Customer Reviews for

Walking Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(484)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

Omg i loved the first one and cant wait to read this one!!!!ekkkkkkkkkkkk!!travis is so hotttttttt!!!!!! It should be intresting hearing it from his side. Aleady counting down the days.

posted by 4366501 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by T

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by Travis? Even worse, did it really take this author a year to come up with the same story? Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 10789756 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by T

    Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by Travis? Even worse, did it really take this author a year to come up with the same story? Don't waste your money!!!

    41 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Same book, different viewpoint

    I cannot say I don't like this book because I really loved Beautiful Disaster. Unfortunately, I make the mistake of re-reading BD the day before this book's release, and it is as if the author simply went through her manuscript and changed the expository writing from Abby's view to Travis' and all of the dialogue is the exact same, with the exception of a few new scenes involving Travis in which Abby was not a part. This being said, the book is as good as the first...because it is the same story, but it will be far more entertaining if you don't refresh yourself on the original...

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

    Omg i loved the first one and cant wait to read this one!!!!ekkkkkkkkkkkk!!travis is so hotttttttt!!!!!! It should be intresting hearing it from his side. Aleady counting down the days.

    30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Walking Disaster is Jamie McGuire's follow up to her wildly succ

    Walking Disaster is Jamie McGuire's follow up to her wildly successful self-published novel Beautiful Disaster. Only this time we get into Travis "Mad Dog" Maddox's head. This book is so anticipated that we who got early copies were lip-locked. Embargoed if you will.




    I think Jamie had a good idea, but the I feel the construction failed. We know the story. We know what happens and seeing it from Travis' point of view doesn't give us insight into him at all. Yeah, we get a few bit of his interaction with his mom, but really how many three year old's remember vividly what happened? Losing a mom is momentous, but when you're three you don't quite understand the significance of it all. So I found the prologue, first chapter a bit weird.




    I wanted more Travis-centric scenes with people other than Abby. I know what happens, I know they fall in love, fight, break up, are a beautiful disaster of a couple. But I wanted to see more of what was making Travis tick. There were a few scenes with him and Shepley that were nice. One scene with his dad that I wish there were more of. I really would've liked to have seen more interaction with his dad and brothers.




    The saving grace of this book for me was the last chapter and the epilogue. Jamie could've written a book on that alone and I would've been extremely happy because she went into uncharted territories that is brought up in BD, but skimmed over. It was a very interesting twist and I thoroughly enjoyed that. Makes me wonder if she'll continue on with that story line? I think it would work.




    For me, 3/4 of the book didn't work. I was bored, wondering when I was going to learn something new. But alas, it never came.




    People will gobble it up and love it. I know that I'll be in the minority on this. I just wish there was more fresh material.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    A total waste of money

    It was the same story all over again. But it also seemed rush. I couldn't even finish the book, cause it was too perdeicatble, I knew exactly what scenes were to come next!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I couldn't wait for this book. I was so excited when it became a

    I couldn't wait for this book. I was so excited when it became available earlier than I had expected. I wanted to love it since I loved the first book. But it was a complete and total let down. Travis was completely lukewarm in this book. The story skipped over/igonored some pivotal parts in the first book and gave zero of Travis' intensity and passion. I am sooooo disappointed. It was as if there was a deadline and the writing was put off until the day before and something needed to be written. I've read lots of her/his perspective books and this was among the bottom of quality of those books.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    so excited for this book to come out

    I loved Beautiful Disaster and can not wait for this one.

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I could not wait for this book to come out only to be very disap

    I could not wait for this book to come out only to be very disappointed! It's like reading Beautiful Disaster all over again!! This isn't really a follow up to the first book. It's the same story told by Travis! Way to go Jamie McGuire, great way to make more money off the same story! Don't waste your money buying this book like I did! Just read Beautiful Disasteragain!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Save your time, money, and love of the first book

    If you loved beautiful disaster keep it that way and dont read this. First off 8 bucks for the book was a little much especially for most of it being a retelling of a book i already purchased. I loved the first book but this one found me skipping pages, it also made me hate abby. The epilogue was nice and the few additional scenes were ok but it was nowhere near the experience i had reading beautiful disaster. Use your 8 bucks to buy 2 or 3 abbi glines or kristen ashley books instead, trust me.o

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Why?!

    Why? Why would she write 300 pages of a story we already know but was actually worse? Why write this lackluster story when there could have been something so much bigger with the epilogue? What a shame and lost oportunity!
    The main body was not good. I didnt get thier connection here. I didnt like Travis and i down righted hated Abby. It felt like the magic elwas gone. This should have been a longer epilouge and not the same story that literaly felt no different, or really it was worse.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Didn't like

    Didn't like this book. I know it was his pov, but still it was the same. Loved the first one, just a little let down with this one. Several typos! Making myself finish it!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Awesome POV Sequel! I loved every word, every page! LOVED LO

    Awesome POV Sequel! I loved every word, every page!




    LOVED LOVED LOVED Walking Disaster! Is it even possible to love Travis Maddox more than before? Yes!!! Absolutely!!!




    Let me start by saying that when I read Beautiful Disaster... I loved it. I loved Travis, Abby/Pidge, America, Shepley, Travis's Dad & Brothers... There was NOT one thing/character that I didn't love... (Well, Parker... But there has to be an interloper  in every story right? And besides that Jamie McGuire wrote Parker very well, I really hated him in the way she intended).




    So to say that I've been dying for months for Walking Disaster to be released is a vast understatement... 




    On to my review: 
    ....I freaking loved this book!!! 




    Walking Disaster was amazing! Yes, it's Beautiful Disaster's story told in Travis's POV, so the same plot & main/major events are there... BUT it doesn't repeat the scenes with Travis & Pidge together verbatim... The words spoken are the same, as any POV book would be, but the thoughts and feelings from Travis's POV are so awesome to experience. Some scenes aren't even in there, instead referencing what happened in a scene that was in Beautiful Disaster. 




    Walking Disaster was so much more than just a POV book, it has a huge amount of different, yet parallel storyline to it. And there's so much of Travis (& his dad and brothers & Shelpley) that we didn't see in Beautiful Disaster, not to mention, and I know I just said it above, but really experiencing Travis's thoughts and feelings was so amazing! It was an experience too, not just reading words on a page, I laughed, and I cried... Just like I did when I read Beautiful Disaster, it touched my heart and my funny bone... OMG, Shepley? Funny and insightful, if I didn't already think that he was perfect for Mare, I would now for sure. Travis's relationship with his Dad & Brothers, awesome to see that side and have more insight into the Maddox family dynamic.




    This is a story about 2 broken people... 




    Travis, a tattooed, underground fighter who is a incredibly sexy, no-strings attached, one-night stander & Abby, a strong willed young woman, running/hiding from her past, determined to start fresh and not to fall into things like what she left behind. In each other they find an unlikely, yet undeniable, healing and intense love. 




    With the odds stacked against them, can their friendship and love survive it? 




    If it were me, in Abby's shoes? I'd definitely say....yes, Travis, I'll take that bet :-) bring it on!




    I never thought it would be possible to love these characters & this story more than I did, but I'm telling you... Walking Disaster double sealed the deal for me. My keeper shelf will be patiently and hopefully waiting for the hardback version to sit next to the signed hardback version of Beautiful Disaster... (Hint Hint Jamie McGuire & Atria Books)








    And something else that is amazeballs that I'm not saying anything else about...








    Review by: Stacy Bailey Darnell/Literary Mania Reviews

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    I cant wait for her book!!!!

    She has become one of my favorite authors!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Just a re-telling....boring!!!!! I thought we would get a whole

    Just a re-telling....boring!!!!! I thought we would get a whole new insight into Travis, but nothing..... I can't figure out what the author thought she was giving the readers.  I know what happened, I read and re-read the first book a hundred times, I had hoped to hear first hand how intense Travis' feelings were.  Sadly, I felt like I wasted my time and money.   

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Not as good as bd

    So i really had high hopes for this pov sequal. I loved BD but this just wasnt up to the first books standard. It was less of the same story, i didnt like any of the characters as well in this book as i did bd, xcpt for america that is. There where scenes that i was hoping to get more out of that were not even covered in this book.it seemed a little like lets wring as much $ as we can outta this book by putting out travis's pov w/o writting a new book. Certainly not as well written as bd and characters lacked character. Though the mattox fam did get more insight the mom scene was too drawn out. Hoping the brothers book will be better than wd and as good as bd

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Meh.... It was just ok. I love, love, loved Beautiful Disaster.

    Meh.... It was just ok. I love, love, loved Beautiful Disaster.  This, however was a disappointment. I was hoping to see such insight into Travis' mind and why he acted the way he did in BD. e author didn't deliver any depth of characters here. In act, I liked Travis LESS. He seemed like a wimp and not at all like the conflicted "Mad Dog" described in Beautiful Disaster.   The redeeming part of this book is the epilogue and view into their future.  Loved that. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    not good. he is a pretty unlikable guy - and she lets a lot mor

    not good. he is a pretty unlikable guy - and she lets a lot more go than a woman should.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book deserves 100 stars!  Amazing and total Hotness!!!  Jam

    This book deserves 100 stars!  Amazing and total Hotness!!!  Jamie blew this story out of the park with Travis's POV.  It really helped to understand a lot of the story through Travis's eyes and fill in some blanks!  I loved loved loved it!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    ¿Travis¿

    So excited!!! I loved Beautiful Disaster so much and have read it multiple times. I am highly anticipating this sequel and know it will be amazing. April come faster please. Or release the book earlier :)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Sexy obsessive posessive

    Travis is a possessive n sexy man that justs wants to do right by abby.... i cant wait to read how travis feels... abby told a great story in beautiful disaster

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39