Customer Reviews for

Walking on Broken Glass

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Novel from A Talented New Author

From the first sentence until the very last, Walking on Broken Glass captivated me. With each turn of the page, I felt more closeness to and love for Leah Thornton than I have for any character in recent years. Leah speaks with wit and charm, even in situations where ...
From the first sentence until the very last, Walking on Broken Glass captivated me. With each turn of the page, I felt more closeness to and love for Leah Thornton than I have for any character in recent years. Leah speaks with wit and charm, even in situations where both would seemingly escape her. Though she might face struggles the average person has, luckily, not had to face, Leah is such an authentic character that I truly believe every reader will be able to relate to her story. As I finished the novel, I had that bittersweet feeling every person gets after reading a great book: the satisfaction of having read a fantastic story, coupled with the sadness of turning the last page on the lives you've gotten to know and friends you've made along the way.
I feel lucky to have found the new author Christa Allan, and I cannot wait to see what's in store next for her new fans. I'm hoping she might be contemplating a sequel to Walking on Broken Glass!

posted by LLH1982 on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good book.

It took me a while to get into this book. Once I did, it was pretty good. At times, it was a little too preachy for me.

posted by iteachKA on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    An Amazing Novel from A Talented New Author

    From the first sentence until the very last, Walking on Broken Glass captivated me. With each turn of the page, I felt more closeness to and love for Leah Thornton than I have for any character in recent years. Leah speaks with wit and charm, even in situations where both would seemingly escape her. Though she might face struggles the average person has, luckily, not had to face, Leah is such an authentic character that I truly believe every reader will be able to relate to her story. As I finished the novel, I had that bittersweet feeling every person gets after reading a great book: the satisfaction of having read a fantastic story, coupled with the sadness of turning the last page on the lives you've gotten to know and friends you've made along the way.
    I feel lucky to have found the new author Christa Allan, and I cannot wait to see what's in store next for her new fans. I'm hoping she might be contemplating a sequel to Walking on Broken Glass!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    Modern & Authentic

    When I opened this book to read, "If I had known children break on the inside and the cracks don't surface until years later, I would have been more careful with my words." I was instantly captured.

    I continued to read, soaking in Christa's words shared through Leah, stopping to read them aloud to my husband. And then calling my friends to read them aloud again. It was Leah's journal entries throughout the book that often jarred me out of my comfort zone, calling for my empathy as this character blossomed into more.

    It is rare you read a book with a healthy tension of modernity, wit and authenticity. Three ingredients that, for me, make a novel worth reading and revisiting.

    In Walking on Broken Glass, Christa Allan weaves a story that not only connects deeply with the reader on an emotional level but on a spiritual level as well.

    This is a novel that goes much deeper than your average book. It breaks the mold, pushes some boundaries, sings the song of redemption and begs for a sequel.

    Christa Allan is a writer to watch.

    If I were you, I'd clear a space on your favorite bookshelf for more of her work. I already have.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good

    Good book . A few twists. And sudden ending. Not the ending i thought it would have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Walking on Broken Glass by Christ Allan is a must read!!

    Leah is a complicated character. English teacher, southerner, wife, mother who lost her child, alcoholic, questioning and unbelieving Christian. As Leah struggles to find herself she takes many paths. Rehab provides the space she needs, but when the task of looking at herself honestly begins to surmount all, will Leah be able to continue? Will she learn to trust the God she blames for taking her baby?? Told with humor, humaness, and love, this story will grab your attention and hold it until the last page. You will laugh, cry, and at times get angry during this story, but the lesson learned is that life is not meant to be easy. It takes trials and tribulations to make us who we are.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Pretty good book.

    It took me a while to get into this book. Once I did, it was pretty good. At times, it was a little too preachy for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    GREAT book!

    I highly recommend this book...outstanding! Great messages without being too preachy, but good, solid fiction at its best. Believable characters who, even when I didn't like them, had redeeming qualities and stories of their own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Incredible, Compelling, and Hopeful

    In a world full of "feel good" ideas and broken hearts, this book offers hope in the world of recovery. Pain from several areas including sexual abuse, lack of affection, and loss of a child resonate with so many people who feel hopeless in our world. This book gives a glimmer of light to restore the mind, the body, the spirit, and the marriage. It is a good dose of medicine for the sadness our world is covered in. Bravo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Infused With Heart and Intelligent Wit

    With brilliant prose, Allan transports the reader into the world of alcoholism and sexual abuse with heart and intelligent wit that cause the reader to fall in love with Leah Thornton. Allan humanizes and stirs sympathy for Leah's abusive husband. We believe in the end, the gritty battlefield of their marriage can be salvaged. And we're left with a residue of hope for our own battles and compassion for fellow strugglers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Deep subject

    Was not an easy read only because of the subject of alcoholism and abuse. Wasn't so intense that it became depressive. After reading the reviews about the ending, I wasn't sure I wanted to finish. But I'm glad I did. It was an ending that left room for hope. I don't think the ending left me hanging. An entire lifetime doesn't have to be covered in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Could have been shorter

    And that husband was a monster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Great book

    This book is of perfect length. It talks about a serious problem like addiction to alcohol but with a natural and funny touch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Interesting

    I loved this book until the end. I needed more info, so about 3 more chapters would tell the rest of the story. The whole story kept me interested, I even stayed up until 2 am to finish because I was so involved in the story, but at 2 am I was very disappointed in the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Better than I expected

    Better than I expectedvthis one to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Read this!

    If you've ever been addicted to anything, or grieved in your life, this book will resonate in your soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Quick Read-no ending

    I found this book to be interesting and an easy quick read. There is no conclusion to the book and no sequel, so it completely leaves you hanging. I often re-read books, but I don't think I'll read this again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I liked this book up to the end; it ended very abruptly with no

    I liked this book up to the end; it ended very abruptly with no real closure, but I guess maybe that's the way it was meant to be. I, however, didn't care for that. Up until that point, I liked the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Ended abruptly!

    I really enjoyed this book and just when the story was resolving it ended abruptly! I would have liked the book to have ended and not have left it up in the air!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Bad

    slow. author does not know where she wants to go with story. Glad it was Free...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    almost a good book

    Very good until the last page. I just HATE to read a book until the end and it just stops, no closure. If the author had written an ending, I would have given it a 5.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6