Customer Reviews for

The Wall

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    This book bugs me because it had so much potential. Long dashed

    This book bugs me because it had so much potential. Long dashed a bit of climber lingo here, there and everywhere throughout the story. I suppose he was trying to lend authenticity to the narrative. A little bit of background information and lingo would have gone a long way, but my reading was disrupted by the sense that Long was showing off.

    In school, teachers tell students in writing classes, "Show me don't tell me." In the same vein, I wish that he had shown the ordeal at the wall, instead of telling us obscure climbing metaphors and his brilliant vocabulary. This book could've been great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    Not A Good Read

    I wanted to enjoy this book but I just could not get in to the writing style of this author. Even tho I finished the book there were parts I just didn't understand. Not a good read for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    A Dizzying Wall

    Jeff Long's latest offering, The Wall, is an incredible read! Literally from the get-go this unrelenting and suspenseful tale of two climbers exorcising their physical and mental demons on 'the wall,' a 3600 foot sheer stone face in Yosemite valley, never lets up. Long knows his climbing, so the terms inherent in the sport distract from the tale at times, but never enough to mar the incessant atmosphere of doom destined to befall these lifelong climbers. The shocking surprise ending, however, seemed incongruous at first glance, in light of what had come before. But after some consideration might actually have been the most appropriate ending of all. Still, for this reviewer, an alternate ending would have bumped this incredible read to the five star category.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A Dizzying Wall

    Jeff Long's latest offering, The Wall, is an incredible read. Literally from the get-go this unrelenting and suspenseful tale of two climbers exorcising their physical and mental demons on 'the wall,' a 3600 foot sheer stone face in Yosemite valley, never lets up. Long knows his climbing, so the terms inherent in the sport distract from the tale at times, but never enough to mar the incessant atmosphere of doom destined to befall these lifelong climbers. The shocking surprise ending, however, seemed incongruous at first glance, in light of what had come before. But after some consideration might actually have been the most appropriate ending of all. Still, for this reviewer, an alternate ending would have bumped this incredible read to the five star category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    If you're a climber you might like this

    Reading the reviews posted on this site encouraged me to try this writer. The ending was supposed to be a shocker, but for me it was a let down. I, at first, found the plot and the main characters intriquing. I also found since I was not a climber I had no idea what carabiners or jumars are. And my Webster's II Riverside Dictionary doesn't either! Apparently the author seems to feel those terms and other obsure descriptions of mountain angles and 'roofs' on crevices are household words. I once climbed Mt. Hood to the top so I thought that experience might have helped me visualize the treacherous climb here. No such luck. The beginning is quite stunning but the end is more of a 'huh?' Not as much thrilling but rather a tedious bore. Halfway through the plot I felt I wanted the author to get on with it and it surely would have helped if he would have written the book for those who like thrillers but who are not mountaineers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great thriller

    Thirty-five years ago buddies Hugh Glass and Lewis Cole climbed Yosemite's El Cap Mountain where they also met their future wives. However, now Hugh¿s wife is gone and Lewis¿ spouse is divorcing him. Yearning for a repeat of their greatest triumph, the two friends agree to climb El Cap again though they do not expect to find the respective highlight film of their lives when they met their beloveds.------ Hugh and Lewis are lonely, missing their wives, as they begin the ascent. However, they soon find a corpse of an apparent person who fell off the cliff. Shocked already, a wild caveman Joshua attacks the two climbers and abducts the body they found. They continue their trek when they run into a search and rescue guide Augustine who hunts for his missing fiancée. Lewis abruptly leaves the climb while Hugh joins the SAR guide on his quest to find lost climbers even as a nasty storm is coming and Joshua stalks the two men.----- The key element to this exciting thriller is the treatment of THE WALL the mountain side seems like the prime protagonist with Hugh and Lewis acting more like major support players. For instance the description of the impact of gravity on a woman falling off the wall will shake the audience. The tension picks up as Hugh helps the SAR guide while Lewis leaves and never slows down through a shocking final twist that will leave the audience longing more natural thrillers like this tense tale.---- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1