BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Walking on Broken Glass

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Novel from A Talented New Author

From the first sentence until the very last, Walking on Broken Glass captivated me. With each turn of the page, I felt more closeness to and love for Leah Thornton than I have for any character in recent years. Leah speaks with wit and charm, even in situations where ...
From the first sentence until the very last, Walking on Broken Glass captivated me. With each turn of the page, I felt more closeness to and love for Leah Thornton than I have for any character in recent years. Leah speaks with wit and charm, even in situations where both would seemingly escape her. Though she might face struggles the average person has, luckily, not had to face, Leah is such an authentic character that I truly believe every reader will be able to relate to her story. As I finished the novel, I had that bittersweet feeling every person gets after reading a great book: the satisfaction of having read a fantastic story, coupled with the sadness of turning the last page on the lives you've gotten to know and friends you've made along the way.
I feel lucky to have found the new author Christa Allan, and I cannot wait to see what's in store next for her new fans. I'm hoping she might be contemplating a sequel to Walking on Broken Glass!

posted by LLH1982 on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good book.

It took me a while to get into this book. Once I did, it was pretty good. At times, it was a little too preachy for me.

posted by iteachKA on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good

    Good book . A few twists. And sudden ending. Not the ending i thought it would have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Deep subject

    Was not an easy read only because of the subject of alcoholism and abuse. Wasn't so intense that it became depressive. After reading the reviews about the ending, I wasn't sure I wanted to finish. But I'm glad I did. It was an ending that left room for hope. I don't think the ending left me hanging. An entire lifetime doesn't have to be covered in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Great book

    This book is of perfect length. It talks about a serious problem like addiction to alcohol but with a natural and funny touch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Read this!

    If you've ever been addicted to anything, or grieved in your life, this book will resonate in your soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Ended abruptly!

    I really enjoyed this book and just when the story was resolving it ended abruptly! I would have liked the book to have ended and not have left it up in the air!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Witty and clever, but your emotions are entwined with the main c

    Witty and clever, but your emotions are entwined with the main character's, watching how she gets help digging into her addiction and how she got there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Excellently Done

    Enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    good story

    I found this book powerful that consist of drinking, marital problems, pregnancy, and friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    good read

    made me think how often we hide our true selves from those around us! enjoyed ... the last chapter was a bit rushed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Recommend

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Moving and emotional read.

    I liked how realistic and how much I could identify with. The women who was taken care of was suppose to be living the "perfect life" had secrets from her past, loss of a child, an unhappy marriage and chose the wrong things to hide and fix it. Her journey through healing is so moving. I liked the book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Sad but so true

    This book reminded me a lot of my stay at a hospital (thought not for an addiction). I could relate to a lot of the feelings she was going through. The only part I didn't like was the ending...it left so many questions unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Liked it!

    I really liked this book. Would love to see a sequel. Good message and characters you can relate to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    I would recommend

    This was a good book. Easy light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating characters

    Whether tragedy, angst, or a breakdown, Southern women know how to survive with panache. Christa Allan infuses that Southern charisma into her writing, giving us a captivating read. Alcoholism is a dark subject, yet Allan brings it right up to the very edge, and then pulls us back into the light with Leah's own brand of humor. Never depressing, Walking on Broken Glass is definitely a page-turner with all the emotions an alcoholic experiences. I give it a high recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2