Customer Reviews for

Walking into Walls: 5 Blind Spots that Block God's Work in You

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    5 steps to tearing down the walls you have built

    How many times have you said to yourself , I am not the one with the problem, my wife is or my husband is, I can handle this on my own, I deserve to be treated better than this. How many walls do you have standing between you and that person you think has the problem or the one that treated you unfair. These walls stop us from having relationships, happiness and most of all keep us from doing the work that God has planned for us and to live a joyful life. We all need healing and break down the walls and make sure they are not erected again to block our way. We build our own walls even though we do not realize it at the time and we need to learn to deal with our wall and tear it or remain in misery . When one sees reality from a new perspective you are liberated to live with less pain and conflict in your life. The five walls that the author has the reader dealing with are the Walls of , Stubborn Resistance, Arrogant Entitlement, Justifiable Resentment, Disconnected Isolation and the wall of Blind Ignorance. Can you picture yourself hiding behind one of these walls? I know I have seen myself in some of this book. With an excellent study guide at the end of this book, I highly recommend this book and if you are like me have a pen, paper and marker handy as you will be using them. If you are familiar with the Women of Faith books Stephen Afterburner was the originator of this successful women's conference started in 1966.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Spurrstar

    Im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Melodykit

    Sings beautifully and basks in the sun

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Mudkit and hailkit

    Okay see you soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Medicine cats

    "Lie down and rest today, deliver food tomorrow." Goldtail mews. Starleaf comes back with a rabbit for Blazekit. "Tell us what happened." She mews as she places a water-soaked moss-ball by Blazekit's nose.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Blazekit

    -heads towards a pond and speaks into it-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I didn't know what to first expect, when I started reading, &quo

    I didn't know what to first expect, when I started reading,
    "Walking into Walls:5 Blind Spots that Block God's Work in
    You". Was it self-help? Is it a motivational? What blind spots
    are we even talking about, but as I begun to read through Stephen
    Arterburn's book, I was impressed by, not just the style of writing,
    which was very laid back and conversational (always a good thing), but
    although this, like any book, is never a substitute for actual, face to
    face therapy, that is beneficial to work through whatever is on one's
    heart, "Walking into Walls:5 Blind Spots that Block God's Work in
    You", really helps begin the first steps toward identifying the
    walls, that we can put up in our lives, that not only hinder a
    productive, healthy living and relationships in our lives, but can also
    hinder our walk with God. Now, does any of this sound like part of us,
    or all of us: 1. Stubborn resistance, and/or 2. Arrogant entitlement,
    and/or 3. Justifiable resentment, and/or 4. Disconnected isolation,
    and/or 5, Blind ignorance. Maybe.....maybe not. "Walking into
    Walls:5 Blind Spots that Block God's Work in You" isn't a book that
    is either condemning or difficult. The reality is that , we all have,
    currently or may experience at some point in our lives,one or all of
    these blind spots and what Stephen Arterburn, does, is with gentle
    guidance, encouraging anecdotes that help us see how these
    "walls" can blind us without knowing and even understanding
    through Scripture, really helps the reader, no matter how small or big
    the circumstances in their lives, deal with these walls, that we put up
    in our lives. Currently the book is available in hardback and there is
    a study guide for readers to work at their own pace or with a study
    group and readers will find, that the book is very easy reading, yet
    conveys a very powerful message that we don't have to be held back by
    past experiences that contribute to the walls and blind spots that we
    carry into our present and sometimes into our futures. I like the
    illustrations that Stephen Arterburn makes, blending both scripture and
    pop culture that really helps us identify with the examples he conveys
    about the walls that are built up and with them, the blind spots that
    can keep us from seeing what holds us captive and at the same time
    allowing God to do the dynamic work, HE wants to do with us and give us
    the future He has planned. As shared, I started this book out with
    hesitation, due to, it's easy to try to offer easy solutions that are
    not often applicable to hard situations, and "Walking Into
    Walls" doesn't do this, nor does this promise to "fix your
    life, your car, your relationships", but instead is about getting
    to the beginning steps that are needed to move forward in one's life.
    The interesting thing is that, there is a realization that we all carry
    walls and blind spots in our lives, that either we maybe aware of or
    just try to conveniently ignore and with the writing style of Stephen
    Arterburn, he really helps break down ways we can discover those walls
    and blind spots without it being a "log confrontation". The
    reading, is in itself, just a 135 pages with the study guide that is
    included, taking up a good half of the other book, but from the study
    guide itself, its both a mixture of using Scripture for reference and
    growth as a Christian, and self-discovery at the same time. The book
    makes then, for not only a good personal time reading, but when read in
    a group study, a great character growth journey, with others who may
    feel like they are "stuck" in the same patterns. It really
    opens up to questions we may have about feeling insecure, maybe dealing
    with past issues, just being brave to take on new directions in life.
    For all the hesitations I had going into the book initially, I came out
    of it, really finding this to be, for a "short book", very
    impressive. It's very impressive, because there are "things"
    in all of us, that we can work on....not to be perfect, which is not
    possible or even healthy to try to attain, but so we can keep moving
    forward into having positive, healthy relationships and lives. Stephen
    Arterburn's writing is emotional; He writes to connect with the reader
    and to speak directly to them and he definitely achieves that in,
    "Walking Into Walls", while at the same time, you get that
    feeling of, "Oh wow, he does get it", which many of times,
    there are those who do need to just hear that, not to be fixed or
    lectured, but to know....people do understand and the book achieves it
    on that level. On another level, "Walking into Walls" helps
    bring a better understanding of how our experiences can both help and
    also hinder us and how to not let it become traps that keeps us in a
    bondage of bitterness,denial, lies and blindness that affects all areas
    of our lives and how we interact with other people and just how it can
    affect our own journeys. The steps that are provided, are very
    practical and down to earth. Stephen Arterburn doesn't share anything
    that would seem impossible,but rather very plausible and workable. So,
    overall, "Walking Into Walls" is great reading really for
    anyone who finds themselves feeling stagnant in their lives, or maybe
    finding themselves, either physically or mentally repeating unhealthy
    habits and actions that are keeping them from moving forward.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1