was the most amazing book I've ever read. I fell in love with it and the undying love of the main characters. It is beautifully written, and deserves so much praise. P.S. I cried 6 times reading this!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Sparks's best story!

    A walk to remember is far away the best novel Nicholas Sparks have write. Astonish, mesmerizing, Jamie will take your breath away teaching you to do not judge someone by his look. . . I liked it a lot more than The notebook.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    <3

    I dont remmeber ever readig one of his bbooks ad not crying! They r the best ever!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book.

    This novel will actually make you tear. It's one of those few books out there that give you that feeling when it's over- a feeling of enlightenment or so.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing

    I absolutely lovw nicolaus sparks book, but this book touched me just a little bit mor becausw my own cousin zayn has loukemia, he has been cured but i still remember seeing everyone around me go throuh the pain theu did. So considering that ajd after reading this book i was very touched.
    Also read the last song if you like this, its very much like this book, but longer and maybe just a tad better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Best book eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A walk to remember

    I LOVE this book!!! It is sooo touching in a way that i cannot explain :) it is 100% the best book i have ever read! Nicholas Sparks has once again come up with a classic story that people will love to read for generations! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Really heartwarming story!

    Omg! This book almost made me cry and I usually never cry. This story is so good! I could not put it down! One of the best romance books eva! So totally worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A walk to remember

    Wow this was the best book ever...i loved it and after i watched the movie too...both of them are ammmmazinggg

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!

    I love this book!!! I read in like 4 times! I always cry and i love the movie. It is one of those novels you can't put down. I LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    Another great read by Nicholas Sparks

    Nicholas Sparks is a great author. This book will keep you wanting more. A beautiful and touching story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    A walk to remember

    This was a really sweet story of small town life, boy meets girl and love conquers all. I personally really enjoyed that it had a lot of references in trusting in the Lord. True love should always be like this story in the fact that no matter what trials you have to go through you always work through it together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    LOVELY!!!

    BEST BOOK EVER. LOVED THE MOVIE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1592 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 80