BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wanderlust

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am generally new to the genre of dark erotic romance stories.

    I am generally new to the genre of dark erotic romance stories. Wanderlust is the 3rd book I've read so far and they are growing on me. I am fortunate that of the three I've read, they have been 4 or 5 star ratings. Wanderlust is the first story I have read where both characters are so horribly broken from the start and stay that way through the ending. Their journey throughout the book was completely addicting. Whereas the scenes are disturbing, and heart-wrenching, you cannot stop reading because you want to know what will happen next. The characters have such violent and abusive backgrounds that they would be a psychologist's wet dream. That in itself helps make them intriguing. You want to know why turned out the way they are, you want to know what secret they are hiding, and you want to have hope that they can overcome their obstacles. Wrapping this up, I would not say this is a romance story, for me, this is a dark erotic suspense story. There are no happy endings, no happily ever after, and no riding off together into the sunset. Not to spoil anything but if I wanted a Disney ending then I would go read Cinderella. I liked this because of these reasons; it was dark, raw, disturbing, sad, exciting and suspenseful all in one. For those who enjoy this genre, I would recommend it. For those who are new to this genre, throw all your feelings of right and wrong out the window and enjoy this for what it is, a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Amazing

    Very dark read that turns to something beautiful. This is my first book by Skye and I will be checking out many more of her reads. A must read if you enjoy reading books on darker subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    No.

    Stupid. While that doesn't seem an adequate review for an entire book it also describes it best for me. The characters, the situations, their reactions; I never felt drawn to any of it. It wasn't the ,dubious consent/sexual relationship with your kidnapper, because I recently read "Prisoner" (by Annika Martin and Skye Warren) which had that in common with "Wanderlust". The story didn't flow and it felt lacking in so many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    This is dark and twisted book that ends up with a HEA against al

    This is dark and twisted book that ends up with a HEA against all odds.  Evie has been trapped at home by a controlling mother who is afraid of the outside world.  Evie finally gets the courage to leave home and ends up being abducted by Hunter.  He has sex with her under what you could call dubious consent.  Evie manages to get free in a truck stop and is almost raped by the first guy she sees.  She does get free later and runs into some guys camping who say they will take her into town but then they rape her.  This was all overkill.  The book would have been much better had the author stayed focused on the captivity with Hunter and the confusing relationship between Evie and him.  Hunter's and Evie's back stories were good and explained why they thought the way they did.  It wasn't necessary to make every guy in the world is a rapist. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Omigosh! I absolutely loved this book!

    Omigosh! I absolutely loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Bartender Rating: Well/House This and more reviews at The Book

    Bartender Rating: Well/House

    This and more reviews at The Book Bar.co

    Holy Hell. Are you looking for a erotica with dominance, a villain turned hero, and moral dilemma? You need to read Wanderlust. Immediately, you are dunked into the helplessness of Evie's life. So much terror and lack of compassion, Evie is desperate to find happier waters.

    I was reborn in that moment, burst into flames like a phoenix and floating in pieces to the ground. There was scorching pain and hope for a future unknown.
    Warren, Skye; Roberts, ... (2014-03-03). Make Me: Twelve Tales of Dark Desire (Kindle Locations 9297-9298). . Kindle Edition.

    Only her plan to escape the hyped terrors that her mom has instilled in her come true with every step she takes. You feel so hopeless reading her struggles. There is no where for her to turn because going back is unhealthy and moving forward is wrought with the disgusting actions of disturbed men.

    I knew about hope and death, about fear and the dignity required to overcome, but only in theoretical constructs of ink and ground tree pulp. That was my irony: to wax poetic about the meaning of life while being unable to do something as simple as pay rent.
    Warren, Skye; ... (2014-03-03). Make Me: Twelve Tales of Dark Desire (Kindle Locations 7885-7886). . Kindle Edition.

    One such disturbed man, Hunter, forces Evie into a pseudo submission. He does kidnap her but gives here more than one opportunity for escape. Hunter (appropriately named) has skeletons that shape his new persona and Evie slowly tries to understand her kidnapper's reasons for his actions. She also has time to think about what her escape from her mom and her ultimate destination, Niagara Falls, means to her.

    How many other people hung their hopes on a waterfall ?
    Warren, Skye; ... (2014-03-03). Make Me: Twelve Tales of Dark Desire (Kindle Location 9568). . Kindle Edition.

    Is she better off going back home, and most likely not being welcomed back, or should she stay with her sexually abusive kidnapper? Evie's struggles with the world are hard to swallow. So many of her epiphanies come during her sexual abuse turned awakening turned potential relationship with her captor.

    This hadn’t been on the calendar. Appease kidnapper with [rear - relations] hadn’t been on my life plan, but then I’d never really had a plan. That had been the point. I had wanted to wander, to flit, and I’d flown right into a spider’s web.
    Warren, Skye; ... (2014-03-03). Make Me: Twelve Tales of Dark Desire (Kindle Locations 8523-8524). . Kindle Edition.

    Hunter's story is brief but fleshed out. Evie and Hunter are one in the same and together they work out their demons. I finished the book feeling like Evie chose the lesser of all evils, but perhaps found her other half and could live an 'unhealthy' happily ever after.

    I rested my forehead against his the way I had in his truck. It brought me closer to him, like I could pull the pain from him and take it into my own body. He did the same for me, really, and we were both conduits for the pain, the currents between us grounding us together. He was the god of thunder, retreating from the world that had rejected him. I was the maiden he’d caught going over the edge, who he’d secreted away in his lair beneath the falls.

    Warren, Skye; Roberts, CJ; Romig, Aleatha; Winters, Pepper; Haynes, Jasmine; Evers, Shoshanna; Silverwood, Cari; Gayle, Eliza; Thompson, Claire; Godwin, Pam; Martin, Annika; Joseph, Annabel (2014-03-03). Make Me: Twelve Tales of Dark Desire (Kindle Locations 9889-9892). . Kindle Edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Great dark read!

    I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting! I will be reading more from this author. If you like dark erotica I recommend this book......may not be for everyone though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved that something that started out so disturbing turned into something so sweet. Liked this alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Very good story.

    I wished I could have heard from Hunters pov.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional, disturbing, erotic, completely different, amazing rid

    Emotional, disturbing, erotic, completely different, amazing ride.  I feel in a daze for a few days after I read Skye's books. They put you in a different world and let you experience a crazy ride. After reading her books I will buy anything else she writes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Emotional ride

    Thrilling and challenged every emotion I felt. This book was well written and addictive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Donna

    Good story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It is Evie who begins this book, and she is twenty years old. Sh

    It is Evie who begins this book, and she is twenty years old. She lives at home with her mother who is basically a shut in. But not only is her mother a shut in, she is verbally and emotionally abusive to Evie at times. Her fear of being alone makes her act horribly to Evie, to keep her near, I suspect. But Evie wants more than living in that house can offer her, and so one day she decides, “This is IT.” And then she leaves. She has a destination, and somewhat of a plan. 
    I like Evie. She is naïve and brave and hungry to see what life is going to throw at her. She doesn’t let her mother’s fears control her, not any more. She doesn’t let horrible events from her past control her, not any more. So on her first night out, she gets a hotel room, crosses over the lot and goes to the diner. And it’s not long before she meets Hunter, Hunter Bryant. As the waitress says, nobody says no to Hunter Bryant. 
    How do I explain Hunter? Trucker, thirty years old, rugged and sexy cowboy. Damaged, and not exactly making the best decisions at this point.  He's got a colorful history that comes out throughout the book, and it totally endears him to me.  He takes Evie, and then they are off in his truck. 
    Their time together turns into a road trip, and they grow and learn more about each other. They end up acting more like a couple rather than a kidnapper and his captive, save for the sex. They are having sex regularly, but it’s not the tender touch of a couple falling in love. It’s rough and hard and screams of anger, and it’s wildly exciting. I couldn’t believe how hot it was at times. This book can definitely speak to that secret side of your darkest desires.  Wanderlust isn’t for the everyday romance reader. But if you like things a little dark, and a little …well, wrong, then you will love this book!  But don't be mistaken, this also isn't all hearts and roses.  Evie is still dealing with her internal struggle about actually being kidnapped, its not something she has just swept under the rug, as it were. Escaping is still a goal, even if she does her best to enjoy her time while she's there.
    “I had traded one prison for another, this one mobile but absolute. Inescapable even as it sliced through the countryside. Neither my mother’s home nor this eighteen-wheeler were gilded, but I preferred the view in this cage.”
    This story gave time to the characters to grow. Hunter is a criminal, yes. But there is a vulnerability to him. I don’t know if I should be excited, but I was. I wanted them to fall in love, I wanted them to be together. I fell for both of these characters. I fell in love with the damn truck! Every experience they had together, whether positive or negative kept me glued to my Kindle like it was my lifetime. I started this book in the evening, and a couple chapters in I decided I wasn’t going to bed until I finished it, and that’s exactly what happened. I have a feeling that if you like Skye Warren, this book will be at the top of your favorites. It’s definitely a five star read for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    It started with a girl dreamed about getting out her house and v

    It started with a girl dreamed about getting out her house and visiting the Niagara Falls.

    ‘“Happy birthday,” I whispered.’
    ‘My present to myself: to finally see the place I’d been yearning for. The place I’d dreamed about even before I’d gotten the book, for all twenty years of my life. For room to breathe. For freedom.’

    Evie decided that she was going to leave the confines of her present prison…the home she lived in with her mother who constantly reminded her that evil lurked outside their home. Evie was willing to take that chance to travel and finally get to see the world and hopefully reach Niagara Falls.

    On her first night of her new found freedom she stops at a motel/truck stop to rest for the night.

    At the restaurant, Evie runs into a stranger. A stranger that she is warned about.

    “Look, I know you aren’t from around here, but that there is Hunter Bryant.” When I didn’t react to the name, her frown deepened. “Here’s a little advice from one woman to another. There are some men you just don’t say no to. Didn’t your mama ever warn you about men like that?”

    Evie tried to hide and run from Hunter, but he found her and made her his prisoner.

    She went from one prison to another.

    “I was purely physical-a machine with no emotions. Skin with no heart.”

    But then we learn about Hunter and his demons.
    “And then I realized we aren’t all human, at least not the way we were supposed to be. Sometimes our soul dies and then were just muscle and bone walking around with no purpose, no morals to contain us.
    Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen, the story took a turn.
    “I wished he weren’t so endearing when he wasn’t terrorizing me.”
    And the story took another turn and my heart…I did not know how much I was going to be able to take.
    This book was dark and emotional. There are no flowers with romantic dates. It is a ride. A ride that once I got on, I did not want to get off. I could not stop reading.
    There are things that happen that made me wince. They will make you uncomfortable, but you cannot stop reading. Be prepared to have a good part of your day reading when you start reading this book. If you start it at night, I guarantee you that the minute you wake up thinking about these 2 damaged characters.
    Did I skim? I couldn’t! I did not want to miss a word.
    Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes. From the first page, you feel for Evie. Then you meet Hunter.
    “It would always be this way, the ecstasy and the pain.”
    Pace of the story? Perfect. The story does not drag. From the beginning you are drawn.
    Positives: The entire story, the writing, the characters.
    Negatives: I had some questions when I finished the book and was disappointed to find out that there is no planned sequel. However, I also could not stop thinking about this book. I love when I story messes with my mind and has me question…why did I just read??? Love that!! Any book that does that to me for a few days deserves 5 stars.
    Do I recommend? I received this book as an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. A few days after finishing it, I started to tell one of my friends about it. I loved it so much and wanted her to read it that I just ended it up buying it for her. So YES… I recommend it.
    “He paved the way, eased me from a small an ugly life to a beautiful one.”
    Bottom line: This is a dark read. There is no insta-love. This book explores dubious consent, captivity and power play. If you are uncomfortable with any of that, then this is not a book for you. However, if you enjoyed The Dark Duet series C.J. Roberts and Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas, then I know you will enjoy this read. This book is a dark erotica with a search for hope for two damaged souls to find their way. I just hope that my review does this book justice.
    Book Format Read:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Very different!

    Sometimes a great read abd thrilling, other times hard to beleive and for lack of a better word silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Two of the same

    This book was intense & a great read, bottom line the world we live in has bad thing happening to good people all the time that is reality ... but to have two people turn it around and have something great come from that is truly awesome ... this book takes on a ride of your life & a check in reality... a great & a must read... 5 stars for me :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Sad n hardcore

    I wasn't happy at first now when u find the truth, you see a human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Wished for a better ending

    I really enjoyed this book even with the dark subject matter. It did have a happy ending but I expected more. That's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2