Customer Reviews for

Walking Disaster (Beautiful Disaster Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 812 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(514)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!

Omg i loved the first one and cant wait to read this one!!!!ekkkkkkkkkkkk!!travis is so hotttttttt!!!!!! It should be intresting hearing it from his side. Aleady counting down the days.

posted by 4366501 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by T

Did I really just pay $7.99 to read the same story but told by Travis? Even worse, did it really take this author a year to come up with the same story? Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 10789756 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was okay. I was glad when I finished reading it so I could

    This was okay. I was glad when I finished reading it so I could move on to something better. Not really worth the $8.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    I loved the first book, and I absolutely adore Travis. I was di

    I loved the first book, and I absolutely adore Travis. I was disappointed in this book though. I did enjoy having his insight to parts that were not in the first book, but I felt the books were too similar. I should have waited until it was 2.99. Also, I thought the epilogue came out of no where. I personally would have rather seen the epilogue be a sequel then this story. Don't get me wrong. I love the story, but I didn't need to pay for it twice. I will always root for Trav & Pigeon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    A Little Bit of a Let Down for Me

    I was Super excited when I found out that this book was coming out and even pre-ordered it. I knew going into reading it that it wasn't a sequel, that it was written from Travis' perspective, and I thought it sounded really interesting. What girl hasn't wanted to know what a guy was thinking at some point in her life? What I had really hoped was that this book would be his take on the big moments that took place in the first book, but that the majority of the scenes would be new ones that hadn't been in BD.

    There are a few parts that were not in BD, but for the most part, this book literally is the same book as Beautiful Disaster, only you are in Travis' head instead of Abbey's. It honestly got a little bit boring at parts because it was like completely re-reading the first book. I LOVED Beautiful Disaster, and have re-read it many times, but I wanted something new with this one.

    I'm glad that I read it because it was interesting to see how McGuire felt Travis thought about things, but all in all it was really a bit of a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Meh

    Let's just say that by the end of the book I was screaming, "They have meds for that, Trav!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Total let down

    Im so dissappointed! I waited six months for this sequel only to basically re-read the first book again with the bonus epilogue at the end. Waste of time and money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    For those who just can't get enough Travis Maddox!

    Don't hate me for the three stars Jamie, because I really did love this book. I think part of my disapointment is that I hyped this up in my head for so long that it was not going to ever reach my expectations.

    Lets start with what I loved:

    I loved being in Travis' head and hearing how guys see and hear things so differently from girls. And I was tormented right along Travis when Abby was obtuse or just plain indifferent. What I really found interesting is how Travis had her pegged for a secret keeper in the beginning. He knew she had something behind those grey eyes and was patient with her to a point. I loved seeing a differnt side of Shep, be seemed like a whiney baby in BD. And I Loved the epilogue, not so much for the content, but because it was entirely new and honestly, really cute.

    Now what I didn't love so much:

    I felt like I kept skipping through some chapters because it was just a mirror of BD, and not something entirely new and "Travis". Though I loved the Epilogue, I was not thrilled with one aspect of it, the "honesty" issue, seems so not like Trav and Pidge, but then again they are all grown-up, so who am I to judge :)

    All in all it was a success, and for you true Travis Maddox fans, go for it. There are lots of parts where you will grab your chest and say "oh poor Travis" and want to slap Abby upside her pretty little head. But don't let the star rating fool you, it was great. Give it a go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good follow up

    This was a good second book, but it left out a lot of details from the first book I found relevant. It may be confusing on it's own. I did enjoy it it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    very disappointed :(

    First of all I want to say that really loved "Beautiful Diaster" and I could not wait to read "Walking Disaster"! However, I was very disappointed when I read it and it was basically the same book with just a different ending ( which by the way came out of nowhere!) I really loved Travis and Shep and how they bantered back and forth but unfortunately that was not enough to make the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Of course this boom is going to be repetitive bc it's the Same STORY but Travis point of view.
    Like hearing his side of things but didn't like they way Abby came across. In the end worth the read if u lived Beautiful Disaster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Not what I was expecting

    I was so excited when I heard we'd get to hear the story from Travis' point of view, but I think it fell a little flat. His thoughts were not those of a man, more like a teenaged girl, very wishy-washy and emotional and not at all like the bold, brash, in your face Travis we knew in book one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Not so good

    I loved the first book and though it would be great to see into the mind of Travis. However, this book felt forced on the author's part. A lot of the same script from the first book. Most of Travis's thoughts are already a given from the first book. As i read this book I began to wonder why I even enjoyed the other to begin with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    This book could have gone two ways. It could have been a sequel

    This book could have gone two ways. It could have been a sequel to Beautiful Disaster or an interesting introspective into the other side of the Abby/Travis coin.
    I think perhaps McGuire was trying for the second. It could have been a way for the reader to understand why Travis does and says the things he does or why Abby is the one that turns things around for him. The prologue about his mother is a good lead up to that second option and then well.....
    Instead we have a nearly exact replica of the first book with small nuances of the author trying to get into and explain the brain and substance of the chest thumping testosterone filled male that is Travis.
    The problem is that the story actually lacks substance. There is no real content other than Travis makes a mistake, America shouts (what is it with daft character names) and Abby forgives. Or Travis gets mad, America shouts and Abby forgives.
    Wash, rinse and recycle.
    This could have been so much more. However it is what it is a YA story with a male character with anger issues and misogynistic tendencies and a female character who is the epitome of the bend down and take it mentality.
    After all that negativity it was interesting to note that the epilogue is an attempt at picket fences.
    I received a copy of this book via netGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Good, but not as good as I expected. I loved BD, but I did not l

    Good, but not as good as I expected. I loved BD, but I did not love this book. I think this is one of those things where your expectations are set too high and therefore you do not love something as much as you would have had your expectations not been set so high. Had I read this book first I do not know that I would have read BD. It was still good and I am glad I read it, loved the epilogue. Even though I did not love this book, I still enjoyed it and think Jamie McGuire is a wonderful author. I look forward to reading more from her in the future.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Loved the first book, this one was such a disappointment.   It's

    Loved the first book, this one was such a disappointment.   It's like reading the first book all over again but from Travis' perspective only you can't remember what Abby thought.   It would have been nice if their story continued; however, it was the same book with a few changes.  Don't waste your time if you already read the other book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Loved Beautiful Disaster better....

    .....but still loved reading Travis' POV to their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    ...

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AN ARC AN ARC, I GOT AN ARC! As you can see, I was pretty excite

    AN ARC AN ARC, I GOT AN ARC!
    As you can see, I was pretty excited to have gotten an ARC for this book. I had heard such great things about this series that I pretty much dove right into the fist book and ran through it. And, while not being a huge fan of contemporary romance, I could see the draw to the book for sure. So, when the opportunity to read this one came along, I jumped at it. I had to see what was going through Travis "Mad Dog" Maddox's mind!




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster. Can you love someone too much?
    Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.
    In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.
    Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.




    Just a warning, if you have not read the first book in this series, I don't suggest that you read further than what I have wrote so far because I cannot guarantee that I will not give away things you don't want to read about! So, yes, there might be spoilers if you don't know the story and you might want to just turn right back around now and grab the first book to read.




    This cover is totally amazing. I am still not seeing the connection to the butterfly though. I can only extrpolate that the butterfly is something that has been freed from it's cocoon after having been cramped up for so long, letting itself spread it's wings and fly into new territory. I can also see how the guy with the tattoos would fit in, since Travis has a ton of tattoos himself.




    The blurb right there, without giving much away, makes this book look like an interesting read. I didn't actually read the blurb for this book, but had heard from friends that it was the same story from Travis's POV. While I thought it might be a little boring to read the same story from a different perspective, I was still curious to see where it would go. I needed to see how the author would turn the story to make it interesting enough to read a second time.




    Travis is, well, pretty crazy, which is not much different than the first book. He pretty much becomes totally obsessed and possessive of Abby. But we saw this in the first book. He is controlling and violent, and not in a "I want that bad boy" kind of way. In this book it's a bit heightened considering it's from his POV. I have to say that It was certainly eye opening to seeing things from his perspective. We get a deeper look at the relationship between him and his family (mother, father, brothers, cousin).
    The secondary characters are what they appear to be in the first book, although we get to see how Shep and America interact with Travis when Abby is not around. Basically they continue to tell him over and over again that he should let her know how he feels and give her time.




    I was very annoyed with the prologue of the book. It is from the perspective of a three year old child. Having a three year old living in my house at the current time, I can tell you right now that there is no way a child that age could remember what Travis does or even understand it the way he appears to understand it during the chapter. I don't care how advanced that child is, such a young child cannot process and understand what his mother asked of him, or what was even going on at the time.




    I can also say that I did find myself a bit bored during the book. I was hoping this wouldn't happen, that McGuire would make things different enough from Travis's POV that I would be pulled through the book wanting to see how it ended all over again. But that just was not the case. His scenes were certainly interesting, but because I knew what was going to happen, there really was not anticipation for me. And I still cannot wrap my mind around such young kids having an apartment and living off campus. Again, when I was a Freshman and Sophomore people just did not do that.




    I also did not like the epilogue. I understand it is quite a while later and we are to assume that Travis and Abby have matured and grown, but the voice just didn't ring true to me. And the story line, while understandable with what Travis was studying in school, just seemed to easy.




    I do enjoy McGuire's writing. I think she has a great grasp on language and she's great at having banter scenes and making you laugh.




    All in all this was enjoyable enough, but just didn't grab me like I thought it might. I did like Travis's POV much better than Abby and I still wanted to throttle Abby through this entire book. I felt, as I did in the first book, that she was selfish, rather than selfless as she thought she was being.




    So, I am giving this book, as I did the first, a three, although I am really on the fence with it almost falling over to a 2. Fans of the first book will definitely enjoy seeing things from Travis's perspective.




    3/5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has been waited on in anticipation by A LOT of people.

    This book has been waited on in anticipation by A LOT of people. To be honest, I totally forgot it was coming out until I got an email reminding me about the ARC. You all remember by review about “Beautiful Disaster”. Well, Walking Disaster is the exact same story, but told from Travis’ point of view. 
    And I must say, after reading Travis’ side, and knowing his backstory, I like him better that I did the first time around. As extreme as they are, his actions are clearer and make more sense, for him. Abby comes across as the whiny, inconsistent, brat that I thought she was in the first book, so I’m glad the author was consistent. 
    I won’t go into all the issues I went into on the BD review (and they’re still here, believe me, just not as severe) because I don’t like beating dead horses. 
    So, what goes on in this version? Travis meets Abby (and we learn why he calls her that ridiculous nickname; it’s actually kind of endearing) and is attracted to her because she’s not like the other girls on campus. Mainly, she doesn’t put up with his shenanigans and isn’t throwing herself at him like all the other girls. One thing leads to another, and now Travis is on the prowl for Abby. He just has to make her his. With that goal in mind, he concocts all sorts of schemes for them to spend time together. His biggest one is making a bet he knows he’ll win so that she has to stay with him and his roommate (which happens to be her best friend’s boyfriend) for the next month. 
    During the entire book, they both dance around their feelings for each other. Travis keeps waffling internally about pursuing Abby. One minute he thinks things could actually work out, the next he tells himself that she’s too good for him and he should just stop. But he still gets mad when she dates other boys. And she still gets mad when he hooks up with the random girl from Red Door. America is still a little bi-polar when it comes to supporting or condemning Abby for her relationship with Travis. But, the voice of the narrator (Travis) was the best out of the two. Everything he say, all the words he uses, are spot-on him. You get a good feel for who his drive in life and the story seems all around better this time. 
    Rating: Worth the read, especially if you’ve read “Beautiful Disaster” and want more of Travis, but be prepared for the same elements and dysfunctional moments. Content wise, I’d rate this an “R” for sex and for Travis’ extremely creative use of cussing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Ok

    I also loved beautiful diaster. I was a little disapointed with walking diaster. I was excited at first to see now this was going to work same story but from his POV. I was hoping for something a little different. It was just OK for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was so looking forward to this book! I was unaware that it w

    I was so looking forward to this book! I was unaware that it was the same story through Travis's eyes so, needless to say, I was disappointed. I think Jamie McGuire is an awesome writer and so talented to be able to bring each character so alive. I absolutely loved Beautiful Disaster but I'm disappointed that this is a repeat. Looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4