Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead: The Road to Woodbury

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great terrific

This is a fantastic follow-up to The Rise Of The Governor. The first book showed us the beginnings of the man we will come to call The Governor. This book continues with how he ran the city of Woodbury before Rick and the gang ever knew about it. We see many sides of Ph...
This is a fantastic follow-up to The Rise Of The Governor. The first book showed us the beginnings of the man we will come to call The Governor. This book continues with how he ran the city of Woodbury before Rick and the gang ever knew about it. We see many sides of Phillip, and what he has to become and do to be leader. Him overthrowing Gavin had already taken place as the story begins. That would have made for a good story, but this is just as great. Looking forward to the next novel they decide to write. A must read for fans of the comics and graphic novels.

posted by RJ_DANIELS on November 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Less than adequate sequel to Rise of the Governor

After reading the Rise of the Governor, I was excited to pick this up but this book is no where near as great as the first of the series. It follows different characters and that wouldn't have been a bad thing if they were as well crafted as Phillip and Brian from the f...
After reading the Rise of the Governor, I was excited to pick this up but this book is no where near as great as the first of the series. It follows different characters and that wouldn't have been a bad thing if they were as well crafted as Phillip and Brian from the first book. I found myself only reading this book since I paid $15 for it. The story is boring and I found myself not caring about any of the characters we follow. It was also tremendously predicatable. The only intresting parts of this book were the non-frequent parts that revolved on the Governor. Aside from that, this book really doesn't the series justice. Here's to hoping that the next installment is at least subpar with the Rise of the Governor.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Great terrific

    This is a fantastic follow-up to The Rise Of The Governor. The first book showed us the beginnings of the man we will come to call The Governor. This book continues with how he ran the city of Woodbury before Rick and the gang ever knew about it. We see many sides of Phillip, and what he has to become and do to be leader. Him overthrowing Gavin had already taken place as the story begins. That would have made for a good story, but this is just as great. Looking forward to the next novel they decide to write. A must read for fans of the comics and graphic novels.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Less than adequate sequel to Rise of the Governor

    After reading the Rise of the Governor, I was excited to pick this up but this book is no where near as great as the first of the series. It follows different characters and that wouldn't have been a bad thing if they were as well crafted as Phillip and Brian from the first book. I found myself only reading this book since I paid $15 for it. The story is boring and I found myself not caring about any of the characters we follow. It was also tremendously predicatable. The only intresting parts of this book were the non-frequent parts that revolved on the Governor. Aside from that, this book really doesn't the series justice. Here's to hoping that the next installment is at least subpar with the Rise of the Governor.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    The Walking Dead is beginning to decompose

    I read The Walking Dead, Rise of the Governor when it came out and was infinitely more pleased with that novella than its successor. The Road to Woodbury is a quickly put-together piece of post-apocalyptic drivel. I don't know if it follows the graphic novels, but on its own it does not stand up to the hype that the television series has garnered. I ALWAYS prefer reading books over watching an adaptation, but this is the first time that I have to say I prefer it the other way around. The character development in this book is superficial and shallow, at best. The plot is predictable and not very entertaining. I love these kinds of books, but this is close to the bottom of my list. I've given it 2 stars only because it did leave me with some questions at the end and I'm hoping that the next book in the series will be better.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I think if you are a fan of the Comics and TV show, this book gi

    I think if you are a fan of the Comics and TV show, this book gives more background to those living in Woodbury. Better backstory for how The Governor becomes more evil, feeding off of the goings on in Woodbury. The book starts with Lilly and her group's story until they find their way to Woodbury. Its a parallel story to Rick's group. But Woodbury is not the safe haven it seems to be at first. . . Good read for fans of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Great Read

    I didn't want the book to end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    I loved the

    I loved the first on so i hope i will love this one

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    This is gonna be good!

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No good

    I love the walking dead comics amd tv series and even the rise of the govorner book which i recomend btw ..but this book was just boring the begonning was good and i figured the rest would be great but for me it just got worse as the book went on. It was boring and i fell asleep reading it idk how many times. The ending was horrible and a huge let down. Period.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Sweeet.....

    Couldnt put the friggin nook down dang it,i agree..wasnt as good as "Rise of the Governor"..but it was still a decent follow up..Whyd they have to kill ma man Josh?whats uo with that...as i too am i giant of a man, and his chaeacter reminded me of myself...oh well ..hell of a book..WHENS THE NEXT BOOK COME OUT??!!..I HAVEM ALL!..THE ARD COVERS ..THE COMICS,...BUT I WANT TO READ ANOTHER SIDE STORY..there a lil bit of alright...

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Will there be a third in the series? I could not put this book

    Will there be a third in the series? I could not put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good read

    Similar to the tv show but with sone different characters and scenarios. A little predictable but still a fun book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Lel

    I live at woodbury

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    To read my post on res one and two

    Its michonne, glenn and maggie nutcase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    LOVED IT!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    What happened??

    How could Rise of the Governor be so good and the follow up by the exact same authors be so horrible?? I felt like i was reading a cheesy, predictible, shallow and stereotypical teen romance novel. It was obvious to myself that i was reading it quickly just to get it over with. The ball was dropped in a big way on this one and, hopefully, Fall of the Governor will be much better than this horrible rush job of a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    The walking dead: The road to woodbury

    Love the show and the comics and books can not wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    A lesson on the history of Woodbury

    Instead of continuing with novels straight from The Governors point of view The Road to Woodbury gives readers a new look at the back story of eventual Woodbury resident Lily Caul. Lily's story is just as intriguing and tragic as any of the comics or the TV series. Readers get to see a closer look at the darker side of Woodbury and just how unsavory its origins are. The novel manages to balance exploring the story of Lily and other residents while still showing the deterioration of The Governor's sanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Love Zombies

    If anyone had told me I would love "zombie" books I would have called them crazy, but, as with all books the story and the people make a good book and this has both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    READ MY POSTS ON RES ON AND TWO

    SHANE WAS A PEICE OF **** IM HapPY RICK KILLED HIM.IM SAD DALE AND LORI DIED.... I LIK HE BEW BABY WHO DARYL CALLS ***KICKER. MY 1rst fav charecteris who i call grim reaper the girl wirh sword 2. Daryl 3. The korean kid. 4 the daughter... dating korean kid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5