Customer Reviews for

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Walking Dead Fans Will LOVE IT!!

I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is s...
I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.

posted by Tiger_Girl on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Good.....but short

Great story, but not worth 11.99. Very short. Worth about7.99.

posted by 7128677 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Walking Dead Fans Will LOVE IT!!

    I have been having withdrawals from "The Walking Dead" and was really excited when I saw this at Books-A-Million. If you are a fan of the show you should really enjoy it, and no worries, it won't ruin the next season because the characters aren't the same. The plot is similar in that you have a group of survivors trying to get to Atlanta, in this case it's a group of guys, two brothers, Phil and Brian, Phil's little girl, Penny, and a couple of their friends. Brian struggles to overcome his place in the family as the weaker of the two brothers, even though he's the eldest. They face many dangers and the changes in the dynamics of the group are very interesting. I really enjoyed how this "zombie book" is different from the typical "zombie book" just like "The Walking Dead" is different from the typical zombie movie. They focus on the survival instead of the blood and gore. But no worries, zombie fans; there's plenty of blood and guts to satisfy the biggest zombie fan! I think I would have given this book five stars if there had been more of a love interest in the book, but that's just the girl in me.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

    Even if you are a not a viewer of the television series or a reader of the graphic novels it is based on, this novelization is a very good zombie story. It is action-packed, fast-moving, scary and yes, graphic (but isn't that what we liked about zombie stories).

    The story itself is about a small group of survivors after the zombie outbreak and how they try and love in this new world. One of the characters will become the Governor that is in the title and a major character in the original stories. This didn't deter from this story.

    Each chapter leaves you wanting more and therefore you don't want to stop reading. I think now I will have to check out the TV show and/or the comics!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Recommended if you like the living dead

    I would recommend this book. Kept me coming back to read what's going to happen next. Again, would recommend if you like zombies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Suspense, Anxiety & Holy Crap!

    I love the show. I thought I'd try the first book. I'm really glad I did. This book was interesting, fast-paced, surprising, and left me having an anxiety attack through most of it....
    My only problem with it is the actual style of the writing. I really enjoy fine writing like that of Michael Chabon and Barbara Kingsolver, so reading this felt kind of like reading a great story by an amateur author. If you can get past that, it's quite a ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Tends to drag a bit in the beginning but has an unexpected twist

    Tends to drag a bit in the beginning but has an unexpected twist at the end. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Watch a man break...

    I thought that this book provided good insight into a man with nothing to loose in a world with nothing to provide. I am glad to see them clarify a very disturbing issue in the comics. It is still disturbing but at least its...Well just read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Back story is always good!

    I really enjoyed this & I cannot wait for Road to Woodbury.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2015

    Pretty good book

    Tis a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Entertaining for fans of the comics or TV series.

    The Walking Dead Rise of the Governor takes place in the comic universe but, fans of the TV series will still enjoy it and not be too lost. It starts off unassuming and even a bit slow. However it quickly develops that feel of a Walking Dead story. The novel sheds some interesting light on just how The Governor evolves from a family man fighting for survival to the sadistic leader fans know. Overall its an entertaining start to the novel series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Starts slow but definately picks up.

    Slow start but picks up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Very imformative!

    Being a die hard fan of the show (have never read the comics) getting some back story on this twisted character is just amazing. Not the best written book I've ever read but a great book non the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Can't Put it Down

    Excellent read. For fans of TWD television series, this book offers a glimpse into how The Governor transforms into the man he becomes. Good compliment to the television series. Well written, almost transports the reader into the story. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great!

    Tells a great story about the govorner and his family amd what happened to him to make him the way he is. Written very well..theres a great story behind the govorner. If u love the walking dead youll love this too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good book

    Quick read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Recommend the series. Writers make these novels sarcastic and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Defiantly would love if your a walking dead fan. Never gets bori

    Defiantly would love if your a walking dead fan. Never gets boring. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    An interesting addition to the WD universe

    Overall an intriguing look into the walking dead and one of its most infamous characters. The writing style was a little too simplistic for my taste and it read in about a day. Fans of the COMIC will enjoy this more than fans of the tv series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I wish there was more!

    This story was a shocker and very interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it but wanted more!

    I thought it was great, I watch the Walking Dead but don't read any of the comics, I thought this book was awesome but didn't want it to end where it ended...gimme more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3