BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Walking in Circles Before Lying Down

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Story, Recommend It To All

Before reading this novel, I had never read a book by this author. I loved the book so much that I am buying all of her other books. She is fantastic at getting into the mind and expressing feelings. Loved the book...Loved the author...Recommend it to all!!

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Language!

I was thoroughly enjoying this book, right up until the dogs began to talk. And even then, I got a kick out of the things they said....... so "right on doggy". But the further I got into it, the more the dogs language went into the gutter. Every other word was a 4 le...
I was thoroughly enjoying this book, right up until the dogs began to talk. And even then, I got a kick out of the things they said....... so "right on doggy". But the further I got into it, the more the dogs language went into the gutter. Every other word was a 4 letter one, and having dogs myself, and loving them, and knowing what wonderful souls they have, I could not see them cussing and swearing like that. I don't like to read books with that type of language, but I stuck with it longer than I would have if it hadn't been dogs. Then I realized I was just plowing through it to get to the end, and it wasn't worth it. I didn't finish the book. It would have been absolutely charming without the language. At least the dogs would have been.

posted by 272632 on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Witty & fun!

    If you are looking for a book to make you laugh and smile, this is book is perfect! You don't have to be a dog lover to appreciate this one. A great beach read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Awesome Story, Recommend It To All

    Before reading this novel, I had never read a book by this author. I loved the book so much that I am buying all of her other books. She is fantastic at getting into the mind and expressing feelings. Loved the book...Loved the author...Recommend it to all!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Absolutely Hilarious!

    Great-fast read. Clever & witty, and how can you resist loving the whole idea about Dawn's dog giving her life-advice from a dog's perspective!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read in Two Days!!!!

    My husband and I took a trip to Vegas, and this is one of the books I happen to pick up along the way. This book was ingenious in the way it got readers to laugh out loud...I kept having to stop reading and tell my husband what the dog just said..we have 4 English Springers and are constantly wondering what they are thinking. Merril Markoe has shed some light on the inner workings of a dogs mind in a unique and intersting way. If you want a book that makes you laugh, has you cheering, and basically routing for the underdog...this is it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Revealing Novel

    Will make you laugh, and possibly cry. This story starts off with a complicated mess of a life and introduces you to several colorful characters who are all limping along with their individual coping skills. Well written; the reader is fully engaged and finds it difficult to put down the book and re-enter their own world.

    After reading this book, I read a couple others by the same author, including the most recent. Don't waste your money. "Walking in Circles" may be this author's only claim to fame. But it's a GREAT READ!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    I do love dogs even more after reading this book

    This was a good read. The title caught my eye...and I was glad I followed up and got the book. I read it in two days. If you want an offbeat, enjoyable read...this is the book for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Love it!!!

    I have read this book several times, it's just as good every time. I always knew dogs could talk but they're even funnier than I thought!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    DOG LOVERS UNDERSTAND

    Good,funny,intertaining,could not put the book down:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Great book

    It made me laugh so out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    LOVED IT

    i would recommend this book..very funny with a good message in it about love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was very disappointed by this book. There really was no need f

    I was very disappointed by this book. There really was no need for all of the profanity and sexual situations/comments. To answer the 13 year old, no, this book would not be appropriate. I will say that it is very clear that markoe loves dogs, which is something I truly respect. I was happy to see that the main character's dog was a Pittie and was clearly portrayed as a sweet gentle boy, which they really are. The storyline was to me too outrageous which made it boring. I skipped through most of the book, but did "finish" it. I would not recommend this book to anyone based on the language.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Help?

    I love dogs and i read mature books. Would this be good for a 13 year old?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Will cheer you

    I loved this. The hilarity of seeing everything through a dog's eyes was fresh. I laughed and laughed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Great book

    The only glitch to this book was the fact that it would skip a few pages and or be stuck on a page. Sometimes i felt like i was missing parts of the story, which was upsetting because it was a good book and i didnt want to miss a thing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I loved this book so much, I read it in one day! I just couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Liked it so much I'm reading it again!

    In a market saturated with tear jerking dog stories, this book is a fun and welcome change. Told with laugh-out-loud humor, I would recommend this book to anyone who needs a pick-me-up. You don't have to be a dog owner to appreciate this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    overall..

    it was amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Language!

    I was thoroughly enjoying this book, right up until the dogs began to talk. And even then, I got a kick out of the things they said....... so "right on doggy". But the further I got into it, the more the dogs language went into the gutter. Every other word was a 4 letter one, and having dogs myself, and loving them, and knowing what wonderful souls they have, I could not see them cussing and swearing like that. I don't like to read books with that type of language, but I stuck with it longer than I would have if it hadn't been dogs. Then I realized I was just plowing through it to get to the end, and it wasn't worth it. I didn't finish the book. It would have been absolutely charming without the language. At least the dogs would have been.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Dopey!

    Too 'California' for me! I love dogs, but not this one & i'll never read Markoe again!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting

    This book was okay but I apparently didn't read the summary. I was expecting a light-hearted humorous book and this definitely wasn't that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3