Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Walking Dead Fans Will LOVE IT!!

I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is s...
I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.

posted by Tiger_Girl on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good.....but short

Great story, but not worth 11.99. Very short. Worth about7.99.

posted by 7128677 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Walking Dead Fans Will LOVE IT!!

    I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Robert

    Please never stop the walking dead take it to the grave like Stan lee with spiderman

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Good.....but short

    Great story, but not worth 11.99. Very short. Worth about7.99.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mind Blowing! A Must Read for All Walking Dead Fans!

    All the Gory Detailed Imagery of the Graphic Novels & TV Show Written Out and Described in This Picture-less Novel Addition to The Walking Dead Series. If You Are a Fan of the Show or The GN's or Both.....I Would Highly Highly Recommend This Book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

    Even if you are a not a viewer of the television series or a reader of the graphic novels it is based on, this novelization is a very good zombie story. It is action-packed, fast-moving, scary and yes, graphic (but isn't that what we liked about zombie stories).

    The story itself is about a small group of survivors after the zombie outbreak and how they try and love in this new world. One of the characters will become the Governor that is in the title and a major character in the original stories. This didn't deter from this story.

    Each chapter leaves you wanting more and therefore you don't want to stop reading. I think now I will have to check out the TV show and/or the comics!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Fhdhhjfjg Its aswome

    Its a good book read it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Cadillac Escalade

    Ok I was not thrilled with the Escalade wreck as outlined, but was still a great story overall. Almost made The Governor one character you felt sympathy for. Well worth reading if you like the comics.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Great Book

    It had a slow start but really picked up from there. I really enjoyed this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Fantastic

    Great book which rivals the comics and is much better than the show. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    A great sad story

    If you read the graphic novels you will understand this better than watching the Awesome TV show.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Read the origional comics first

    You wont know who 'the govenor' is or what his importance is

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good not great

    I enjoyed the audiobook much more, i also found it a little predictable and uninspired

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I am a die-hard fan of the Walking Dead tv show, and I truly wan

    I am a die-hard fan of the Walking Dead tv show, and I truly wanted to love this book. Unfortunately, the poor writing, atrocious abuse of the English language, misogyny, rape and torture porn, and grotesque obsession with obese zombies rather got in my way. Ultimately, I'll stick with the tv show and graphic novels....

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Walking Dead fans must read!

    Excellent book....helps hold over for the next season. Beware that it is not based on same characters or storyline, but good anyway! DUE TO CONTENT--- NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Recommended if you like the living dead

    I would recommend this book. Kept me coming back to read what's going to happen next. Again, would recommend if you like zombies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Love this book

    I love reading the backstory on The Governor! He is the chaaracter I love to hate but I love seeing him before he turned into such a monster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Recommend

    This book is very well-written, with gruesome details and superb attention to detail. Amazing for any fan of The Walking Dead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    One two three?

    Which book is it in the series?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Amazing

    A really good book for 11-17 y.o. warning very explicit language but you must read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great book!!! Definteley worth the $

    I love the walking dead and this is great! It helped me understand alot more about the Governor "Philip" very exciting unexpected twist ending that somewhat starts to tie into the show but a small dissapointment when their is no Milton in the show apparently Milton knew the govenor before he became governor but i give this book four and a half stars a small problem is it gets predictable and then takes a bit to get to what you think will happen uses a little two many details not saying they need less death scene details great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14