BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Wallflower Christmas (Wallflower Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT READ!

    Rafe has come from America to meet with Lady Natalie Blandford, a beautiful young woman with very blue blood, and one whom his demanding and overbearing father wants to align their family with. However, Lady Natalie's cousin and companion Hannah knows deep in her heart that Rafe is definitely not the right woman for her cousin. The Wallflowers recognize this also, though it could be that Rafe is just perfect for Hannah!<BR/>As a Kleypas fan from the beginning of her career, I buy anything with her name on it and I am happy to report, Lisa has never failed to entertain me with likeable characters and lovely sensual romances. While this book was short as well as lively and witty, the author did do a very thorough job of fleshing out the character of Rafe and a reasonable job with Hannah. If you are new to the series, you can gauge enough of the other Wallflowers characters to have some idea of what their stories would be like and these glimpses will be enough to whet your appetite for the previous books in this series. I confess to having all of the Kleypas Wallflower books in by TBR stack and after reading this novella, I am definitely going to make it a point to read them sooner rather than later. Not only did I fall in love with Hannah and Rafe's characters, and the trials they needed to overcome in order to achieve happiness, I found myself totally intrigued with the rest of the Wallflowers and know their stories must be equally fabulous as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    I Love It

    All of Kleypas's Wallflower series had made me laugh head over heels and I think this one will do the same. I love the way Lillian and Daisy make joke oevr each other and humor over each others tactics. Annabelle and Eve are also best with their freinds. Kleyps likes to humor her readers and herself. I keep on loving her books with the humor she awakes from her readers with her humoreous tone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Charming, passionate and a little proper... ;)

    Rafe Bowman comes to London to marry so that he can get rights to his estranged father's European market. The deal is to marry Lady Natalie, but as an American there is much to learn about courting an English Rose, so when his sister and her three friends begin matchmaking they contact Lady Natalie's companion and cousin Hannah Appleton to learn more about Lady Natalie.

    Hannah arrives for tea and is met by a rough, rude and unsophisticated Rafe Bowman who is supposed to marry her cousin, and she leaves with one stolen kiss that kindles a fire inside her and stout determination that he's a Rake and should not marry her cousin. As both families travel to the country to spend Christmas and hope for an engagement, Hannah vows she'll try her hardest not to let Natalie fall for Rafe's pretend charms.

    Rafe has never in his life met a woman like Hannah, and the more he spend time with her and speaks with her the more he can't understand why she holds something that ties his attention only to her. Sure he's to marry Lady Natalie, a decent enough marriage, but he can't seem to keep away from Hannah, her smile and determination to dislike him. But it's not a game lost yet because to every kiss he¿s stolen she¿s responded to.

    ~*~

    I absolutely loved this book, couldn't but it down! From the very beginning this book was charming, intriguing and deliciously proper and passionate at the same time. I loved Kleypas's writing, she's superbly talented in creating characters that are sophisticated, proper and have so many passions boiling just underneath the surface.

    Rafe, I think I have a little crush, he comes to London to marry an upper class girl because of a deal with his father and falls for the charms of the lady's poor cousin and can't seem to get his head right between what's expected and how he absolutely doesn't want to do anything that is expected of him. He's charming, little rude but in a delicious way that makes a girl swoon.

    Hannah is a wonderful character, she's smart, headstrong and tries to be practical to fault, but whenever she's around Rafe she loses some of her cool and picks up on his fire for life, his passion initiating hers.
    She's the perfect Victorian heroine, not too modern but modern enough for her time to be little out of place, even though she tries her hardest to be proper and practical she's sporting quite the temper when flared.

    If you love historical Romance this is for you! And if you love Christmas you'll love reading this! But on some classical baroque or waltz Christmas music and thoroughly enjoy this novel. I did.

    I will be re-reading this every Christmas from now on, I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Romantic, humorous, touching, and sweet! A real Christmas gift to savor!

    I'm a huge fan of the Wallflower books, and this novella truly is a delightful addition to the ongoing story. The interaction of the Bowmans, the wallflowers, assorted spouses, and an errant toupe make for a very entertaining read. The plot involving Rafe Bowman and Hannah was tender and funny at the same time, and if my husband would write a love letter to me that even came close to what Rafe wrote his beloved, I'd quit nagging him about picking up his socks. Or at least I'd settle for the stink eye and keeping silent.<BR/><BR/>It was wonderful to see how Annabelle, Lillian, Evie, and Daisy had settled into their marriages, and I fell in love all over again with their husbands. The entire narrative truly captured the Christmas spirit, and A Wallflower Christmas is a keeper.<BR/><BR/>In response to the fact that it's short, why yes, it is, and by the time one uses their B&N discount, it's about the same as a paperback. It's also intended to be a novella.<BR/><BR/>Truly fun, engaging, and best enjoyed with a cup of caramel coffee and a snickerdoodle cookie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    LOVELY

    A very, very enjoyable series of novels. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    wallflower series

    I love the wallflower series and this one did not disappoint me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! What a very good read.  I love the alpha male

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!


    What a very good read.  I love the alpha male type that Rafe is. He is unapologetic and is comfortable in his own skin.  The book was humorous so much so that it made me laugh out load at certain points.  I love that fact that Rafe gave Hannah the little tin solider.  To me that defined how much he truly loved her.  So if you want take charge men who do it well while they are taking charge, this is the book for you!!!  This was my favorite in the series.  Although the series was spectacular too...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I couple days ago one of my book groups on Goodreads You'll love

    I couple days ago one of my book groups on Goodreads You'll love this one...!! A book club &amp; more there was a 24 hour read-a-thon and while I only participated for about 17 of the 24 hours I had a lot of fun and this was one of my reads.

    Last November I read &amp; reviewed one of Lisa Kleypa's books called Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor. It was one of her contemporary romances and I just could not get into it so when I pulled this one off my shelf to read it on Saturday I was a little nervous. However, her historical romance novel A Wallflower Christmas was nothing like the contemporary read by her I read last year.

    While I did not read the previous 4 novels in this historical romance series I was able to follow the story line because while the couples from the previous books are in this book the main focus is on Rafe Bowman who is brother to Daisy and Lillian who are two of the Wallflowers from earlier books as well as young Miss Hannah Appleton who is Rafe Bowman's intendeds companion.

    Whilst trying to ensure that her brother is on his best behaviour when he meets his intended Lillian his sister invites Hannah to meet Rafe so both parties can learn about each other in a round about way. However instead of being interested in gleaming information about Natalie from Hannah her cousin Rafe finds himself inexplicably drawn to Hannah. While Hannah is attempting to put her attraction to the rakish Rafe on the back burner they end up in a heated embrace not long after they meet.

    This sets off a whole chain of events and while Rafe and Natalie's parents are still trying to get them together over the holidays when all the Wallflowers come together with the Blandfords, Rafe, and Hannah in tow. But, against all odds fate, the spirit of Christmas time and the strong willed Wallflowers bring Hannah and Rafe together.

    I thought that this was a wonderfully written Christmas historical romance novel. I was very surprised by how much I loved the writing in this book because of my experience with one of the author's other books but I couldn't be happier. The characters were great. I really loved Hannah. She was a lovely girl who wasn't interested in Rafe for his money but only for his love. She was witty, smart and unbelievable charming but still had her share of backbone.

    Rafe was the typical rake but I loved him nonetheless because of how sweet, kind, and passionate when it came to Hannah, his two sisters and his young niece. While he could be pushy I didn't mind the way he came off in the beginning as being stuck up because I thought he redeemed himself when it came to getting the woman he's been waiting for.

    I also really enjoyed all the different characters of the Wallflowers. After reading this book I'm very excited to read the preceding novels in the new year. This was a great Christmas read because it was cute, funny and sweet too.

    I would highly recommend reading this book despite it being the 5th book in the series it's great read as a standalone. Lisa Kleypas seems to have redeemed herself in my eyes and if her other historical romances are as good as this I'm set. If you're looking for a quick, funny holiday read that's also a historical romance. Check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Charming Christmas Tale

    Really enjoyed the other Wallflower series so I loved this cute Christmas story. Definitely read the others before the series or you won't get as much out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    As all Lisa Kleypas novels she writes a good plot and I enjoyed an ending to the Wallflower series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    lovely Christmas romance

    I really enjoyed all the Wallflower series, but recommend you read them in order. The heroines are all distinct and different, but you can see how they would become friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great

    Every bit as good as the others. Wish it were a full novel though, would love to have read more about Hannah and Rafe. Just a good story all around... sso gla I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Love reading about the wallflower ladies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Wonderful Wallflower Book

    I loved the whole series and this was a great holiday follow up. It was great to get reunited with the old wallflowers. Especially Evie and Sebastian, my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Not

    Not as good as her other wallflower books. Too short. Save ur money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Sweet story

    I really enjoyed this story. I liked how the relationship developed between the main characters and also how the "wallflowers" each ended up getting involved. I can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down

    Want to read the other 4
    It was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Short but sweet

    It was a long wait for the paperback version of this novel. Though it was shorter than the other Wallflower books, the author still packed it with with enough comic and romantic punch. All the main characters are endearing and real. Any book by Lisa Kleypas is always a pleasure. All keepers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Fantastic!

    I loved Lisa Kleypas' wallflower series! I have read it many many times over the years and I greatly enjoyed Rafe and Hannah's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10