Customer Reviews for

Wanderer

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni...
This book is my favorite book its so awesome there is lots of adventure in this book if you like adventires this is a great book for you even if you dont like adventures you will still like it because its the best book in the entire universe
Jenni(cupcake)

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book

An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It ke...
An amazing story lie, mysterious characters, and a slight sence of humor makes Sharon Creech's The Wanderer a mysterious and passionate novel i will never forget. The characters were all belivable. What i like most about them is how they all have a secret to them. It keeps the story interesting and entertaining. The setting is also real and belivable. The theme was brilliant. i would recommend this book to middle school kids because theyd enjoy the dramatic turns in the story.

posted by 6738836 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    I highly recommend this book- Great author!

    Do you think a voyage with all boys would be fun? It may not be in Sophie's point of view. Sophie, Brian, Cody, Uncle Dock, Uncle Mo, and Uncle Stew go on a dangerous voyage across the ocean on a boat to England to find Bompie (Ulysses) who is the grandpa of Sophie, Brian, and Cody, and the father of Uncle Mo, Dock, and Stew. On their way, they are taking rest stops by Uncle Dock's command. No one else knows why, but really Dock is trying to find his love Rosalie. They also find out new things about each other, and they learn new skills, such as helping each other survive on their voyage, and they also learned juggling and Delta Code. Everyone, especially Brian, is wondering what happened to Sophie's real parents and if the stories she is telling about Bompie are true.


    We rated this story a 4 out of 5 because it has a lot of adventure, detail, and it is suspenseful. You will not want to put this book down! It is a perfect level book for middle schoolers. We recommend reading this book because we really liked it, and I am sure you would too! Sharon Creech is a great author! Read this book as soon as possible. You don't know what you are missing!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    The Wanderer is a very great book. The setting is not one place

    The Wanderer is a very great book. The setting is not one place throughout the book, but a few places like the ocean. It is about a girl named Sophie. She loves boats and the seas. Her and her Uncle Dock, Mo, Brian, Cody, and Uncle Stew go on an amazing trip to see her "Bompie." Bompie is Sophie's grandfather. He lives in Grand Manan by himself ever since his wife died. My favorite part is when her and Cody go to a mysterious Island where there is to be a ghost. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting, wanting more.The conflict in this story is that Sophie can't remember her family past and just wants to learn more. Even though shes just with men trapped on a boat she still shows women can do things just as well as anyone could do. I would recommenced this book to anyone one who likes boats, or adventures, because this has had to been my favorite adventure book. So, go out there and read, "The Wanderer", By Sharon Creech.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Great book

    This book has a lot of pages but are short you connect with the characters and your mind gets castded away with the stoy its anenjoyable read and i recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Coolio

    It is pretty cool but i am going to put 4 stars because sophies uncle stew is all about a girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A review

    Ok. Umm.....wow. I read rhis book in fifth grade. I actually DO recommend this. You can connect with Sophie an her life actually had depth. As an orphan whose parents died on a ship I can't believe she ad the courage to do this. I also loved Cody.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great book I recomend this to middle school kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    The Wanderer

    Thirteen-year-old Sophie is the only girl amongst the crew of The Wanderer made up of her three uncles and two cousins. They sail across the Atlantic toward England, the land of Bompie, her grandfather. They travel together, and did everything together on the boat. They often had conflicts and fights with each other, but they all went along with each other pretty well. Through the travel logs of Cody and Sophie we can see the different perspectives of their journey. I think this book is a great adventure novel. It shows two different perspectives of people on how they view their journey on the boat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Sailing with this book

    This adventurous book, The Wanderer by Sharon Creech is an adventure/realistic fiction. This book takes place in the past because they go in a sailboat not a motorboat. The two main characters are Cody and Sophie. Cody is a shy but ¿He is too charming¿ Sophie¿s mother says ¿in a dangerous way.¿ Sophie is shy orphan but on the sea she can be stubborn. The setting is a violent sea where all the trouble begins. Uncle Dock is looking for his `girlfriend¿ Rosalie a comely young lady. They stop on many islands so they can fix their ship, The Wanderer. Their destination is set to Bombie¿s place a home belonging to Uncle Dock, Uncle Mo and Uncle Stew¿s father, which is sick. I¿d recommend this book to 6-10 year old kids and I rate this 3½ stars. Why? Well because as a 6th grader there is no challenge so it¿s pretty easy read. It is a good book so read it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Sailing Through

    In this novel The Wanderer by Sharon Creech, a modern day girl who is also an orphan girl Sophie sets out on an adventure out at sea with her two uncles and her two cousins, to find Bompie her tragic grandfather. This is a wonderful book if you love the ocean you will adore this book. ¿The seas, the sea, it rolled, and rolled, come in it said come in¿. You will read that phrase several times. But what you don¿t know is that this phrase has more to do with Sophie than you think. I think this book is great for ages 9-12. The author Sharon Creech taught in Europe and now lives in U.S.A. I would recommend this book because I could really understand Sophie¿s support and feelings, for the sea. This book gave me a feeling that I was on the boat and I could feel the mist from the ocean in my face, and the wind brushing my hair back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I LOVED this book i finished it in 2 days! At the start its a little confusing, but once you understand and get to know the characters more you really get into the book. Each person in the book is going on the journey for a different reason which makes the book more interesting. I also loved the format of the book! ~Ivana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sharon Creech writes another great novel. Sophie is around the age of 13. She sails across the Atlantic Ocean with three of her uncles, Mo, Stew, Dock, and her two cousins, Cody and Brian. The story is told through Cody's eyes for a chapter and then Sophie's eyes for another. They sail across the ocean in a huge sailboat call The Wanderer. Sophie is the only female on board this, as you may figure, causes many problems. The crew is constantly fighting and arguing. When they run into rough weather they need to work as a team as much as possible to get through in one piece. Will they get to England safely or will the sea battle them until the end?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Wanderer is about a girl named Sophie who loves everything about sailing. Her dream is to one-day sail across the Atlantic Ocean. When Sophie¿s family hears that Sophie¿s grandmother, Bompie, is sick, they sail across the Atlantic Ocean to go and visit her. They sail in a large, old boat called The Wanderer. This story is about all the adventures Sophie and her family have on their way to Bompie. On their way across the Atlantic, Sophie and her family members have many fights and different opinions, but in the end they all come together and become one happy family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Do you like adventure books? If yes, read this one.

    Have you ever read a book with a ton of meaning you have to read it several times to thourghly under stand it? That's what The Wanderer is like.Sharon creech is a great author. She has so much detail, this would be the best book if there was just more action. Her other books are absolutely great. It is very realistic, definitely not fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    An outstanding book

    The book called the Wanderer was an fantastic book. There was so many things going on and many surprises as I read it. Sophie is a girl who just got adopted by a family and is trying to fit in. But her cusin Brian is making it very hard for her to do that. On the other hand her other cusin cody is trying to help her along but with Brian around it isn't very easy either. I really loved how Sharon Creech wrote the story because she told it in two different ways. For part of the book Sophie was writing in a joural she brought with her. For the other half of the book cody was writing in a journal he had to bring with him for school so it wasn't very descripeive. Just read this book and you will never regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book The Wanderer is a great novel by Sharon Creech. This book is full of adventure and excitement. I would definetly recommend it to anyone who likes the ocean and who likes a good book. Even though I loved it did not have as much adventure or fantasy as I had hoped. The begining was sort of boring but if you are reading it keep going it gets a lot better. I love how there is three sides to Sophie and how her and Cody have a different perspective on things. This is a fabulous book that I loved it and I know you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    This book is stupendous

    This book is a very exciting. There is a lot of adventure and real life situations. I like this type of books, so I loved it. This is not a book for people who like a ton of action, there is action but there is more logical and real life parts in it. It was very quiestionable there were parts where it could be boring and there are parts where it is adventurous. So if it starts to get boring keep on reading you'll get to a part where it gets exciting. READ IT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    i really like this book dude!

    The book THE WANDERER was a really awesome book!Sharon Creech put breathtaking detail in her story. when danger struck, she discribed it in such a way that you forget it's just a book. You feel as if you are in the book. Another reason I give it a 4 is that I love how you get 2 different veiws with sophie and cody's journal. The only reason i don't give this book a 5 is because it streches on & on. Over all i recommend this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book The Wanderer is one of the best books that I have read. On a scale from 1 to 5 i would rate it a 4 for many reasons. One of them is the detail in this book. The way that Sharon Creech wrote this book it seems like you are actually there. Even though it was an assigned for homework it was really hard to put down. Another reason is that the style that she wrote the book. I like how she wrote it with a two journals of a girls and a boys. Because she did this you get to she the adventure in a girls eyes and a boys eyes too. I have just read the book The Wanderer and it is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Wanderer is a well thought out book. Sharon Creech has an amazing writing style. Sophie has a way different prespective than Cody does. The detail was amazing. This book was assigned in class but some of my classmates read it in the first week which we had four weeks to read it. It's really worth the read. I recomend it to anyone who likes a good story with lots and lots of detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    The Book is Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    Sharon Creech makes it feel like you're on the amazing boat ride, crashing through the waves, and exploring islands. The excitement when Sophie and her 3 uncles and 2 cousins are getting on the boat and underway. I like the mystery in it all when Sophie seems like she knows Bompie and his stories. But, as Cody, her cousin, get's to know Sophie better, he wonders about her childhood, and asks Sophie questions. But Sophie ignores him, almost, all the time. I recommend this book HIGHLY!!!! There are boat terms that I didn't understand, but that's just the mystery of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2