BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Walking Dead Fans Will LOVE IT!!

I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is s...
I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.

posted by Tiger_Girl on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good.....but short

Great story, but not worth 11.99. Very short. Worth about7.99.

posted by 7128677 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Leaves me wanting more

    I have read all of the comics/ graphic novels and have watched every episode of the television series. I loved the book, however, I am still unsettled with the big "reveal". It just doesn't correlate well. That's the only thing I disagree with. Same goes for the TV series. Why all the changes? I can see how some things can't be put on TV, but things have just been made way too different. Some of the changes were good, but most are not. I guess I'm just a big fan of the old adage "If it ain't broke then don't fix it."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it!!

    If you like zombies and the Walking Dead show, you will LOVE this book!! Really fun and well written! A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Suspense, Anxiety & Holy Crap!

    I love the show. I thought I'd try the first book. I'm really glad I did. This book was interesting, fast-paced, surprising, and left me having an anxiety attack through most of it....
    My only problem with it is the actual style of the writing. I really enjoy fine writing like that of Michael Chabon and Barbara Kingsolver, so reading this felt kind of like reading a great story by an amateur author. If you can get past that, it's quite a ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Awesome

    Really good book. Gets a little weird about hlfway through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Amazing!

    A very well written and thorough explanation of the Governor. I am a very big fan of The Walking Dead, and this book serves as a great backbone of Philip's story and his transformation. Has just as much suspense as the show, and I reccomend it to anyone who loves TWD. Money well spent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book, couldn't put it down!

    Loved this book, couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Must read for all walking dead fans

    This book was awesome and will blow your mind at the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Tends to drag a bit in the beginning but has an unexpected twist

    Tends to drag a bit in the beginning but has an unexpected twist at the end. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Came as promised

    The book was in excellent conditon and arrived just like the seller promised. No complaints!Thanks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Awesome...a stand out in the genre!

    I really enjoy reading this book and finding out the back story to the Governor. Pretty "realistic" scenarios and believable characters. I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Watch a man break...

    I thought that this book provided good insight into a man with nothing to loose in a world with nothing to provide. I am glad to see them clarify a very disturbing issue in the comics. It is still disturbing but at least its...Well just read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Just like the watching the TV show, only better.

    This book has a "Holly ****!" moment every chapter. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Back story is always good!

    I really enjoyed this & I cannot wait for Road to Woodbury.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    How long is it

    I love the walking dead but i dont want to waste ten bucks on something less than 100 - 200 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Amazing

    I watched the hit tv show the "Walking Dead" and loved it now i cant wait to read the book! Loved the drama and action through the show! Yaaaaayyyyyy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great

    This spoils the 3 fd season of the tv series

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    I luv beth

    Noooooooooo! Wah! I wana die! One of my fav twd characters just died in the last episode of the dalking dead in 2014 i have o wait till feb to see what happens to my other fav characters! IWISH YOU WHERE STILL HEAR BETH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    I Love The Walking Dead!!!!:)

    Cast Characters
    Rick- Sheriff who got shot and was in the hospital when the whole apocalipse started. He did not know that it had even started. His wife is Lori and his son is Coral. His Best Friend is Shane.
    Shane- is Rick's Best Friend. He is an officer with Rick and he has no wife or kids. He has sex with Lori because since he could not save Rick from the hospital he assumed that he was dead. He told Lori that he was dead and then got her pregnant. He also has sex with Andrea. He causes Otis's death. He saves Coral from dying because he was unintentionally shot by Otis.
    Glenn- An asian teenager who gets Rick out of the Tank and to saftey.When they finally get to the Hershal's farm he meets Maggie who is Hershall's daughter. When Glenn has to run in town for medicine for Hershall he also has to pick up something for Lori(pregnancy test) and when Maggie asks what he needs he accidentally holds up condoms and he says that was not what he really was getting but maggie thinks that he has an affair with someone at camp. Glenn truthfully denys it and then Maggie says she will have sex with him and they do. They date after that. He has to keep two secrets from the group. 1) Lori is pregnant 2) There are Walkers in the barn. Glenn finds out that there are Walkers in there when him d Maggie want to have sex again d Maggie asks him where he wants to and he replies in the hayloft. When he gets in the barn he sees it and Maggie makes him keep secret.
    Andrea- The only girl who wants to help keep watch and kill the Walkers. She has sex with Shane and wants to leave with him. Her sister Amy dies and that really hurt her. When tey got to the science place she wants to stay there but Dale makes her leave.
    T Dog- Loses the key for Merles handkuffs. He slices his arm on the door. Not much to say.
    Dale- Keeps Andrea from dying. He treats Andrea like gis daughter. Is a peaceful man and did not want Randal to die. Kept watch. Kept the secret of the barn and Lori's pregnancy. Dies from a zombie.
    Coral- Rick and Lori's son. Got shot by Otis. He Loved Sofia who goes missing.
    Sofia- is chased by two Walkers and she as to hide. Rick tells her to head back to the highway and she doesnt. She ends up getting bit and is a walker. Rick has to shoot her becausw she was in the barn.
    Carol- Sofia's mom. Is very religious and really likes Daryl because he had hope that Sofia was still alive and he went looking for her.
    Daryl- His brother is Merle and he looked for Sofia. He is a boss too. Love Daryl.
    Hershall- owns the farm where they are staying. He helps Coral and T Dog. He gets his keg cut off and has two daughtets Beth and Maggie.
    Maggie- another boss. Dates Glenn and is really cool.
    Beth- Maggies sister who goes into shock after they kill her walker mother and walker brother. Wanted to comitt suicide.
    Love how they call them walkers the whole time never zombies. They actually never called them zombies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Hey sabrina it is carl

    Do u want to chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Okay.

    It wasn't great or terrible. Does give you information about the origins of the Governer that we haven't gotten from the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14