BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Walking the Bible: An Illustrated Journey for Kids Through the Greatest Stories Ever Told

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not too bad a book, especially in a college setting where such a breezy writing style is often appreciated.

Bruce Feiler had a metaphore or a simile for every aspect of his book, sometimes two or three; most of the time they added to the experience, but every once in a while you you would think something along the lines of "That was a stretch" or it would draw you away from, ...
Bruce Feiler had a metaphore or a simile for every aspect of his book, sometimes two or three; most of the time they added to the experience, but every once in a while you you would think something along the lines of "That was a stretch" or it would draw you away from, rather than toward the topic he seemed to be going toward.

His book was almost like an edited series of diaries. I didn't use the word journal as that could lead you to believe this sounded like a travel log, rather this seemed only steps away from little hearts, multiple exclamation points, and cries of "Gee Wilikers!"

Becuase Feiler pointed out spiritual epiphanies most of the time rather than searching out a deeper meaning it was good for classrom discussion as there were so many paths of thought left unexplored.

posted by Theophrastus on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I agree

It stinks.this girl is an athiest

posted by 18481674 on September 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Not too bad a book, especially in a college setting where such a breezy writing style is often appreciated.

    Bruce Feiler had a metaphore or a simile for every aspect of his book, sometimes two or three; most of the time they added to the experience, but every once in a while you you would think something along the lines of "That was a stretch" or it would draw you away from, rather than toward the topic he seemed to be going toward.<BR/><BR/>His book was almost like an edited series of diaries. I didn't use the word journal as that could lead you to believe this sounded like a travel log, rather this seemed only steps away from little hearts, multiple exclamation points, and cries of "Gee Wilikers!"<BR/><BR/>Becuase Feiler pointed out spiritual epiphanies most of the time rather than searching out a deeper meaning it was good for classrom discussion as there were so many paths of thought left unexplored.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Historical/Geographical Overview of Old Testament

    Having lived in the Middle East for nearly 10 years I found this book to be a reasonable tour of Old Testament sites and their underlying meaning for today's Middle East.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    An absolute treasure of information.

    This book was given me by a friend and I'm so glad for it. This is - by far - one of the very best books about the context, culture, archaeology, apologetics etc of scripture I have read yet. Mr. Feiler's choice to "walk" the known or possible sites wherein events occurred that were location-based was a wise one. And the historical accounts, academic research, onscene observations and personal interviews and interactions he relates in this book make it a treasure of information - far larger than is reflected in its pagecount. Having read it now, the book seems to contain more information than just one book, more like a volume of books yet all contained in just one volume.

    Anyone interested in the context and culture of the regions in which Old Testament biblical events like the Exodus, etc are said to have occurred, would greatly enjoy this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Beautifully photographed

    I purchased this book for a Christmas present for my boss. He was absolutely pleased! He remarked on the superb photography and how he has enjoyed reading the acompanying commentary. The book was very well received and I am so glad he enjoyed his gift. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in either photography,the bible or both.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I found this book to very informative and entertaining.

    This book addresses a topic that I know little about and it does so in a very entertaining way. The book is well researched but still very readable. I read it because it was a selection in a book club to which I belong. I would not have considered reading it on my own. However, I'm very glad I read it and I have recommended it to my relatives and friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    Thoroughly Entertaining

    Walking the Bible is a very interesting book that talks about one man¿s journey through the Bible. Bruce Feiler travels throughout the Middle East visiting the places where experts have guessed that biblical events have taken place. Feiler does a remarkable job of portraying his adventures. His writing technique is extraordinary and phenomenal. This book is jam-packed full of information, but you don¿t feel like you¿re reading a boring research paper at all. And yet you can tell that so much research went into this book. When he rides a camel up Mount Sinai, he talks about how camels are the perfect animals for this job. He devotes a paragraph to nothing but facts about camels, including the third eyelid they have to wipe sand out of their eyes. He says, ¿In a sandstorm, camels can actually close this third eyelid and see through it. As further protection, camels also have extremely long eyelashes. I also have long eyelashes, which at the moment¿ I hoped would be taken as conformation that I, too, was somehow genetically aligned with the desert¿ (pg. 253). As you can see he gives plenty of information, and yet makes it completely entertaining. I would definitely recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Bible Bonanza

    Boy, when I got this audio-CD I didn't know what I was expecting. WOW! I couldn't beleive how explicit and exact Bruce Feiler is. You must get this whether it's the book or the audio-CD.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    Spiritual Growth is a Journey

    Fieler is a wordsmith as well as a seeker. I wish I had his writing talent. In reading his latest work I slowly realized the similarities between the Israelis and Palestinians of today. Both come from rich literary and poetic backgrounds. Both the Koran and the Wisdom books of the Jewish people emphasize hospitality to a traveler because both groups understand the extremes in climate of the area, especially the harshness of the desert and wilderness areas. I would enjoy reading a book by Fieler where he traveled to the holy places of Islam. The two books would complement each other and because of Fieler's objectivity and sensitivity perhaps the Arab world and their Jewish neighbors could see that they have more in common than they are able to see at the present. I am a Christian and I am not prostelytizing for anything except peace and mutual respect between two groups of neighbors. The images of beautiful sunsets evoked in the book might be seen as a hope for more harmony in the Middle East. The book reinforces the theme of faith as a constant journey. Fieler won't stop now. The following list of books I have enjoyed reflect the hope for tolerance and understanding which I received from Fieler's book and I hope that others will also read them. They are enjoyable as well as thought provoking. Love involves reflective thought and actions as well as sentiment. Thank you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    A spiritual and cultural as well as geographical pilgrimage

    Bruce Feiler takes us on an engaging journey through the lands of Abraham, Jacob and Moses. Feiler's journey was spiritual as well as geographical and he exposes us to aspects of bedouin and Israeli culture I had never come across before. I found Feiler's spiritual journey to really be non-denominational and applicable to Jews, Christians and even Muslims.

    I found this to be a thoroughly enjoyable read that made me want to make a similar journey to see the lands of the Bible. I'd give it 4.5 rather than 4 stars if I could.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good map of the sites of the best stories of the Bible. V

    A very good map of the sites of the best stories of the Bible. Very informative. Well written.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    A journey worth reading!!

    A well written, easy to read book that puts in perspective the physical journey of God's people. Although it is not a book for spiritual growth in your relationship with God, it is a book worth reading to farther understand the journey of a people, whom God chose to bring salvation to the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Great writer, great man

    In this book Walking the Bible I really appreciate the way Feiler writes. He writes in a way where you can hear it in his voice that he is not biased. He really does try not to offend anyone. I enjoyed reading because he is a very good researcher without trying to make it feel like you are reading a history book, or even a research paper for that matter. Even more than his writing I do enjoy the fact that he cares about other people¿s religions and knows they have the right to believe whatever they want, so he puts everything into perspective for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    Extraordinary! I want the world to read this!

    I can't wait to read Abraham!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    A placement of mind and spirit

    Deeply moving for unexplained reasons. An experience I can't wait to continue and already anticipate a void once I've finished the book. This book will take you someplace your soul needs to go.The sand, the wind the history the science the humor. Better and more satisfying than carnal experiences.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    I agree

    It stinks.this girl is an athiest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    The Trek through the Torah

    Walking the Bible is an interesting account of a journey through the biblical sites of the Five Books of Moses. Feiler begins his journey not to grow closer to God, if (in his thinking) there even is a God, but to strengthen his ties and connect to the Bible. <BR/>As he sets off in his pilgrimage we begin to be exposed to his engaging writing. Feiler's unique writing style is always entertaining, and the way he presents all the information is very well crafted. I am amazed at his ability, since such a familiar and historically rich topic could easily present the mass amount of information in a way that would leave the reader feeling like its a textbook, or needing to take a break. Feiler uses humor, great analogies, and wonderful comparisons to bring his points across and it is an overall joy to read. While on his pilgrimage, he becomes acquainted with many knowledgeable historians and gives a numerous account of different perspectives on how the events in the Bible happened. As we watch his process of coming up with his ideas, the reader is also doing the same thing while being entertained as well. Its a wonderful book to read, full of extremely interesting insights, and never once did I lose interest while I was reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Walking the Bible Review

    Bruce Feiler takes a trip in which he travels to many of the holy sites in the first 5 books in the Old Testament. He does a great job of descrbing the scenery and sights, and engages the readers, capturing their interest, almost making the readers feel that they were there. He also slowly begins to show how the Bible, and the land it takes place in can transform people, as his goal of not including God can only last so long, especially when he began to connect with the land spiritually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Instant Classic

    Feiler is an amazing writer who can grab your attention and move your mind through the land. The best part about this book is the setting, and the way that are able, through the writing, to imagine the area, it is as if you could feel the sand blowing across your face. I highly recommend every person, who is interested in any type of religion, to read this book. This book is a way of walking through someone¿s faith and finding what is really there. If you ever wondered about the places where the Bible stories took place, and what the people in those stories were like, this is the book for you. This is an intriguing first hand experience report on what bible life was like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    In Search of the Past

    This documentary of Bruce Feiler's journey through the Bible commands your attention throughout the book. He offers interesting insight that I myself hadn't thought of. Not only is it a very interesting analysis of ancient days, but I really enjoyed the thoughts he had on the modern-day history as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    more than just a guided tour through the bible

    I wasn't real sure what to expect when I first started reading this book. I thought maybe it would be more of a basic travel log. It was so much more than that! Bruce Feiler is such an amazing writer! He uses such intricate details, you really feel as if you are right there with him. This is a story not only about a historical journey through the bible, but the author's inner transformation as he breaks away from modes of reason and logic and more towards emotion and trust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4