Customer Reviews for

Wallflower in Bloom: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must Read Page Turner

If you've read previous books by Claire Cook, this page turner should be added to your bookshelf. Deidre Griffin is a character you want to root for and follow along with her life's (mis)adventures. She pushes past her insecurities and puts herself out there. Ms. Cook's...
If you've read previous books by Claire Cook, this page turner should be added to your bookshelf. Deidre Griffin is a character you want to root for and follow along with her life's (mis)adventures. She pushes past her insecurities and puts herself out there. Ms. Cook's witty characters and story-telling keep the reader hooked.

posted by JaneTheWriter on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cute Summer Read

The premise of "Wallflower in Bloom" makes for a great story. How often do we each feel as though we are invisable? Coming into our own is wonderful and I loved reading about Deidre's transformation. Sometimes the banter between two adult siblings was too much and the m...
The premise of "Wallflower in Bloom" makes for a great story. How often do we each feel as though we are invisable? Coming into our own is wonderful and I loved reading about Deidre's transformation. Sometimes the banter between two adult siblings was too much and the modern day cliches a little over the top, but I did like the story. It is a nice light read for a summer day.

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Must Read Page Turner

    If you've read previous books by Claire Cook, this page turner should be added to your bookshelf. Deidre Griffin is a character you want to root for and follow along with her life's (mis)adventures. She pushes past her insecurities and puts herself out there. Ms. Cook's witty characters and story-telling keep the reader hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Another great read!

    Claire Cook never disappoints. Her books are clever and witty, yet truthful and heartfelt. I’m always excited to read her newest, and always a bit sad when I turn the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Cute Summer Read

    The premise of "Wallflower in Bloom" makes for a great story. How often do we each feel as though we are invisable? Coming into our own is wonderful and I loved reading about Deidre's transformation. Sometimes the banter between two adult siblings was too much and the modern day cliches a little over the top, but I did like the story. It is a nice light read for a summer day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Too Funny!

    As usual, Claire Cook know how to make you laugh in “Wallflower in Bloom”! I listened to the audio version read by Cassandra Campbell which I love as well – so perfect for the part.

    Love the way Claire always has her strong women characters inventing themselves and the wonderful journey along the way, full of obstacles and stepping stones. The sense of humor in all her books make them fun to read or to listen to and inspires you to be your best!

    Bringing in DWTS was so cool, as Deirdre has lived in the shadows of her famous brother Tag, and uses social media to get her the spot on the famous show. You will be delighted with this one, as all of Cook’s funny tales and full of adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Deidre Griffin has a life many dream of, flying around the world

    Deidre Griffin has a life many dream of, flying around the world being a personal assistant to her high maintenance New Age Guru Brother, Tag. This role seems to make her the wallflower of the family. Deidre decides to use Tag’s millions of online followers to get her a spot on Dancing with the Stars. Maybe stepping in front of the camera will help her mentally and physically earning her 15 minutes of fame.

    Wallflower in bloom is a perfect summer read, although I read it in the fall and it is still perfect. Starting with the title, showing there is hope for a wallflower to come into her own. Most of us either know or are a wallflower, someone who goes out but stays in the shadows. I loved watching Deidre come out of the shadows and bloom into a self ensured, non-pushover woman.

    The “chiasmus” at the beginning of each chapter were great. They gave a little insight into what was coming in the chapter and often made me smile and nod my head. If you don’t know what a “chiasmus” is you definitely will by the end of the book.

    I loved that this was a story of family and that even when someone seemingly changes the game plan they still come together and support each other wanting each other to succeed.

    Whether a Dancing with the Stars fan or not everyone will love this book. Claire Cook’s great sense of humor shines through. If you have a family that sometimes drives you crazy you will definitely relate.
    Actually, anyone who is looking to read a great chic-lit book will love Wallflower in Bloom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Boring

    But maybe good a book if you want to know in advance what is going to happen... and with a happy ending of course

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wallflower in Bloom is the first novel by Claire Cook that I ha

    Wallflower in Bloom is the first novel by Claire Cook that I have ever read. Thank you to Touchstone Books and Netgalley for an opportunity to read it. I am excited to share this novel with you because it includes some of my favorite elements: Dancing with the Stars, Reinvention, and Humor.

    Synopsis:

    Deidre is Tag’s little sister and his personal assistant. She organizes everything for Tag from his living expenses to business and social media. Tag the Rock star guru is the family money maker and not only employs Deidre but his parents as well. One evening Deidre has decided she has had enough and quits. She rushes home from the business trip to find out that Dancing with the Stars is looking for a replacement for an injured celebrity. Her thoughts lead to a way to get back at Tag and do something for herself for a change. She writes a letter to Dancing with the Stars asking about the possibility to of Tag’s little sister have a chance to dance as Tag. Will Deidre make the cut? How will she deal with her brother and the rest of her family? Most important what will she learn about herself through this experience?
    Product Details
    My Thoughts:

    I was very excited to read this book. I had an opportunity to meet Claire in June on her tour. Claire also appeared on Writer’s Corner to share about reinvention and this novel in an interview. I found some humor in this book. I loved the character development of the Protagonist as the pages turned. I found the author’s descriptions of emotional eating a little uncomfortable to read. I did find myself routing for Deidre in the end. Over all I feel that Wallflower in Bloom has a very positive message.

    What would you do if you had an opportunity to be part of Dancing with the Stars? Would you respond like Deidre or would you have a different goal in mind? I would love to be part of Dancing with the Stars and look forward to the people I could meet.

    Claire would love to hear from you please stop by her Facebook page, twitter @clairecookwrites, and her we

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    With short chapters, witty prose, and little poetry peppered in

    With short chapters, witty prose, and little poetry peppered in for color... Claire Cook's Wallflower in Bloom is great for busy people who need to inject a little comic relief into their days. I can't tell you the last time I chuckled almost constantly throughout and entire book. While finishing this book in one rainy day, I often laughed out loud with many loud laughs! Too.Funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I'm Blooming

    I love when a book cover catches my attention, but I really love when the books lives up the excitement. Acclaimed Best Seller, Claire Cook introduces to an array of characters that you can relate to. Deidre works as a personal assistant to her brother, Tag whom she describes as Deepak Chokra & Bono. Deidre is used to living in the shadows of life, including being in an on and off relationship with her flight by night boyfriend, Mitchell. When Mitchell delivers the ultimate blow to Deidre, she decides to make some major changes in her life. Deidre finds out it’s an uphill battle learning self-acceptance and living life on her terms.


    Claire Cook does an excellent job of writing a story full of life gems; there were times I did find myself laughing out loud. Isn’t that what Life is all about, the ability to weather the storms and become stronger individuals. We all have been Wallflowers in certain situations in our lives, but it never too late for us to Bloom.


    I would definitely recommend this book.



    4 Stars
    Orsayor
    Book Referees

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Great summer read, well developed characters and the book keeps

    Great summer read, well developed characters and the book keeps you wanting to read. You may think that Claire Cook has met your family and based her characters off them! If you have not yet read anythign by Claire Cook start with this book and I knwo you will be buying the rest of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    A great read! The wit of Claire Cook is like no other author in

    A great read! The wit of Claire Cook is like no other author in the "romantic" class of fiction. This story is laugh out loud funny and almost believable. The tale of a dysfunctional family at its best. The brother/sister relationship is certainly a sketch of its own and mixed with the other family memebers, the story takes dysfunctional to a new level. With quick wit and one liners, the book is difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a perfect read to start while waiting at the airport to

    This was a perfect read to start while waiting at the airport to start my much needed beach vacation! While on Huntington Beach I got to love Deirdre and her journey to find herself without being in charge of her brother's life and career. I found myself rooting for her to overcome insecurities and break free of her family and start living her life. Some of my family and the people next to me on the beach gave me some odd looks as I laughed out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    This is a really cute book, and I enjoyed reading. The character

    This is a really cute book, and I enjoyed reading. The characters where funny and loved the interaction of the family. I laughed out loud at several of the chiamus. I would have liked to see more interaction between the herion and love interest, but that was not the main point of the book. I liked that the book made the point of accepting who you are, without banging you over the head with it.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wallflower in Bloom was a fun read. Deirdre Griffin has gotten

    Wallflower in Bloom was a fun read. Deirdre Griffin has gotten herself in a world wind of doing everything for everyone. She is even a personal assistant to her Guru brother named Tag, who happens to think he is gods greatest gift to man kind. It's about time for Deirdre Griffin to take her life into her own hands and stop being in her brothers shadow. Claire Cook has a new fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Dancing with the Stars

    Deirdre Griffin is on top of her game, she is a first rate personal assistant to her guru brother Tag, she is a the ideal daughter, and all around go to girl. With all these qualities you would think that Deirdre would be on fire, but she still hides in the shadows while others get the glow.
    In Wildflower in Bloom: A Novel the central character Deirdre takes a risk to fill a slot in famed show Dancing with the Stars. With a little help of her social media finesse, Deidre takes a risk to blaze her own path and win a spot on the show. This story has wit, love, and you sense a desire to live dreams. Will she tip toe across stage a winner or fall flat on her face to humiliation?
    Author Claire Cook does it again to root for the underdog, those who always do the right thing but seldom celebrate in the glory. Watch as Deidre portrays the everyday woman.
    Wildflower in Bloom is a sweet and joyous tale of taking a chance on living your dreams.
    Best known for her book, Must Love Dogs, Cook again sprinkles her magical dust of writing to bring life to a world of possibilities.
    Wildflower in Bloom is a sure bet to pass these dog days of summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I LOVED it!!!

    I LOVED it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    What a fun read! Have you ever felt invisible? Everyone take you

    What a fun read! Have you ever felt invisible? Everyone take you for granted? Well, that's the story of Deidre who works for her famous brother Tag.

    Fan of Dancing With the Stars? You'll love this...our Deidre gets mad, gets drunk and manages to land on the show.

    The story is good in you root for her to be free and to work things out. I couldn't wait to see what happened.

    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Title Tells It!

    While it took me a little bit to get into this book, I found it to be a compelling page turner. I had a love/hate relationship with the main character Deirdre, well hate is not quite right more like "sorry".
    Deirdre is the do it all girl/personal assistant for her motivational speaker/musician guru. She is extremely bright girl with very little self esteem.
    The book will give you some really good chuckles, and you will be cheering her on in some of her antics! At other times you will be in tears for her. I loved how she went about getting herself on DWTS!! Once we start our journey there we find Deirdre starting to bloom.
    Don't miss this great summer read, and have a box of tissues handy for your tears from joy and sadness!

    I received this book from the Publisher Simon & Schuster, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I was lucky to get my hands on a pre-release copy of Wildflower

    I was lucky to get my hands on a pre-release copy of Wildflower in Bloom, and I read it in one day. Claire Cook knows how to spin a tale in ways that are as unique as her characters and their circumstances. This was is a fun, wonderfully quirky read, and Cook’s trademark humor is at its best. It’s a story that proves how freeing it can be to break through the barriers of insecurity, take a chance, and dance to the beat of your own drummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't look at me like that. Sure, 3 stars means I did like this

    Don't look at me like that. Sure, 3 stars means I did like this book, and I'm not even in the target demographic (a bit too male). I'm allowed to read something different once in a while. And enjoy it. So there. Besides, I like Dancing with the Stars.

    What worked for me: The deadpan voice of the first-person narrator. Given her messed up personal situation and her hapless reactions, she could have some across as whining. By keeping her reasonably level-headed, the author makes it possible for us to stick with her. And by not making her too empowered or snarky, we don't get put off, either. Beyond that, the prose, dialog, settings, and descriptions are all first-rate. There is nothing to complain about in terms of basic writing skills.

    What didn't really work for me, once it occurred to me, is believing that this powerful, effective personal assistant for a popular pop figure is so easily reduced to a hapless, clueless shlub. I was also put off by the completely inane relationship she has with her brother and the rest of her family. Sure, this is the source of conflict for the story. But this is one of those conflicts that could be resolved in about two minutes if just one of the participants would act like a grown up, instead of a thirteen-year-old.

    As for all of the rigmarole dealing with Dancing with the Stars and Hollywood: this is reasonably believable and mostly fun. In some ways, I wish it could have been richer. Just as it all seemed to get rolling, everything is resolved. This is perhaps due to the short length of the book. I read it in only a few hours, spread over several days. This will be a fun beach read for those in its target audience. As for the rest of us, you may like it, too (especially if you are a DWTS fan, like me).

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2