Customer Reviews for

The Walking Drum

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Ap World History Review: Why you should pick this up if you have the time for it.

    The Walking Drum by Louis Lamour is a very interesting story, one I haven't seen the like of yet. I really enjoyed it though, because it showed so much in the space of so little pages. The story takes you, and I say you because the entire book is written in first person, as in "I took the road" and it really draws you in, from the devastating loss of everything a boy knows to his quest for vengance, slavery aboard a ship, freedom and intellectual growth, to classic damsel in distress scenarios and daring swordfights, and countless brushes with death, all while showing a deeply philosophical side of how the people thought during these times. I know I am somewhat rambling, but it is hard to explain this book. Being that Im currently in AP World History and have learned much of the information here, I felt very comfortable with the story and surprised when things that I recognized from our AP textbook and even other information I had read or glanced over appeared right alongside Kerbouchard as he traveled from a pirate community to an intellectual powerhouse of Cordoba, and then to Europe, arriving in Paris, then to Keiv in the russian steppes and on to Constantinople. Watching him grow as the story progresses, and it does rather quickly, was very interesting and I was surprised when I finished the book that he had come all the way from a boy who didnt know what to do with himself. One of the interesting quirks I enjoyed in this book was that previous knowledge of history during this time isnt nessecarily needed; while you may recognize a few terms thrown around, like the Ummayyed and Abbasid Caliphates, or maybe that Cathay is another word for the Chinese, the author spends paragraphs on historical information that is revelant to what is happening in the story. For example, when Kerbouchard visited Paris the author went on about the history of learning in paris and how it had evolved, how students teneded to be poor, etc, and once you read it you had a better understanding of the situation and enviornment that Kerbouchard was in. These historical anecdotes really helped set the stage for Kerbouchard's travels. All of this simply goes to show how amazing this book was, I thouroughly enjoyed reading it and if you have the time (a day or two, at most) I would defintely recommend it. There was supposed to be an continuation of this story. Sadly, the author Louis died before he could wrtie the next books, so that makes this book doubly special.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Awsome!!!!

    This is a wonderful book, it has every walks of life in it, love, adventure, education, you name it. I read this book about every 15 months!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    One of my favorite books S

    Loius L'Amour is a master storyteller and The Walking Drum is one of his best books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    awsome

    I'm a fourteen year old girl and this was my first Louis L'amour book. I read it over the fourth of July weekend and realy enjoyed it. The story was great and verry well written, you really get into the characters. Not only did I love the story but there was a lot of history in it too, I learned more about the time period from this book than you could probably lean anywhere else. An exelent book for all teens and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Have you ever disliked the main character but loved the book?

    Louis Lamour has been one of my favorite authors for a long time, and after I have read many of his books I noticed that almost all of his main characters are the same! Take the Sackett series for example, all his character say somthing similar to "I have a strong back and wide shoulders, I am tall for my age. And my father taught me use a sword." While the main character did say pretty much the same thing, he had a different personality than the Sackett's. Different to the point where I disliked the character for most of the story, but strangly I still wanted him to succeed...

    I thought the character was very arrogant, the way he assumed that every one would eventually do his will. The way he talked to some of the women he met should have given him a slap in the face. And the book would probably only be a few pages long if he didn't insult half the people he met.

    What I loved about the book is that you saw the character change, no other book i have read was like this in that sense. His personality changes similar to this Naive -> Heroic -> Eager to learn -> Arrogant -> Womenizer -> Humbled slightly -> Slightly arrogant -> Kind to a women (one) -> Heroic -> Than near the end he probably deserved to be slaped by this girl he was talking to but miraculously didnt, I guess women didnt get offended by perverts back then...

    Louis Lamour died before he could write the rest of the series. So we will never know hoe Mathurin's personality would have been in the end. But despite all I have said about the Mathurin having a bad personality I loved the book in most areas. I loved the time period it was set in, and like all Louis Lamour books it was fictional, but realistic. Although it was strange that pirates, bandits, and murderers were somwhat glorified in the book. And that Mathurin believed he could see the future.

    All in all it is one of my favorite books in my collection. Although the series wasnt complete it ended in a way that makes that okay. At least in my opinion, for the sake of not spoiling the story you will just have to read it yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    An amazing book by an amazing author

    Couldn't put it down I loved this book and many of his others my personel favorite is "The Tall Stranger"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    AP World World History Review: A Great Read The Walking Drum wa

    AP World World History Review: A Great Read
    The Walking Drum was published in April, 28, 1985 by Louis L'amour. This is a fantastic story about the daring adventures of young Kerbouchard and his travels to find his father and seek revenge on the Tournemine, killer of his mother and people. The story takes place in the 12th century in Armorica, Brittany. In the beginning, Kerbouchard is weak, knows not what to do with his life, and has a strong wanting for knowledge, always wanting to fill his mind with what the world has to offer. Throughout the novel, he transforms into a scholar, physician, merchant, sailor, warrior, a lover, and acrobat. Kercouchard travels from a small pirate community to the prosperous city of Cordoba, Cadiz, Paris, Kiev, Constantinople, and more. During his travels he has many brushes with death and manages to win the hearts of many beautiful exotic women. Young Kerbouchard is a hero and it is widely portrayed and exaggerated in this novel.
    Louis L'amour has outdone himself in this swashbuckling novel. The story was written in first person. This gives a great perspective from Kerbouchard himself and allows the reader to understand what he is feeling and what his next move will be. Throughout the story, Louis crams in historical information of the region and the people of the time in great detail. This allows a better understanding of the story and really ties in the information that I have read in class so far. For example, he talks of fairs and the advantages it gave merchants and the attraction they gave trade. the information he has thrown around in the book allows a better understanding of what will happen in the next paragraph and really allows the reader to picture what's going on. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that is interested in medieval reads. It certainly kept me on my toes and was nearly impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Well written, kept me reading and I could NOT put it down!!! The

    Well written, kept me reading and I could NOT put it down!!! The story is also well researched, and a FUN read. I hated to get to the last page!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    EPIC!

    It is amazing to see read such a grand, intricate and exotic adventure as this book. I grew up with La'mour and without question this is his pen at its sharpest. It's a shame he never followed up with the tale of Kerbouchard. It is a pulp epic in the order of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Harold Lamb and Robert E. Howard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great

    All the history involved is amazing the used book i bought before nooks or kindles were even dreamed of has a list of all the books .authors and places. Its a gret learning tool also. I just wish he could written the trilogy as planned im 25 and almost have all his books. Id be tyrel if i lived then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    The Walking Drum is an amazing historical novel. Louis L'Amour weaves some much history into the story that the characters take on a very real personna I love this book and it's author. You can't go wrong with The Walking Drum!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Fantastic reading..

    I have just begun to read books by Louis L'Amour and this one was outstanding!

    His western novels are very interesting and I was surprised at the depth of The Walking Drum as far as history is concerned.

    Writing style is colorful and spell binding.

    Enjoy novels most of all....short stories are not quite as interesting to me.

    You also learn a lot from his writing and it does not 'insult your intelligence."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    Great Book!

    A lot of people have asked me how I can stand L'Amour, declaring that once you've read one, you've read them all. While that could be argued about some points of his westerns, this book is different in every way except for his brilliant writing style that allows people to enjoy his books even knowing how they'll end. A treat for those who enjoy his books and a surprise for those who've stereotyped them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    awesome!!!

    I'm a girl by the way. I had to read this for my ap world history class. This book keeps you interested in it and has so much adventure and history. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it. You get so caught up in the book and also the historic info. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Loved It !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was and awesome book, I love all the information that Luis LAmour gets when he writes a book, this one has a whole lot more than any of the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    I've read it over & over again!

    This a great, swashbuckling historical epic! For those who know L'Amour as only a Western author, this book comes as a shock. He goes back to his French roots and produces a grand novel of a heroic, larger than life young man overcoming great challenges physically while developing intellectually. He does this in a little known period of history (1200 A.D.), giving great respect to the European Muslim and Middle Eastern worlds. Simply great entertainment from a master storyteller! I've wished many times he would have written at least two sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    SWEET

    if you are currently attending kell high schol or will be in the future, it would be wise to read this book. it tells a tale or hardship and overcomming many obsticles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Kerbochard is my hero

    The main character in this book goes on an epic journey to save his father. he meets many women and is in a never ending persuit of knowlege. i read this book and enjoyed the componation of action and history. Anyone who likes books should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    A great read

    I'm not big fan of Louis Lamour but when I read this book I was amazed at the imagery and depth of this book. How he was able to keep recreating his character and making a new hero every couple of chapters. I really enjoyed this book and have referred it to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Excellent novel

    L'Amour performs brilliantly again with this exciting, captivating novel... i was addicted from the first page thru the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4