Customer Reviews for

Wanderer

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni...
This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni(cupcake)

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book

An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It ke...
An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It keeps the story interesting and entertaining. The setting is also real and belivable. The theme was brilliant. i would recommend this book to middle school kids because theyd enjoy the dramatic turns in the story.

posted by 6738836 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Very Good Book

    An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It keeps the story interesting and entertaining. The setting is also real and belivable. The theme was brilliant. i would recommend this book to middle school kids because theyd enjoy the dramatic turns in the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    It is ok

    The wander is a good book but her best i really love chasing redbird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    It sounds like it isnt my type.

    I read lots of reviews and it sounds like it draws out and is just too long for me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Sailing the Sea

    Historical Fiction<BR/>The Wanderer by Sharon Creech<BR/><BR/>The Wander is about 6 people taking a trip on a ship named the wanderer. Sophie is the only on the journey with her two cousins Brian and Cody, and her three uncles Dock, Mo, and Stew. Brian father is Stew and Cody¿s father is Mo. Dock doesn¿t have kids. Sophie¿s parents are back in Connecticut. <BR/><BR/> Brian is a calm person and is kind of mean if you ask me. He is always saying things to Sophie hinting that she¿s an orphan. Cody he gets along well with Sophie. He is always defending her when Brian is being mean. <BR/><BR/> On the journey across the ocean to see Bompie (the children¿s grandfather) in England, they take a few stops. They stopped in Grand Manan, Wood Island, and Block Island. Dock (who owned The Wanderer) was stopping in all of these places because some how they were connected to Rosalie. Rosalie was Dock¿s ex-girlfriend, and he loved her so much.<BR/><BR/> While on there way to England after all those other stops, there was a wave. It was big and white and it covered the whole ship. It scared everyone. Sophie, Cody, and Dock were on deck so the wave affected them more. Sophie hurt her knee and sprained her ankle on the other leg. Cody hit his head on the wheel. <BR/><BR/> When the family finally reached land in Ireland, they went to a restaurant to eat and they were telling strangers their story. The strangers were actually interested. When Sophie would tell about the wave she would say it was big and black, but she knew it was white. Like the wave in the little kids nightmare. Sophie would always tell Cody about a little kid, and that little kid was swallowed by a wave that was big and black. The little kid loves the sea but still has night mares of the black wave.<BR/><BR/> When the family reached England to see Bompie, he was very sick. Sophie told him stories about him when he was young. Now everyone will know how Sophie knows all of the stories when she has never seen Bompie, and she¿s only been in their family for three years. The three uncles were fighting about who was going to stay with Bompie and live with him in England. If you would like to know the truth about Sophie and who ends up staying with Bompie then read the book.<BR/><BR/> I recommend this book to orphans who should know that there is someone out there that loves them or will love them. I also recommend this book to people who love books by Sharon Creech because this is a good one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    It was decent

    I'm not sure whether to praise or burn this book. Although it isn't my type, Sharon Creech can glue you to the book with her elaborate detail. For someone who loves the ocean, this book would definately be a favorite. I'll never read it again though, it would be boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Spectacular book

    This is an awesome book it is very suspenseful and it is a page turner. Read this please. I guarantee you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    I couldn't get halfway through

    I was dissapointed when I read this book because sharon creech is such a good writer, but I couldn't get halfway through this one. It was boring compared to all her other ones. I recommend all her other books, but not this one. Well, some people will probably love this book but just not me, I guess it depends on what kind of books you like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    NOT HER BEST BOOK!

    This book was kind of boring, and i like other Sharon Creech books ALOT BETTER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    NOT SHARON CREECH'S BEST

    I was really dissapointed in this book. It was written in the form of a journal. The only part that wasn't boring was the end which was confusing. Read her other books they're better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1