Customer Reviews for

Walking Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 772 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(488)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

Omg i loved the first one and cant wait to read this one!!!!ekkkkkkkkkkkk!!travis is so hotttttttt!!!!!! It should be intresting hearing it from his side. Aleady counting down the days.

posted by 4366501 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by T

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by Travis? Even worse, did it really take this author a year to come up with the same story? Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 10789756 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 772 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    A very good book written from a guy's view point.....

    I never write reviews. I have read some really good books but never think to review it; however, this one was exceptional. I read Beautiful Distaster and enjoyed it so I was curious about Walking Disaster. I read the some of the reviews about it being basically the same book but still made the decision to read it. I'm glad I did.

    Let me just say this, I usually don't like books told in the "First Person" - don't read them & amke a point of not buying them. I feel like the story is stilted and I don't get enough information. But Beautiful Distaster moved quickly and I found that I was sucked in just a few pages into the story. I liked Abby and Travis and was frustrated, sad, angry and finally happy with them. Moving onto Walking Distaster & reading the story from a "Guy's" point of view was different & I applaud the author for thinking of it. But more than that I think the story was deeper, more emotional - better from Travis's side of things. He made me want to cry - Abby didn't - but Travis did.

    That's the sign of a REALLY good story in my book. If I get pulled under - can't put it down - and feel for the characters - even written in the 1st person..... that is the sign of an excellent story teller. Job Well Done Jamie McGuire!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I really enjoyed both books. I was reading several of these rev

    I really enjoyed both books. I was reading several of these reviews and I totally understand why some people were frustrated feeling like they read the exact same book. I read the first book when it originally came out so when Walking Disaster came out, I didn't even totally remember what happened in the first book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I dont know

    Even though Beautiful Disaster was a really good book and I couldn't wait for this one to come out, I dont think JM changed enough in this book for it to have been worth $8 dollars. I'm not saying it wasn't a good book, it totally was, it just followed Beautiful Disaster to closely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Total disaster should be more like it. This book was the entire

    Total disaster should be more like it. This book was the entire first book just written from Travis - basically what the author did was change every "she" to a "He". Totally not worth the money, time or effort, I was bored by the second chapter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Oh Travis & Abby - What a disaster

    I can't help but love the story that revolves around Travis & Abby. Their relationship is such a mess from the get go, but in life, who's relationship is perfect? I enjoyed being able to relive this story through Travis' POV. However, at times, I had a hard time following along, forgetting that he is telling the story. I did like that there was some added dialogue & explanations of some of the important factors of the story. I was absolutely ecstatic about the Epilogue. This gave me the finality I was looking for within this complicated love story. I couldn't have asked for a better ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    it's almost the same book (she left out a couple of scenes out )

    it's almost the same book (she left out a couple of scenes out ) but for the most part it was the same ...so i got bored , i skipped pages and nahhh :( really disappointing ... i love BD ... but the second part was awful. i cannot believe it took her one year to write the same book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Same story...different day...

    I was very excited to read this book after reading BD, what a let down....Jamie McGuire even said on her FB page that this would not be the same as BD it would be different...WRONG!! The best part of the book was the end, because it was over! The epilogue had more to offer than the whole book! While there were some new things, I could have done without reading the whole thing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Another great read

    Yet another great story from Jamie McGuire. I have read all her books and looked forward to this one. Several people have posted negative reviews for this book and I don't understand. The author made it perfectly clear that this is male point of view for Beautiful Disaster. There is still some great new material in here and it is very interesting to get inside Travis Maddox's head.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    what a let down!!!!! It was the same story.....the hole time Im

    what a let down!!!!!
    It was the same story.....the hole time Im reading WD Im thinking , it's all a dream for Travis. What a let down and waste of money!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    The same

    Pretty much the same

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    So disappointed

    I was so excited to read this book, loved beautiful disaster. Reading this book was like reading the first one,it felt like a carbon copy. The end was the only diffrence to this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Amazing

    Im a romance addict! This version of Travis was phenonmena!!!
    If you loved Beautiful Diaster like I did, you'll love this book too. Im in love with Travis evdn more now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Not surprising

    Just a rewrite of the same manuscript only a slight twist in point of view. I really had to force myself to finish it. Only freshness was the ending. Travis did not look as strong from this viewpoint. I wish i could give it a better review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Disappointed!!!!!

    Waste of money. Either read Beautiful Disaster or Walking Disaster but not both. Different point of view... SAME story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehhh for someone who loved the first book. I didn't really seem

    Ehhh for someone who loved the first book. I didn't really seem too thrilled with the 2nd. I was hoping for more drama and less of the same story. Granted, I knew it was from Travis POV. I just thought the book would push farther into another story. Thanks for the epilogue, it was a little too rushed. Overall the book was good, but that's just becAuse the first story was good. Didn't feel a need to finish the book in or sitting, since I was pretty unamused. Sorry Jamie!! I really love your story, I just thought it could be better. Looking forward to reading future books you publish.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Fabulous!!! Absolutely loved this book. Travis' version of the s

    Fabulous!!! Absolutely loved this book. Travis' version of the story was better than Abby's!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Meh....

    I really loved BD, but this just wasn't in the same league. It's not that it's the same story again, I think Jamie was pretty up front about that. It was because the insight I did receive, made me like the characters less.

    Abby came off as down right mean. Maybe that was just lost on me in the first book, but I didn't see that in BD. I didn't get what Travis saw in her, and since I just read a whole book from his POV, you would think I would understand a bit better. Travis seemed more of a jerk with a hot head. His motives are very self-serving and I always thought it was more about what he could do for Abby, not himself. I also found his thought pattern dis-jointed, and sometimes difficult to follow.

    Overall, it was a good read, but not what I expexted. I don't regret buying it. It was worth it for the rare moments of sweetness, and the epilogue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Bad. And over seven bucks.

    Travis's POV added nothing to the over all story. Nothing about why travis zeroed in on abby and the story about doves was weird. The writing was disjointed and the left out parts where some of my favs. The epiloge was trite and i think it ruined BD for me. I feel ripped off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    What i expected and more

    I LOVED this book as much as the first. It made me want to go and read beautiful disaster all over again, but probably after i read this one again, lol. For people criticizing that its the same but from his pov, that's what its meant to be and its nice to see Travis as more than some hot tempered control freak. If you're going to read fiction and then criticize it for how unrealistic it is go read a non fiction book. I really enjoyed both books and the epilogue. I don't want to see more in the series bc that will mess it up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in return for an h

    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in return for an honest review.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Beautiful Disaster, so when I found out that Jamie McGuire was writing the story from Travis's point of view, I grew excited.

    Travis Maddox is a character I think mothers warn their daughters against! He likes the ladies, but not enough to commit to a relationship. However, that all ends when he meets Abby Abernathey. He finds that she's worth fighting for.

    I don't know if it's because I already knew what was about to happen with this story, but I found that I couldn't connect with Travis's character as I should have. In Beautiful Disaster, I knew he was a ladies man, but didn't know why. I loved his character though! In this book, I found out why, but I think it still did not excuse his behaviour. I found out why he called Abby "Pigeon", and at this revelation I had a "light bulb" moment, because I had been curious about the nickname.
    I did enjoy the extra scenes that featured Travis and Shepley, and Travis and his family. However, the Travis in Beautiful Disaster seemed more intense than in this story. Then again, that could just be my interpretation - he's still a jealous jerk in certain scenes! There is a new epilogue, which is a nice surprise, and it made me smile! 

    Jamie McGuire is a wonderful author, but I'm afraid this story left me a little bit disappointed. Maybe my expectations were too high? Some scenes felt a bit rushed, whilst others seemed a bit vague. Nevertheless, I did enjoy it, but not as much as I should of. I do not recommend this book for younger readers due to the use of bad language and the mention of sex. However, I recommend this story if you have read Beautiful Disaster and are curious about Travis's point of view, or you are a fan of YA Romance. - Lynn Worton

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 772 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39