Customer Reviews for

Walking Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 783 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(496)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

Omg i loved the first one and cant wait to read this one!!!!ekkkkkkkkkkkk!!travis is so hotttttttt!!!!!! It should be intresting hearing it from his side. Aleady counting down the days.

posted by 4366501 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by T

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by Travis? Even worse, did it really take this author a year to come up with the same story? Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 10789756 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I couldn't wait for this book. I was so excited when it became a

    I couldn't wait for this book. I was so excited when it became available earlier than I had expected. I wanted to love it since I loved the first book. But it was a complete and total let down. Travis was completely lukewarm in this book. The story skipped over/igonored some pivotal parts in the first book and gave zero of Travis' intensity and passion. I am sooooo disappointed. It was as if there was a deadline and the writing was put off until the day before and something needed to be written. I've read lots of her/his perspective books and this was among the bottom of quality of those books.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Save your time, money, and love of the first book

    If you loved beautiful disaster keep it that way and dont read this. First off 8 bucks for the book was a little much especially for most of it being a retelling of a book i already purchased. I loved the first book but this one found me skipping pages, it also made me hate abby. The epilogue was nice and the few additional scenes were ok but it was nowhere near the experience i had reading beautiful disaster. Use your 8 bucks to buy 2 or 3 abbi glines or kristen ashley books instead, trust me.o

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Why?!

    Why? Why would she write 300 pages of a story we already know but was actually worse? Why write this lackluster story when there could have been something so much bigger with the epilogue? What a shame and lost oportunity!
    The main body was not good. I didnt get thier connection here. I didnt like Travis and i down righted hated Abby. It felt like the magic elwas gone. This should have been a longer epilouge and not the same story that literaly felt no different, or really it was worse.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Meh.... It was just ok. I love, love, loved Beautiful Disaster.

    Meh.... It was just ok. I love, love, loved Beautiful Disaster.  This, however was a disappointment. I was hoping to see such insight into Travis' mind and why he acted the way he did in BD. e author didn't deliver any depth of characters here. In act, I liked Travis LESS. He seemed like a wimp and not at all like the conflicted "Mad Dog" described in Beautiful Disaster.   The redeeming part of this book is the epilogue and view into their future.  Loved that. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Total disaster should be more like it. This book was the entire

    Total disaster should be more like it. This book was the entire first book just written from Travis - basically what the author did was change every "she" to a "He". Totally not worth the money, time or effort, I was bored by the second chapter.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    So disappointed

    I was so excited to read this book, loved beautiful disaster. Reading this book was like reading the first one,it felt like a carbon copy. The end was the only diffrence to this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Not surprising

    Just a rewrite of the same manuscript only a slight twist in point of view. I really had to force myself to finish it. Only freshness was the ending. Travis did not look as strong from this viewpoint. I wish i could give it a better review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Not up to par

    BD much better than WD and i waited foreverfor this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No intensity!

    I do not personally get the fad of rewriting books from another POV and this is a perfect example of why. I do not feel any emotion and its exremely choppy and hard to finish.
    Sorry to say this missed the mark and I hope she doesn't continue the trend with her other male characters in her upcoming titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Travis, Travis, Travis. I don't know how to quit you. Being that

    Travis, Travis, Travis. I don't know how to quit you. Being that Travis Maddox is one of my favorite book boyfriends, I couldn't wait for this to get my grubby little hands on this one. Walking Disaster is Travis's side of Beautiful Disaster.

    Walking Disaster began with a huge helping of feelings. As Travis's mom lay dying, she tells poor little Travis to find "the one", fight for her, not give up, and be strong. As you know from Beautiful Disaster, he doesn't exactly do that at first. He's quite the "love 'em and leave 'em type" until Abby Abernathy strolls into his life.

    One thing I didn't love about Beautiful Disaster is Travis's nickname for Abby, "Pigeon". I thought it was such a stupid pet name, and it seemed to come out of nowhere. Well finally, this mysterious term of endearment is explained. I don't know if I buy the explanation, but I'll take it.
    "I decided a long time ago I would feed on the vultures until a dove came along. A pigeon. The kind of soul that didn't impede on anyone; just walked around worrying about its own business, trying to get through life without pulling everyone else down with its own needs and selfish habits."

    I loved Travis even more in Walking Disaster. My heart broke along with him as Abby ripped it into shreds. One thing that did surprise was how quickly Travis fell for Abby. I think Shepley knew how Travis felt before Travis did, which was probably why Shepley was a nervous Nellie when it came to losing America. Being in a relationship was unchartered territory for Mr. Maddox. The poor guy didn't know what to do with what he was feeling.
    "I wanted to tell her. Jesus, did I ever want to mouth the words, but I could barely admit it to myself, much less her. Deep down I knew I was a piece of [shiz], and she deserved better...There was something about her I needed in my life, and even though I wasn't sure what it was, I couldn't give into my bad habits and [eff] it up."

    Having read Beautiful Disaster multiple times, I know the story well. Perhaps, that's why I didn't fall head over heels in love with this book. There were few things revealed that the reader didn't already know. In Beautiful Disaster, Travis was basically an open book. His reactions, facial expressions, and his words were all a dead giveaway of what was going on in his mind. So, finding out what Travis was thinking wasn't super surprising (well, most of it). I was hoping for some new scenes with Abby, Shepley, and America. While there was some new content, I wanted some expanded scenes with some new dialogue (I know, I'm such a greedy reader).

    One thing I can say for sure is that Abby got on my last nerve, even more so in Walking Disaster than in Beautiful Disaster. Knowing exactly how Travis felt towards her (and when he began feeling that way) made me want to give Abby Abernathy swift roundhouse kick to the face. Ugh! Abby's modus operandi seemed to be, "When life gets tough, leave." Hello, does the morning after and post-Vegas scenes ring a bell?
    "I can't win with you. I can't win with you! You say you're done...I'm [effing] miserable over here! I had to break my phone into a million pieces to keep from calling you every minute of the [darn] day--I've had to play it off like everything is just fine at school so you can be happy...and you're [effing] mad at me?"
    Preach it, Travis! *finger snaps*

    If anything, read the book for the epilogue. That put a HUGE smile on my face. It was completely unexpected and shocking. At first I didn't know what was going on, talk about coming out of left field. I am sad to say goodbye to Travis and Abby, but hopefully we'll get a glimpse into their lives when Jamie writes Trent's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Ehhh...

    Loved the insight with the prologue and the epilogue that tied it all up. Would have loved more insight to his point of very. Her POV wqas SOmuch better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Do not read!

    If you have already read Beautiful Disaster, don't waste your time (or money) reading this book. It's basically the same exact story but from Travis' point of view instead of continuing the story like I thought the author would do. Yea it has an epilogue in the back but as a fan of the first book, I wanted the story to progress. Guess the author had writer's block for a whole year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Don't read unless you read Beautiful Disaster

    I liked BD so I enjoyed Travis's POV. However, I don't think this is a stand alone book. It seems like the author wentchapter by chapter and decided where to share Travis's thoughts. The story on its own skips around. This is a companion book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Loved it .... Even though I read beautiful disaster and knew what was going to happen I couldn't put it down . Read it in 48 hrs !!!! I enjoyed knowing the story from his and her perspective .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    It was ok

    I loved Beautiful Disaster, so I was really looking forward to this book... But I feel the author rushed this book! Just wasn't as good as I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Bummer

    Just like reading Beautiful Disaster :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2