Customer Reviews for

Wander Dust

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Completely Captivating

This book captured me from the first page! I wish I could have read it in one sitting, but I have to work too. The story takes you on a journey with Seraphina Parrish and through her eyes. She's thrown into a world that seems almost impossible, where she needs to wrap h...
This book captured me from the first page! I wish I could have read it in one sitting, but I have to work too. The story takes you on a journey with Seraphina Parrish and through her eyes. She's thrown into a world that seems almost impossible, where she needs to wrap her mind around the impossible. What was really fun about reading this story is since you were in Sera's viewpoint this new worldview is revealed to you as it is revealed to her, and you get to be as confused as she is. I think that Warren really did well setting up the story, she immersed you so much into Sera's world that you were feeling the confusion, anger, happiness, sadness, and annoyance that Sera feels.
Sera lives with her dad Ray, for her whole life they have moved around continuously, never staying in one spot for very long. Her mother died when she was a baby. As she learns she has a special ability she is sent to her aunt's in Chicago to attend a boarding school for Wanderers, which she is happy to finally be in one spot for a period of time. She finds out that with her ability she is put in a 3-person team who should be perfect together in order to better use their talents. The other two have been waiting for a long period of time for her to find her talent and arrive at the boarding school, which has left them with mixed emotions due to waiting for so long. This adds just another problem for Sera to work through.
For the first half of the book you are confused of what exactly is happening and what are the real roles of the characters that introduced are, which very much works in this story. Even though you go through the story with Sera, it is fun to come up with different theories of what you think will happen. Some of my theories were confirmed or denied by the end of the book, but I still have a few that haven't been touched yet that I'm expecting will be talked about in the next book. The book is very fast paced and is intence from start to finish. Even though the book is fast paced it isn't too fast or and doesn't leave things out just to get onto the next thing. Also there is enough character buildup to satisfy readers in this story, but Warren has definitely left room for more explanations to come in the next two books. This was a great beginning to the Seraphina Parrish Trilogy, and I cannot wait to read Protecting Truth!

posted by Kujo222 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Time travel is usually a theme that makes me nervous. I love the

Time travel is usually a theme that makes me nervous. I love the science fiction, but I'm always afraid of the choices characters will make because they can change the course of time and completely change the fate of the world. Wander Dust didn't give me that feeling of...
Time travel is usually a theme that makes me nervous. I love the science fiction, but I'm always afraid of the choices characters will make because they can change the course of time and completely change the fate of the world. Wander Dust didn't give me that feeling of impending doom. Michelle Warren adds flare and mystery to time travel and creates a world discreetly separated by Normals on one side and Wanderers, Seers, and Protectors on the other.

I pegged Seraphina as a rebel from the very beginning. She loved to spite her father just to get a rise out of him. For someone who didn't have a great relationship with her father, and never knew the guidance of a mother, Sera turned out to be a pretty well-behaved kid. She wasn't above breaking the rules, but she wasn't a wild child either. When Sera moved to Chicago to live with her aunt Mona, a different side of her showed. She's the kind of character you either love or hate. I love Sera because she thought about the situations she got herself into. She didn't always make the best choices, but she did what was best based on what little she knew of the Wanderer Society.

There's much learned, and much still to learn, about the Wanderer Society. Readers are really only given a snippet of how students at the Academy, a boarding school for students of the Society, use their powers in the real world. The novel's pacing is fast, but sometimes it slowed down when Sera needed something explained to her. The characters in lecture mode were not appealing at times, seeming like they were just speaking at Sera to show they knew their information.

Wander Dust is a wonderful start for The Seraphina Parrish Trilogy. There are a few unresolved issues in the plot that causes my curiosity to read what happens in the next installment. I have hopes that Book 2 of The Seraphina Parrish Trilogy will still be filled with the humorously outrageous characters and events of Wander Dust.

*Ebook provided by author in exchange for honest review*

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Captivating

    This book captured me from the first page! I wish I could have read it in one sitting, but I have to work too. The story takes you on a journey with Seraphina Parrish and through her eyes. She's thrown into a world that seems almost impossible, where she needs to wrap her mind around the impossible. What was really fun about reading this story is since you were in Sera's viewpoint this new worldview is revealed to you as it is revealed to her, and you get to be as confused as she is. I think that Warren really did well setting up the story, she immersed you so much into Sera's world that you were feeling the confusion, anger, happiness, sadness, and annoyance that Sera feels.
    Sera lives with her dad Ray, for her whole life they have moved around continuously, never staying in one spot for very long. Her mother died when she was a baby. As she learns she has a special ability she is sent to her aunt's in Chicago to attend a boarding school for Wanderers, which she is happy to finally be in one spot for a period of time. She finds out that with her ability she is put in a 3-person team who should be perfect together in order to better use their talents. The other two have been waiting for a long period of time for her to find her talent and arrive at the boarding school, which has left them with mixed emotions due to waiting for so long. This adds just another problem for Sera to work through.
    For the first half of the book you are confused of what exactly is happening and what are the real roles of the characters that introduced are, which very much works in this story. Even though you go through the story with Sera, it is fun to come up with different theories of what you think will happen. Some of my theories were confirmed or denied by the end of the book, but I still have a few that haven't been touched yet that I'm expecting will be talked about in the next book. The book is very fast paced and is intence from start to finish. Even though the book is fast paced it isn't too fast or and doesn't leave things out just to get onto the next thing. Also there is enough character buildup to satisfy readers in this story, but Warren has definitely left room for more explanations to come in the next two books. This was a great beginning to the Seraphina Parrish Trilogy, and I cannot wait to read Protecting Truth!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful! What a wonderful new world was created here! Where wi

    Beautiful! What a wonderful new world was created here! Where will we wander next!?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First I love this story because it takes place in Chicago, and I

    First I love this story because it takes place in Chicago, and I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago. I love the feel of Chicago and reading this book gave an even more magical feel to the city I love. Beyond my love for the scenery in this book, I loved the concept of the story, the mix of different mythologies, and magic. It was action packed and there was a nice love story too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Yes

    This was absolutley sweet and exciting. An adventure in every page, some shocking, others enticing. Overall, it was an amazing piece of literature and i would reccomend it to anyone who wants a cute, clean, wonderful journey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    ¿¿¿ From the start, we learn that Sera has been by herself. Not

    ¿¿¿ From the start, we learn that Sera has been by herself. Not many friends and a father that doesn't know what he is doing. We come to realise that Sera doesn't speak much or at all about school or friends. The onyl intel we get on her old life if one chapter, which only then involves her dad, yet still not a main part of her life. We understand this feeling as she skips past her old life's school, including those in it. It is as much of a blur to us as it is to Sera, which instantly forms our connection to her and her new life.

    Along with Sera we come to realize there are so many questions and mysteries. We also, use our own mental checklist of all things weird and unknown to us. This, for us continues throughout the novel for us, as it does Sera, ultimately bringing us closer with her.

    The story lets off a very quick pace. Just as it is all so new to Sera in this new world and getting confused in the time elapsed, everything seems to be moving pretty quickly. We get a little confused about how much time has passed in the present day. I know you might be wondering what I'm talking about if you haven't read this novel yet, but it's hard not to include a spoiler about what that actually means (if you read the book, and you should, then you'll find out). This, however, doesn't stop our interest in the novel, even if there is some action (at the end), the new world is quite as thrilling.

    As we read, we see her struggle to adapt to this new world she is thrust into, as well as the people within it. The love that blossoms as well as struggles throughout the book tests Sera, and we ultimately feel her pain and her struggle as she faces all of these challenges head first. The choices that she's faced to make leave us shocked and awed at her courage and strength, especially after all that she's gone through and all that she hopes and wishes for.

    Although there is no cliffhanger, unknown answers keeps us on edge, waiting anxiously for the next novel. Even after we finish the book, we are still wondering about it all and keep on finding more questions that haven't been answered. This leaves us utterly hanging, desperate for the second novel. Hmmm, yes, I stand corrected, it is a cliffhanger.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Let me tell you how much I loved this book. In the past few mont

    Let me tell you how much I loved this book. In the past few months, I have been invited to several "indie" release parties on facebook-- I haven't found one book that I have given a five star review to. This is the first. I loved this book so much. And I can't believe it is only .99! This was a lot of bang for the buck. Great job! This book came highly recommended by a friend, the same friend that recommended a few other disapointing books, so I was very skeptical. I love Time Travel, I loved Seraphina from the beginning. She was an intriguing character that I couldn't get enough of. I can barely wait for the second book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Amazing! the main character really comes to life, and the humor

    Amazing! the main character really comes to life, and the humor is funny. a very good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    i really liked this book a lot. i saw the author advertised on S

    i really liked this book a lot. i saw the author advertised on Stephanie Myers Facebook and started following her. i saw that the book was advertised for 99 cents and said hey why not, i love reading. i was really was into the whole " wandering", time travel aspect . the characters where all very developed and it kept you guessing till the end. i can not wait till the 2nd book comes out and see how her mother ties into everything along with her team, Sam and her love interest Bishop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Wander dust

    Good book! Nicely written. Cannot wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    If you like romantic fantasy, you would love this book. I barely made it thourgh dinner without picking it up and reading it! I hope everyone will enjoy this book when you read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Amazing

    Great book. Makes your mind wander:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Surprisingly good!

    I admit I was a tad skeptical when I started reading this book. However I'm definitely a fan now , and eager to start the next book. Very original, great for teens and adults. I'm very glad I gave this new author a try, she did not disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    mind blown

    Great book, really engulfesyou in the story, very relatable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    This is a great story about time travel. Michelle throws a diff

    This is a great story about time travel. Michelle throws a different twist on it and it involves a Hogwarts like school and teachers and teams of wanderers as they are called. The characters seem real and are fun and interesting. The love story is cute and the bad guys are really scary and really disgusting too. It will be interesting to see where she goes with this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    I can't get ....

    I can't get the book out of my head. You have the feeling that you just can't stop after a page that you have to keep going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seraphina Parrish is celebrating turning 16 like every girl shou

    Seraphina Parrish is celebrating turning 16 like every girl should...celebrating with her clueless father and his self-absorbed girlfriend, Maddi. Of course you can't call it celebrating if no one besides the wait staff sings you Happy Birthday. And if that isn't bad enough...some creepy lady in black is following her and weirding her out. Oh and the earth moves and throws her back in time. Yeah that’s normal oh right.

    But the surprises don't stop there. Seraphina's dad is sending her to live with her aunt in Chicago. And the moment she steps off the plane things continuously go wrong; she loses her luggage, misses her train stop and gets chased by a gang wanting to kill her. So far turning 16 isn't so sweet.

    Wander Dust was such an amazing book. I loved the mystery, the time traveling and the romance; each played out wonderfully to tell a fantastic story. I did notice that a few things that were kept in the dark…but figured they will come to light in the next book, Protecting Truth. Characters were fun to read about…no annoying teens in this one. Although, I wasn’t liking Perpetua very much at all, nope not one bit. But Bishop and Sera were well written and I found myself just smitten with them.

    Wander Dust is so full of suspense and unexpected events…you will find it hard to put it down. And with an ending like that, it will leave you feeling eager for the next book and all that the author has planned for these ‘wandering’ characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was lucky enough to be given an opportunity by the author to r

    I was lucky enough to be given an opportunity by the author to review this book. Wander Dust is a unique story about a sixteen year old girl named Seraphina, who is witty, strong and independent. Seraphina is no damsel in distress that is what I love most about her. She is very strong willed and try’s to do everything on her own, but what she must learn is to trust the ones closest to her but also be careful about how close you let some get.. She has so many questions but little answers so she sets off to find them. But things prove to be hard when you have the Grungy Gang after you wherever you turn, a mysterious boy following you and people who you started to trust turned ageist you.

    Wander Dust will leave you wanting the next book as soon as you’re done. The charters are great and the plot is wonderfully written I fell in love this this book in the 1st chapter .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wanna be a Wanderer!!!

    I initially came across Michelle Warren through Inkpop (a division of Harper Teen for young writers/readers). She posted the first chapter of Wander Dust on the site and offered 'free reads' to others. I thought she was crazy, but I was also intrigued. So I read her snip-it and was instantly hooked!

    Michelle takes us on a wild and mysterious ride, right from the first page. Each chapter brings more questions you just have to know the answers to. Who is this Lady in Black? Why is she sent to Chicago to go live with her aunt? Who are these creepy goons that seem to follow her after popping up out of thin air? Who? What? Why? Ahhhh!

    The world Michelle creates is fantastic! Forgive my geek out moment, but I TOTALLY want to go to a school like the Academy! It's like a mish-mash of Hogwarts and House of Night with fantastically embellished rooms, crazy instructors, and out of this world that-so-should-not-be-real type of ambiance. Michelle describes everything so flawlessly it was like being there with Sera and Bishop.

    The story behind Wander Dust is also incredible. I love a good time travel book and this one does not disappoint. The twist to the norm with the teams (Seer, Wanderer, and Protector) is fantastic and I love the chemistry required with the teams. Michelle weaves through a great plot full of intrigue, history, unexpected twists (which I LOVE), adventure and non-stop action. There was not a moment I got bored! It just keeps on a comin!

    Sera, Bishop, Sam, Stu, Macey... I just loved Michelle's characters. They each had a great voice and true personality. Even Mona, Sera's aunt, is someone who I could totally have tea with. She is like that quirky relative you can't help but adore. Sera is a great lead character. She is strong, but doesn't know it. And it's not that cliche sort of quiet strengths, but a realistic holy-crap-who-am-I-to-think-I-can-actually-do-this-crap kind of chick. Bishop is a great guy and I so look forward to seeing more from him. Michelle kind of back-played him a bit so I have my questions. Don't get me wrong, he is totally swoon worthy. Hell, green eyes and a British accent... SWOON Bishop certainly has some background and I am anxious to learn more and see how the relationship between him and Sera plays out.

    The romance was not as pronounced as you see in other YA reads, but that is not necessarily a bad thing! There were definitely those moments where you scream "JUST KISS HER ALREADY" at the printed words in front of your face. Moments that were incredibly sweet and made me giddy, and others where you could totally feel the fierce blush on Sera's face. It was awesome!

    Overall, Wander Dust was a GREAT read and I am so glad I found another fantastic debut author! Do yourself a favor and pick this puppy up and READ IT! Michelle is working on book #2 as we speak and I am definitely looking forward to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating & Unique!

    Wow! This was a fascinating and unique story! It was impossible to put down! I loved the mystery of Sera trying to figure out what on earth is happening to her or if she might just be going crazy. She is a wonderful & caring person despite living with her emotionless father & moving around a lot. And then there's Bishop, who is absolutely amazing & definitely adds to the mystery as he seems to randomly appear when Sera least expects it. The other characters each add their own flair to the story, too. Especially Gabe who seems to add flair to everything he touches! (Not everyone is so easy to love, though, there's one in particular that will make your skin crawl!) All in all, I absolutely loved this story from beginning to end & can't wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Best book ever

    Sera shares the same longings as any girl in her position i like how the love is graduale and not innaproprite some conclushions are easy to draw like her stalker others are hard like cece but in the end the author manages to blend all the characters together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4