Customer Reviews for

The Wanderer

Average Rating 4.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni...
This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni(cupcake)

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book

An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It ke...
An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It keeps the story interesting and entertaining. The setting is also real and belivable. The theme was brilliant. i would recommend this book to middle school kids because theyd enjoy the dramatic turns in the story.

posted by 6738836 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
    Jenni(cupcake)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    The Wanderer

    An amazing beautiful story! I expected nothing less from the legendary Sharon Creech! -Kiran

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    READ!!!

    great read with 2 interesting povs! Cleaverly written! U MUST READ IT!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    I highly recommend this book- Great author!

    Do you think a voyage with all boys would be fun? It may not be in Sophie's point of view. Sophie, Brian, Cody, Uncle Dock, Uncle Mo, and Uncle Stew go on a dangerous voyage across the ocean on a boat to England to find Bompie (Ulysses) who is the grandpa of Sophie, Brian, and Cody, and the father of Uncle Mo, Dock, and Stew. On their way, they are taking rest stops by Uncle Dock's command. No one else knows why, but really Dock is trying to find his love Rosalie. They also find out new things about each other, and they learn new skills, such as helping each other survive on their voyage, and they also learned juggling and Delta Code. Everyone, especially Brian, is wondering what happened to Sophie's real parents and if the stories she is telling about Bompie are true.


    We rated this story a 4 out of 5 because it has a lot of adventure, detail, and it is suspenseful. You will not want to put this book down! It is a perfect level book for middle schoolers. We recommend reading this book because we really liked it, and I am sure you would too! Sharon Creech is a great author! Read this book as soon as possible. You don't know what you are missing!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Oh my gosh!!!!!

    This book i read in my class and i loved it! The adventurous book is told through 2 diaries. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING YOU MUST PUT DOWN YOUR OTHER BOOK THAT YOU ARE READING RIGHT NOWAND READ THIS ONE INSTEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Hi

    I w"ll defnitaly get! :) -Crystal

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    The Wanderer is a very great book. The setting is not one place

    The Wanderer is a very great book. The setting is not one place throughout the book, but a few places like the ocean. It is about a girl named Sophie. She loves boats and the seas. Her and her Uncle Dock, Mo, Brian, Cody, and Uncle Stew go on an amazing trip to see her "Bompie." Bompie is Sophie's grandfather. He lives in Grand Manan by himself ever since his wife died. My favorite part is when her and Cody go to a mysterious Island where there is to be a ghost. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting, wanting more.The conflict in this story is that Sophie can't remember her family past and just wants to learn more. Even though shes just with men trapped on a boat she still shows women can do things just as well as anyone could do. I would recommenced this book to anyone one who likes boats, or adventures, because this has had to been my favorite adventure book. So, go out there and read, "The Wanderer", By Sharon Creech.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Very Good Book

    An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It keeps the story interesting and entertaining. The setting is also real and belivable. The theme was brilliant. i would recommend this book to middle school kids because theyd enjoy the dramatic turns in the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    A Really Cool Book By A Really Great Author!

    THE WANDERER This book is about a gilr named Sophie. The sea is calling her, and suddenly she knows she has to go with her three uncles and two cousins on the boat Uncle Dock is building. Her Mom thinks it will be too dangerous, but does Sophie care? Nope, she goes anyway. Her bratty cousin Brian is making lists of every possible thing you could think of, and her cousin Cody, (who is okay) is always goofing off at serious times. Sophie hopes she can make it across the sea with these five boys and great adventures. I think anyone would like this book who is interested in books with really good descripiton. It is a really good book because it is about a girl who has a lot of adventures with her cousins and feels bad because she is with a lot of boys. I like this because I can relate to it because I am the only girl in the family so I like someone else to know what the expierience is like to be stuck between so many crazy boys! I love this book. Anyone considering reading it, READ IT!!!!!! Ü Smile when you read the book! Ü

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great

    I luv this book and sailing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    I love it

    This is on of Sharon Creech best book! Woderful story about adventure. I felt like I was in the book. So many wonderful characters and very good events.

    This book was one of my favorites about adventure. This book is recomended for fourth graders and up. :) engoy the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Wonderful coming of age story for girls

    I read this book in my book club, and then purchased it for my daughter to read when she was old enough to deal with the content. It is a wonderfully written story, vivid imagery, great characterization and a satisfying conclusion. Great for adults as well as children 10+ I'd recommend. Sharon Creech has never let us down. A favorite author in our household. Also B&N - your service is exemplary, and I will never order books from another site, or shop at another store - you deserve all the business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Amazing Book

    Best book i have ever read!!!! You will not regret buying it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great book

    This book has a lot of pages but are short you connect with the characters and your mind gets castded away with the stoy its anenjoyable read and i recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    More stars

    OH MY GOD THIS BOOK MADE ME CRY IT IS SO MOVING GI SAVE UP ENOUGH MONEY TO BUT THIS BOOK AND BUT IT ASAP NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Coolio

    It is pretty cool but i am going to put 4 stars because sophies uncle stew is all about a girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A review

    Ok. Umm.....wow. I read rhis book in fifth grade. I actually DO recommend this. You can connect with Sophie an her life actually had depth. As an orphan whose parents died on a ship I can't believe she ad the courage to do this. I also loved Cody.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I love this book

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    I read this book more than 10 years ago when I was teaching fth

    I read this book more than 10 years ago when I was teaching fth grade.  Fantastic adventure story for both boys and girls.  As we read the story, the class learned to juggle, use the military code system, etc.  Wonderful family story.  One cannot go wrong with Sharon Creech, but this is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    The wanderer

    This book was sad happy and exciting this is the king of book i would recommend this book to the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9