Customer Reviews for

Walking in Circles Before Lying Down

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Story, Recommend It To All

Before reading this novel, I had never read a book by this author. I loved the book so much that I am buying all of her other books. She is fantastic at getting into the mind and expressing feelings. Loved the book...Loved the author...Recommend it to all!!

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dopey!

Too 'California' for me! I love dogs, but not this one & i'll never read Markoe again!

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Awesome Story, Recommend It To All

    Before reading this novel, I had never read a book by this author. I loved the book so much that I am buying all of her other books. She is fantastic at getting into the mind and expressing feelings. Loved the book...Loved the author...Recommend it to all!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Absolutely Hilarious!

    Great-fast read. Clever & witty, and how can you resist loving the whole idea about Dawn's dog giving her life-advice from a dog's perspective!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read in Two Days!!!!

    My husband and I took a trip to Vegas, and this is one of the books I happen to pick up along the way. This book was ingenious in the way it got readers to laugh out loud...I kept having to stop reading and tell my husband what the dog just said..we have 4 English Springers and are constantly wondering what they are thinking. Merril Markoe has shed some light on the inner workings of a dogs mind in a unique and intersting way. If you want a book that makes you laugh, has you cheering, and basically routing for the underdog...this is it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Revealing Novel

    Will make you laugh, and possibly cry. This story starts off with a complicated mess of a life and introduces you to several colorful characters who are all limping along with their individual coping skills. Well written; the reader is fully engaged and finds it difficult to put down the book and re-enter their own world.

    After reading this book, I read a couple others by the same author, including the most recent. Don't waste your money. "Walking in Circles" may be this author's only claim to fame. But it's a GREAT READ!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Love it!!!

    I have read this book several times, it's just as good every time. I always knew dogs could talk but they're even funnier than I thought!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Great book

    It made me laugh so out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    LOVED IT

    i would recommend this book..very funny with a good message in it about love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Help?

    I love dogs and i read mature books. Would this be good for a 13 year old?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Will cheer you

    I loved this. The hilarity of seeing everything through a dog's eyes was fresh. I laughed and laughed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I loved this book so much, I read it in one day! I just couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Touching Story With All The Right Twists

    Markoe's literary usage pulled me in to her story like no other modern author has done yet. This book is a great blend of character development that jumps out of the page and into your own life. Even though it is just a book, anyone who has a dog or wishes they had one will want to find the nearest four-legged canine friend and hug them. <BR/><BR/>The life path Dawn takes and the support Chuck gives her every step of the way even when she doesn't know it, drives the human heart into a state of want for the best of every dog, so that they may continue to carry on their mission to please us and be our closest friends. And again even though it is a book, Markoe makes it seem as though she has directly spoken with canine representatives to get the full story so as to make us all more aware of their presence and their important role they play.<BR/><BR/>You'll never see it coming, but the love will build with every page. This book will lift you from your darkest shadows and pull you into the loving fur-draped noses and ever kissing tongues of one of the best animals on the planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Terrific. Hilarious.

    I will never be able to look at another pile of dog poop in quite the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Better Than A Juicy Bone!

    One of the funniest women in America is also one of the most moving and insightful observers of dogs and channelers of their thoughts. Some people can only make dogs behave Markoe turns a much tougher trick by making them come utterly and hilariously alive in all their unexpressed verbosity. Man isn't dog's best friend. Merrill Markoe is. Only a cat or a dogcatcher could not like this wonderful novel, which, by the way, shows an uncanny feel for the hopes and disappointments of non- canine relationships as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Merrill Markoe is brilliant

    Don't agree with the first reviewer. Doubt he/she even read the book. I'm very particular when it comes to humor, and I loved this book, as I love all of Markoe's writing. If you're not familiar with her work, this is a great place to start. Also check out 'Merrill Markoe's Guide to Love,' 'What the Dogs Have Taught Me,' or anything really. She's the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    Hilarious. And a great dog too.

    I really enjoyed it. Couldnt put it down once I started it. I recommend it for anyone who likes to laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Great Writing!!

    This book I found very hard to put down. I love the way Markoe writes. I will be reading more of her books. If you love dogs, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    LOVED IT!

    I can't say enough about this book -- the humor was perfect. Now I am off to order all of her other books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2